You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Survival Instinct - Does it Exist?

Super interesting post.

What are your thoughts on autopoiesis as a theory of the biological "life world". All the talk of value reminds of also of ecological psychology and "affordances". Heidegger talked about organisms "caring" vs rocks which do not have a care-structure and do not live in a lifeworld.

Great post :)

Sort:  

Autopoiesis can be ascribed to anything, as long as you're willing to expand the circle sufficiently to include things that all combined can seem self-sustaining. But unless we're talking about perpetual motion machines, eventually something from outside is gonna have to come in.

Affordances I can't comment on. I just googled it. It reminds me of my theory of use somewhat.

Heidegger has some interesting thoughts that again remind me of some of my own ideas that I called the theory of use. I haven't read him much, and what I have read I hardly understand! He also sometimes strikes me as maybe a bit of a con artist of sorts! I mean the kind of things Schopenhauer used to say against Hegel. Mazes of words made to impress but that carry little meaning. I remember when I read his Introduction to Metaphysics, every single translation from Greek was utterly wrong! Like sometimes there wasn't a word in common! Calling it an idiosyncratic translation doesn't begin to describe what he did! It was basically his own thoughts! Highly weird! But I see value in him and I'd like to read more of him in the future.

Thanks for the comment and for reading )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67