Rest In Peace, @lauralemons. You Were Dear to Me, and Everyone Who Knew You.

in #suicide7 years ago (edited)

I met Laura back when she and I were both living in Florida. We went on a single OKC date that turned out to be kind of a hilarious mess, one thing going wrong after another. We came out of it deciding we made better friends than lovers, and remained friends right up until the end.

Laura hung herself last night. It was the most recent in a string of attempted suicides. The last time was hanging too, but somebody found her and got her down before she died. The time before that it was pills. It's the strangest thing. I was JUST talking to her last night. How can she be gone?

How can this be real, I keep asking myself. How can it be real? She's still there, isn't she? How can she not be? Ever since she moved to Minnesota and I moved back to Oregon I've only really interacted with her through Facebook and VR. Words on a screen, pixels in front of my eyeball.

There she is still, logged in on Facebook. As if she might say something any minute now. I messaged her a few times desperately hoping for the impossible, but she is gone. Some primal part of me can't grasp that concept.

She's the one who got me into Steemit. She was always thinking of her friends, always looking out for ways to solve their problems. But in the end, I couldn't solve hers. I was with her the night before, comforting her. Not enough apparently. I don't know what I could have said that would've made the difference, which I didn't already say.

She had a hard life, the details of which will be familiar to anybody who read her blog here on Steemit. Much of it was spent overcoming trauma from abuse in her childhood. The final insult which she could not survive was the suicide of her close friend, Bethanie.

That's when she began trying seriously to kill herself. I think she simply didn't want to be stopped this time. She's been in pain for pretty much her entire life, both emotional and literal (due to interstitial cytosis). It seemed like she was recovering. It seemed like she was on an upward spiral.

I still can't fully process this. I feel everything and nothing. I keep saying "I should've." I should've known she was at heightened risk because last night was the anniversary of Bethanie's suicide. I should have stayed up all night talking her through it.

The hard reality though is that she was determined to die. She tried a few times before this and was bound to eventually succeed. The momentum of Bethanie's fall eventually pulled Laura into the grave with her, just by delayed reaction. That is the true cost of suicide which those considering it rarely think about.

You are still loved and will be sorely missed, Laura. You brightened the lives of everybody who knew you. I wish you hadn't done this, but I understand why. I wish the love of your friends had been enough to stay your hand.

The pain you have caused is beyond measure, and I hope it gives us all reason to think twice before succumbing to pain in our own darkest hours. Suicide was the end of your pain, but only the beginning for everybody who loved you.

I still hold out hope that I will see you again, when it all comes together.

Sort:  

Laura was one of the earliest Steemians we had on the site. Whether people know it or not, the community that we love has been deeply shaped by her. She will be missed by all.

This is so sad. Laura cared about helping others, she was very creative, and she definitely played an important role here early on. I remember chatting with her about those early problems she was having with trolls, back when they first starting hounding other women like Stellabelle as well, before we even had downvotes I think. Somehow, Laura stayed strong and kept on writing. She left for a awhile, but came back and worked hard again, getting to a point where she was posting some wonderful material and this community seemed to embrace her, rewarding her posts well. We chatted once more and then I kind of lost track of her. And now this.

Laura, you were one of the strongest people I have ever talked with. You will be missed.

I'm speechless and sad. Prayers to her family.

@Yehey

I just feel sad, I do not know much about Laura. Just feel shocked to know about this.

Help post.All dollar i will earn from this post will be given to help the flood victim people.do share among friends too.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@anilmehta00/flood-in-nepal

I'm sorry to say I'm just learning of Laura through this beautifully written piece. I will take these words from @vandeberg and @donkeypong, as well as the author, to heart.

