You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where do you see yourself in the next six months?

in #success6 years ago (edited)

Interesting! I just finished reading a psychology book by Philip Zimbardo "The Time Paradox". The author did years of research into people's perspective and personal relationship with time. He identified six different time perspectives, past, present and future ones. People who focus mainly on the past are "traditional" types who like to follow routines and rituals. They love family gatherings and they don't like changes. Sometimes they get stuck constantly relieving their past memories, especially negative ones.
People mainly focused on the present are the hedonistic types (or fatalistic types) who live like there was no tomorrow. These types are most prone to gambling and addictions, but they're also the most entertaining types.
Future types are like what you just described in your article- they constantly plan and invest into their future. Future orientated people are usually most successful in life although sometimes they lose their ability to enjoy the present moment.
That author believes that we can learn how to balance it all out, and this way create deep sense of joy and fulfillment.

Sort:  

Hello, Im going to talk about my experience..
I like to live in the present because we don't know when are we going to die.
Maybe you still don't get me... last year I was shoot and nobody knows (even doctors) how im still alive!
So, from that moment and on I decided to live everyday as It was the last one, enjoying life etc.
I still have goals to achive in the future but i decide to enjoy life.
In six months i will graduate from medicine school :)

Oh, thank you very much for this story. I'm glad that everything is all right with you now. You made a wonderful decision, I should learn from you!

Wow, thanks for the interesting story. I will definitely read this book! Yes, I know this distribution. I treat people who live today. This is bad. So I'm trying to change myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67