You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sublime and Beautiful Sunday

in #sublimesunday5 years ago

Nice finds! Great job capturing the colors and textures, too. That first one is really nicely done.

Did you see the eyeball sculpture? That wasn't in place yet, when I was there and I'd love to go see it. You know, being visually impaired and all, it could make a great selfie...

Sort:  

We didn't go into the park because Taste of Chicago was going on and I don't do well on my scooter in crowds. I will be sure to go look for it next time I'm there. Do you have plans to go back to Chicago?

I was always there for a visa appointment at the Spanish consulate. It would be fun to visit the city again, but it'll probably be awhile.

Would you consider accepting a job in a big city?

Possibly, but usually the bigger cities have a much higher cost of living and I haven't seen that the salaries scale with it.

My son would like me to move into the city to be closer to them and I have a hard time imagining it. Plus I don't know how long my money would last in the city! You are right about it being more expensive!

I don't know if I could handle actually living in Chicago. It's difficult to get out to the countryside and there are so many people. Cost of living aside, I need to be able to get out into nature.

It would be nice to be able to live without a car, though. They're so absurdly expensive and, while I'm allowed to drive for now, my eyesight is a problem. Of course, being close to things like the art and field museums, all of those great places to eat... There are definitely benefits to living in the city.

I went yesterday to renew my driver's license and learned that because of my MS I could not renew it without tons of medical documentation. Since I have not driven for several years anyway, I opted out and just applied for a state ID. I did shed a few tears over not having a driver's license.

I can't imagine leaving my home and my yard and living in the city, but I am willing to at least consider it.

Ouch. Unfortunately, not being able to drive is very limiting in the USA. At least, in Chicago, the public transportation system is viable.

I have to be extra careful driving, because of my eyesight. I can't read signs fast enough and don't see red very well. It's not really a color blindness, just that reds aren't as vibrant as I remember them being as a child. On bright, sunny days, I can't see the crosswalk figures, either, so I end up relying on the blind person vibrator-buttons or the talking ones that keep saying "Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait..."

Not needing a car is one of the bigger reasons that I'd like to go back to Spain permanently. Even the smaller towns had an occasional bus. They're behind on ramps and scooter mobility in a lot of the smaller towns, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87