@andrarchy how to explain the Lauralemons account activity?
https://steemd.com/@lauralemons
EDIT: just a bot following @teamsteem 's voting trail. RIP Laura

If you suspect a hack or that she is still alive, it is expected to notice at some time claiming of rewards (which might still happen) , new posts/comments and sales of Steem.
My guess is that you will see none of those, but if you will detect either a power down or a new post, feel free to share it with me, since it will be an interesting surprise.
On my wish list I should add that I want to know how to write and activate a bot.
Having written this, I got to wonder where that bot's operation resides.
If it is on her personal device, expect it to cease soon, but there is the cloud thing today, and who knows what more.

looks like it's just the bot following @ teamsteem 's voting trail.

She may have also willed her password to somebody.
Dont be surprised to see activity on it.

It is a weird thing, I remembered her username but had to search why and found a post of hers I had commented on that contained a comic enjoyed a lot, cute idea, drawing, just really enjoyed it

http://i.imgur.com/8kwWd3d.png

I am very happy to see posts of hers right now of how much art and herself she shared with not only all of us on Steemit but now always out there for anyone to enjoy pieces of who she was.

so sorry to hear this, may she RIP... :( I've come across quite a few steemians who found their way here because of Laura, and I've had a bunch of introspective interactions with her as well. Such unfortunate news, and while she will be sorely missed, I can only hope somehow she's found the peace she was so desperately searching for.

I am very sorry to hear of her passing. We continue to loose great people every day. In fact I lost my great uncle this morning. This year I have witnessed death up close more then ever in my life. It's scary to know it comes for all of us.


http://www.FlippyCoin.com is the #1 Cryptocurrency Exchange!

This is so incredibly sad.

Help post.All dollar i will earn from this post will be given to help the flood victim people.do share among friends too.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@anilmehta00/flood-in-nepal

That's depression. I have been there too. For other people it's not a big deal but for the people like us who suffered from worst depression. It is very hard to deal with. Me personally, my depression turned into violence. I still remember the time I was the center of attraction in my town. My neighborhood always laugh at me, they gossip about me and they also do things that made me angry. Evertime I go out, they tell something bad about me and laugh. I asked myself why they treated me that way since I don't do anything bad to them. I thought, it was me who has an attitude problem or character problem. I came to a point when I asked my mom for samurai. I want to borrw it on that night because I am mentally ready to kill my enemy. I don't have a supportive family either, I don't feel loved at all. I felt so alone. I felt so sad to the point that I am thinking of killing myself. I was never happy with my sorroundings and family until I met someone who taught me how to love myself. That was the start of knowing myself and finding happiness inside me. I began to realize that the problem is not really me, it is the society. Depression is something that you must give attention because it is mentally hard to deal with. We need love, understanding and patience not hateful words. We need someone who can enlighten our mind and give us hope and wisdom. Because if we feel that we are important to this world, we will start giving ourselves a chance to get up and move on. We want a happy life not a miserable life. We want to live happy and free from discrimination and judgement. We need kindness not rudeness.

I understand very well what you mean. Good that you found the one to show you the bright side of the life. I am also getting in and out of depression after being pregnant with my first baby and lost it in the beginning of the 3rd trimester. But when I start to feel very depressed I think to myslef that I have to move on because I really want to have a child and I won't give up on my dream.

Actually I gave birth but he was too small and lived for a month under special cares. He was a little 700 gram fighter - my baby angel. I believe that each and evey person has his time and mission on Earth - one may live 100 year and someone else like my baby has only a month time.

Help post.All dollar i will earn from this post will be given to help the flood victim people.do share among friends too.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@anilmehta00/flood-in-nepal

Will you please fuckin shut up and not spam the space.....

I only knew Laura for a short time here on Steemit, and I am sad to hear this news. She was one of the earliest followers I had; and we always engaged well on this platform.

Your loss runs deep. No words are appropriate, other than to say; I am so sorry that this has happened. May she be pain free.

Thanks for letting us know, man.
Damn. She was a sweetheart.
Drew my profile pic for me.
Fuck sake.

Ditto. That shitty picture of me that I drew was drawn so much better by her.

