What Can You Do When You Run Out of Ideas?

in #success6 years ago

As creators here on Steemit we want to constantly publish great posts and have consistency because that is the name of the game! If you want to be a publisher or just a creator on any type of platform, you need to constantly come up with fresh new ideas to interest and captivate your viewers.


After many months of putting out your best work, at some point you will be faced with days of not knowing what you should create. Your long list of ideas has been done already and today you have no idea what to do.

Brainstorming

Did you know that creating new ideas is just like a muscle. The more you think of new ideas, the easier it will be for your brain to come up with more. It is a snowball effect like any other pattern in your life.


Creating a list of new ideas each day will help you continue to come up with more and more. Your brain will start to recognize new ideas easier and easier. Everyday you will be able to come up with a longer list then the previous one because the creative idea generator of your brain has turned on and is working!

Brainstorming is a perfect way to get these ideas rolling. It just takes some thought of what can work, what you are interested in and once you turn that on, they will start flowing like a cascading waterfall!

Make a list


Start to make a list of any and all ideas. This is almost like your short term goals(ideas you may not use) that will ultimately lead you to your long term goals(great ideas you are sure to use).


You should always carry around something to write down ideas that will pop in your head. Once you start to get the ball rolling on idea creation, you will start to have "eureka" moments when such amazing ideas just pop in your head. You will want to write these down as soon as possible. You will not want to miss them and this will keep the idea generator moving continuously.

Don't be shy of the ideas you come up with and try to hold back. Those quirky weird ideas are usually the ones that perform very well in the world because they are unique and everyone can connect with something, even your uniqueness. This again will keep the ideas flowing as you will have no blocks in your mind. Be like a kid again and let out anything that comes to you!

Now get to brainstorming great ideas to put out the most interesting and creative posts you can on Steemit!

@bitdollar

atitlan.jpg

My recent trip to Guatemala

Sort:  

Great post @bitdollar.

Here are some tips I use for brainstorming. I've consolidated them as a list based on your post!

Step 1. Write down the main problem or idea you're facing

Step 2. Decide on the goals of your brainstorm

Step 3. Record possible solutions or related ideas

Step 4. Record each idea that emerges even if they are unrelated – use free-association where possible (the goal is quantity, not quality)

Step 5. Use key words and not full sentences

Step 6. Add facts, figures and other useful information

Step 7. Stop brainstorming after a pre-defined period

Step 8. Review what you came up with

Now, write!

Wow great list here @bryancollins.. I will use this as reference when needed! Thanks so much...easy to use list for us all here.

Like what you write @bitdollar
Re-steemed

Thanks so much @xpilar!!

Yes, these are good ideas! I find that taking photos during the day and reviewing them inspires a decent post with ready-to-go photos! It's creating creativity while living life! @ironshield

That is a fantastic way... you just need something to work off!

I like to have my idea book close by whenever I'm reading so i can write my thoughts down. It's not a diary!

Lol!! Ya I have my notebook always close by also. Even when travelling now. Always ideas flowing. :)

What is useful to me is to combine in my mind two themes that have nothing in common, but are related to my area.

Let's say, i am a programmer. So I mix Java and Dinosaurs.

Maybe i come up with "Is Java going to go extinct someday?"

It's funny. And it works for me all the time.

That is a great way to come up with cool unique ideas @flashfiction. Sounds like a secret tip to create very interesting post. Thanks so much for that insight for us all!

Great post Matt! I'm happy I don't have this problem. I think I may actually have the opposite problem. With over 11 years of living out a backpack I've got lists and lists of post ideas that I've written down, most of which I'm sure I'll never even get to creating. Just the photos and adventure of my two year bike trip through south east asia I could probably pull 100 post out of that easy! lol But anyway not everyone lives out of a backpack so I should stop talking this very moment! I just wanted to stop by and say hello and see what you're up to. So glad you had a great time in Guatemala and you are still pumping out excellent post like this one! Keep up the great work! -Dan

That is so awesome! You live an exciting life Dan. Steemit is perfect for you :).

Thanks so much for your supportive words, it keeps me motivated. I am back to the cold, on a 2 day getaway here now actually. Trying to keep up a little to you... haha ;)

Have a great day my friend!!

Hey I'm back! Two very important rules :) Thanks for that.

Ya!!!! Sure thing @enazwahsdarb. Good to see you :)

Thank a lot man! You too.

This actually a great question.
But for a more vague and useless answer, I can give you that ( maybe I'll write a post later this week about it..)
The idea muscle is really a muscle. The more you use it, the better it is and the more it grows. What it means is that it gets easier to develop and "have" ideas as you work for it. Work being the main word here, you need to actually do it. As you said: lists are good but also just pushing yourself to have SOME ideas. Most are bad, that's ok! The more you have, the btter the chance that one or two will be good. Then, who knows..you might hit a winner :)

Another things that helps is inspiration. Now this doesn't mean just waiting for the muse to hit you in the head but actually being "out there": reading, interacting, commenting.

A lot of times, I think I have nothing to say on a subject but after starting to write on it, I find myself with a post or two. Sometimes you do not know until you put it on paper :)

Good luck, fellas!

You are so right, it is just a muscle like everything almost in my opinion. The more we do the better we become or easier it is.

Inspiration is another thing we need to have or create within ourselves. All can be done.

Thanks so much for this great comment @razvanelilmarin!!

Great article! I'm amazed you always choose great topic to discuss. Well, usually when I'm blanked and no ideas coming to my mind then I always go for walk or do cooking to refresh my mind and during that time got best ideas.

When we are at ease mentally is when they come. Thanks for your kind words always @kittynick! Have a great day!

You as well, Thank you!

Nice tips, @bitdollar! I find that reading magazines or news websites help give me ideas. From there, I can create content related to the topics I browsed through.

Yea same for me with books or videos. After I receive some awesome new interesting info I will then put it into my own words. There are tons of ideas out there for us!! :)

Exactly sometimes I just need a nudge to get me creative juices flowing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66