You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: September 10th Is "World Suicide Prevention Day" So Lets Talk About Preventing Suicide

in #suicide6 years ago

Wow, @fishyculture. First things first. Hugs! I am sorry you lost a friend at such a young age and then for you to have to go through hell because of some pharmaceuticals. 13 years ago, I lost a brother to suicide. I was living 30 miles away and had no idea what he was going through. I still feel awful about not being there for him. 5 years ago, a send (and my youngest brother) had been diagnosed with PTSD (he was the one who found my other brother after several days). The doctor prescribed him the magic little pills and then sent him to a psychiatrist, who was near retirement. He added more pills to the mix. My brother started having the suicidal thoughts and he went back to the psychiatrist who added more pills without taking him off any. In the end, he was on 27different kinds of pills. This should have set off alarm bells with the medical profession. All this time, I am still living 3000 miles away, but I am calling him every day. I spoke with my sister-in-law and told her he had to get off the meds they were going to kill him. She got him admitted to hospital and I took the first plane back to Canada. I think I probably ruffled a few feathers and told a few doctors I would be suing and contacting the papers about a gross case of negligence. I sat with him for 12 days in the hospital before we could sign him out. I spent another 3 weeks with him when he was released. I knew he was okay when he could crack jokes with me and told me to go home. I still call him every day, just to be sure things are okay.

Sort:  

God bless you, thank you so much for sharing that. The survivor stories are just pretty damned rare and it always makes me feel like my team won a round when I hear one. And thank you for holding on to him. It is one of the hardest things for me to deal with, but there is little I can do... My family has almost no contact with me. After everything I went through, and then after we lost a brother, nothing in them made them decide to keep in touch with me. That just never stops hurting.

I am so sorry, Claire. If you need someone to hold on to, I am here!

Thank you, that means a lot to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73