Roger that. RIP Laura

Suicide is never an option :(

Sometimes suicide is the only option

Laura could always be counted on to share something thought-provoking, fundament-kicking, and deeply personal. It's surreal to think of someone like that being just gone, no matter how many friends one has lost before.

My deepest sympathies to her family and close friends.

I had a very close online relationship with laura, for well over a year. I met her through the coloring community about a year and a half ago. I bought some of her art.
She sent me a beautful hand crafted card at christmas which i still have.
Unfortunately, laura and I had a disagreement and i haven't spoken with her since may. I would pop onto her steemit to check on her every now and again. She Did seem like she was doing better. She told me about your friendship @alexbeyman
I figured i would give Laura a lot of space and maybe we found re-kindle things eventually.
I'm very sorry for your loss and i am deeply upset by the news as laura was a dear soul and i knew she had a lot of demons. She is what got me on here too

Over a year ago before Steemit's mute function actually worked, Laura and some others she knew were being harassed by some other steemit accounts. I put together this little script to try and help. I remember chatting with her, improving the script based on her feedback, and trying to help her in any way I could. I knew she was troubled but as with many of my friends dealing with serious levels of depression, I was thoroughly impressed with her strength and determination. I'm saddened by her passing and the loss to all those who knew her, but there's also a part of me that is comforted to know she's no longer in pain and torment.

I don't know if that's terrible, but that's how I feel right now.

It's easy for those who don't experience this level of pain to cast judgements on the decisions of others. It's easy, but not helpful. Not much is helpful, unfortunately.

Someone I know in the development community started the organization https://osmihelp.org/ Unfortunately he was not able to raise enough funds to do it full time, but he has still given many talks at conferences all over the world. He's helping so many people understand just how hard this struggle is.

I hope more people (myself included) can work to better understand. We don't judge people who have a broken leg or a broken arm, but for some reason that's still a stigma out there when it comes to mental health. That's ridiculous to me. The brain is just another physical part of the body. Why should we react differently if one part isn't working as we'd like it compared to another part?

I'm so sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing with us all. She was part of the community and she will be missed. I'm sorry my words don't mean more, but expressing them helps me also.

Your words mean more than enough, thank you. Laura was in a lot of pain, mental and physical so the fact that she is not suffering anymore is just about the only good that can come from this.

Kind time of the day, take a little time🙏. I want to tell you about the new ATB coins, it is very, very promising based on its parameters. It will revolutionize the world of crypto-currency. Its launch is scheduled for September 1, 2017. You can buy it today at an affordable price of 1.5💲 beforehand to buy it before the start of trading on the stock exchange. Where the price will naturally be higher than the purchase price plus a purchase bonus. In general, you decide. More information on the official site https://atbcoin.com?ref=ByHAtrSrb or here https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@marduk777/atb-coins-new-crypto-currency-of-the-future In general you decide https : //atbcoin.com/? ref = ByHAtrSrb

My heart hurts so much right now. I pray she's finally at peace and yet a part of me is so angry! I can't seem to swallow this terrible lump in my throat. I've only known her through Steemit and very recently on Facebook. I thought things were turning around for her. I thought she was... okay.

Ditto. She masked her sorrow well, last I talked to her she seemed upbeat.

hugs

Many Hugs . She would want us to be strong and carry on.

May the almighty give us serenity to accept the things we cannot change. Watch your hurt, dont let the sun go down on it. Cheers.

You did a really great job on this post! I'm so heart broken and sick right now about this. I don't even know what to say. I feel really bad that I didn't try and talk to her all night as well :(
It's sad because things were getting so much better for her! She was even getting new clothes and stuff :(
I wish we could have prevented this :( I miss her so much already.

Lets place all these in the hands of the almighty God who knows all things. We know a little. Casting our burdens upon the LORD for HE cares for us all.

A Go fund me was set up to help with Laura's arrangements.
https://www.gofundme.com/lovinglauralemons

I'm up-voting this comment to give it a "bump".

I wish I can give a widow's might.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64