You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sublime and Beautiful Sunday

I went yesterday to renew my driver's license and learned that because of my MS I could not renew it without tons of medical documentation. Since I have not driven for several years anyway, I opted out and just applied for a state ID. I did shed a few tears over not having a driver's license.

I can't imagine leaving my home and my yard and living in the city, but I am willing to at least consider it.

Sort:  

Ouch. Unfortunately, not being able to drive is very limiting in the USA. At least, in Chicago, the public transportation system is viable.

I have to be extra careful driving, because of my eyesight. I can't read signs fast enough and don't see red very well. It's not really a color blindness, just that reds aren't as vibrant as I remember them being as a child. On bright, sunny days, I can't see the crosswalk figures, either, so I end up relying on the blind person vibrator-buttons or the talking ones that keep saying "Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait..."

Not needing a car is one of the bigger reasons that I'd like to go back to Spain permanently. Even the smaller towns had an occasional bus. They're behind on ramps and scooter mobility in a lot of the smaller towns, though.

Even when I am just in Chicago for the weekend I am able to be much more independent then I am here in the woods! I can see why my son thinks it would be a better alternative for me.

Even when I was walking with a cane traveling in Europe had become too difficult. It would be impossible for me now. For the past 10 years all of my travels have been road trips around the US where I know I can visit the sites on my scooter and have access to handicap accessible bathrooms!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86