And now we wait....

in #succulents6 years ago (edited)

Today, I sowed my seeds because weather conditions are right, the daytime temperatures are between 15C and 25C and nights are still cold, which is a requirement for germination.

I used a 1:1:1:1 mixture of perlite, vermiculite, washed silica sand and sifted succulent potting mix. the potting mix is sifted to make sure that the particles are small. This mixture ensures a very fast draining mix, which should help prevent rot.

seedling mix.jpg

Yesterday, I bought little 5cm pots because I want to keep my seeds separate and labelled, so that I know what is what. Haworthia seeds don't develop much of a root system in the beginning so the pots don't need to be deep and apparently they germinate better if they are sown densely. I sprinkled 12-15 seeds in top of the growing mix in each pot and then I used a spray bottle with rainwater to wet the seeds. You have to keep spraying until water runs out of the pot on the first occasion. Most Important: Label the pots!

seeds watered.jpg

The pots now have to be kept sealed while the seeds are germinating, to prevent them from drying out. I bought hamburger takeaway containers when I got the pots so I can put the pots in there instead of building a box.

seeds in container.jpg

The Hoodia don't like seeds to be touching so I sowed them spread out in these seedling trays that I will cover with a pane of glass. I was going to sow some cactus seeds as well but now I can't find the packet so that will have to happen another day. Those seeds are very old so it is unlikely that they will germinate but we can only try.

hoodia seeds.jpg

These will go outside but I will put them under a tree to ensure that the sun doesn't fry the seedlings. The Haworthia seedlings should germinate within a week and then I will leave them uncovered, to prevent fungus and they will need to be misted twice daily to prevent them from drying out. Hoodia should be watered less frequently.

I really hope that this works!

Sort:  

Wishing you much success with your seeding/planting! It will be interesting to see how things unfold; never actually witnessed succulents grown from seed.

=^..^=

Thank you! I haven't tried this either. Grown plenty other things from seed and had quite a few succulents sprout by themselves but done deliberately... I paid quite a bit for these seeds so now of course I'm convinced that it will all be a disaster

Good luck !!!
Now we are waiting!

Thank you! This is my first time sowing seeds so I hope it all works out. For once, I followed instructions :)

It will be very interesting to see the result.
I used to throw out different seeds from my flowers before, now I will also try to sow.

Exciting! :D
Your mix looks very cool! I could it for my cacti. I think I put too much cactus soil in mine.

So now in one week we expect to see the green dots. Never saw hawortia sprouting.

I really hope so! If you use very little organic matter in the beginning, it is easier to prevent fungi. I really hope for green dots in one week. I also found the cacti seed and I will sow them too

Yea I know.. I tend to get some white stuff coming up when I keep them closed. I use 3% Oxygen Peroxide on them and they are gone.

Thanks, I have read that Hydrogen Peroxide is helpful, I will keep it around

Looks like you're giving them the best possible chance, hope they sprout now. Keep us posted

Now I am just scared of fungus and trying to leave them to do their thing

Your spring is our fall and soon I will be doing the same thing. At least it’s part of my plan. Got to get the soil components together. Forgot about vermiculite. Thanks. 🐓🐓

What are you planning on growing?

I really liked the soil that you use to plant the seeds. Very unusual. Some small stones. Even I can not imagine how the seeds can grow there.

That is a very standard way to germinate many South African wild plants

This will be exciting to watch them grow. The hamburger take away containers are a great idea.

Many people grow in takeaway containers because the polystyrene insulates well. It was just luck to find the hamburger containers in the same plastic wholesaler I bought the pots from

This is exciting, can't wait to see the growth stages.

I'm like a kid before christmas!

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It looks very nice, just as it should with succulent sowing!
Good luck!!!

Thank you! I got a surprise sprout today

I hope it will sprout more, it should in next few days.

I see more breaking through the soil this evening :)

Congratulations! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66