Building Momentum On STEEM

in #success5 years ago (edited)


I'm back to my books...As I mentioned in Friday's post I started reading 'It Starts With Passion' for a book review later this week. I'm about a quarter of the way through the book already and it's been an enjoyable read so far.

The author Keith Abraham hits on some huge points that while having passion is fantastic fuel to the fire...We need to actually take action on the things we are 'passionate' about.

Case in point, this quote he referenced from Thomas Edison...

passion

1% inspiration....99% perspiration!

AKA, actually DOING the work!

But what's important to note, especially when it comes to putting in the sweat equity...Is that once you get going, momentum starts to show it's awesome face :)

Case in point....

STEEM your journey here on the blockchain!

Let's take a trip back to my 5-500-5000 formula post that I wrote way back in the first part of 2018. The game plan was simple right? Show up everyday, engage with people, create content, add value and power up every chance I could...

My original goal for last year was to hit 5000 Steem Power before December 31, 2018. I actually hit that goal WAY before my intended target and it comes down to...

Momentum!

I talk about the 'Savvy Cycle' a lot in the training @SteemSavvy because you see how momentum is built here on STEEM when we 'show up everyday' and actually put in the work...

steemsavvy

So let's break this down and see how this regular Steemian that knew NO ONE on this platform on December 7th 2017...Has grown to almost 2000 followers and amassed over 13,000 Steem Power.

Here's the biggest nugget...

I'm NOTHING special!

I'm just a regular dude. In fact, I'm a high school drop out who has been an entrepreneur for almost 20 years. I also had one of the worst years of my life last year and lost my home in the process but no matter what happened...But I showed up on STEEM, everyday!

...I hate saying this, but if I can do this...Anyone can.

1. It Starts With Passion (Adding Value) - Look, if you don't love this...It's going to be an uphill battle in every sense of the word. Passion is the fuel to get you creating and engaging everyday. And with that in your arsenal, you begin to add value every where you go. You comment more. You upvote more. Engage more....But it starts with a LOVE for this community and platform!

2. You Take Action & SHARE - Becoming a product of your product is so important. This means we start using @Dtube instead of YouTube. We use @Steemit instead of Reddit. We use @Vimm rather than Twitch...By doing this (taking action and using the dApps) we are sharing our experience with the world. This is huge. People are watching! Especially us blockchain and crypto fan boys and girls that talk about this stuff...Everywhere! These people are watching to see if we are actually walking the walk! Well when it comes to STEEM, it's a no brainer....We have the best dApps and the best community! That's something to share :)

3. Putting Skin In The Game & Powering Up - I'm not ignorant to the issues around the world. And I know 10 bucks for me, goes a lot further for some people around the world. So this doesn't mean you need to hit 5000 Steem Power this year...It just means you need some skin in the game. Try not to cash out for a while...And all the SBD, STEEM and SP that you earn, you KEEP here! I know different situations are unique for each of us, but I have a 3-5 year plan for STEEM...Right now, it's about building, accumulating and re-investing everything I can into this...And hopefully in a few years, we will all see the fruits of our labor.

Nothing is guaranteed...But the relationships are real. The journey is huge! And the potential is immense...I don't know about you, but that makes me VERY excited to power up every day I can!

You start doing these things....Every day, consistently...And this beautiful thing called momentum starts showing up!

You start attracting more upvotes!

People are beginning to follow you more...

Heck, sometimes you are even asked to speak at blockchain based events ;)

Momentum is a beautiful thing!

It starts with passion and ends with some amazing achievements and a journey that you will never forget...





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/building-momentum-on-steem/

Sort:  

Well my goal was 500 by the start of this year, I fell short now at 485 but I am getting there. Passion for anything you do is a great thing as you will be better at it. Look forward to the book review of this book

The important thing is that you have a goal and have been trying to get there. We don't always hit our targets but as long as you keep going you will get there.

I love targets as they give me that extra push to post, or play or do something when the choice is 50/50. I like the challenge and seeing the target up ahead.

Posted using Partiko Android

almost there man. that’ll be sooner than later :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

wonderful words sir, your right there's no guarantee but hardwok will make it happen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely. Showing up everyday pays huge dividends.

I'm close to my goal of 1000 SP. When I reach that, I plan to keep going!

Posted using Partiko Android

heck ya. it starts to snow ball. it really does. once i hit 5k it was game over. i was hooked lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Jongo spitting that straight FIRE! Proud of your journey!

working hard man. thanks dude.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My next goal will be Plankton I that's about 316 SP. I didn't have these high goals. But I hope to receive 500 till summer.

oh that’s a guarantee. it’ll happen!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Momentum is definitely powerful as my goal was 5,000 SP last year and blew past that like you and see myself targeting 25k this yesr. I would have never thought I could eventually be an Orca but things shift quickly and become more visible the more you engage and enjoy the journey!

Posted using Partiko iOS

it’s crazy. and such an opportunity . i’ll see ya at 25k ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am currently over 100 SP I don’t know where I will be at by the end of the year. hopefully a dolphin but realistically I be happy with minnow

Just keep pushing...No matter what. Add the SP wherever and whenever you can!

this isn’t get rich quick but get rich for sure

Wow, another magnificent Post, Jon. You keep churning this stuff out non-stop :) Good going my man !!

Thanks man. Appreciate the kind words.....Always trying to improve!

Excellent article gonna start training now! Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

glad you enjoyed it! and welcome to @steemsavvy

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm a big sports guy and the power of momentum is massive. It ties into so many aspects of performance and results. If you keep doing the right things at the right time at some stage that momentum will pick up and you will see the results from it. Once things swing in your favour everything just grows so fast from there.

Posted using Partiko Android

agreed. loved the sports analogy because i can see that happen in the sports world all the time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54