You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building a Fully Automated, Self Sustainable, Solar, Hydroponic, Micro Urban Farm - The Grid - Part 3 🔌💧💡

I use a very similar air cooler in my shipping container where I keep my worms. It is just a swamp cooler or evaporative cooler. Works well but it does not drop temp as much as it should because it is already so humid here so I just add a dehumidifier also. The dryer the air the more the swamp cooler will drop temp so they both work well together. Mine runs 220 watts I believe which is not bad with a 600 watt wind generator I am still going to install and the rest of my 2k solar setup which gives me plenty of juice to run the swamp cooler and dehumidifier along with led lights and water pumps for fodder and microgreens. Really nice setup your working on. Congrats look forward to reading more about it

Sort:  

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment and for the compliments :) .

I actually had a concern regarding the possible humidity issues, as the cooler sort of stops being effective once the humidity levels reach a certain level, but as you said, it is still more effective to used the cooler along side a dehumidifier (by the way that might generate some additional water for my tanks) than running a standard AC in a non air-locked space.

What type of dehumidifier are you using?

Your setups sounds awesome, I have tried to look at your account to see if you made a post about it, but could not really find.
It sounds very interesting, perhaps you can share it with us.

Thanks again for the comment.

I have not made a post on it but I will be. It was a project that started way before steemit. Ivation 70 Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier - Large-Capacity For Spaces Up To 4,500 Sq Ft . I still need to finish the rest of the solar setup. This was the start of it a while ago. https://steemit.com/homestead/@liberyworms/45-ft-shipping-container-homestead-business

You should absolutely do an update post!

Looks promising ;)

Thanks for the info, will make sure to measure my humidity in the upcoming weeks after i put up the cooler, lets see if i;ll need a dehumidifier, i hope i can skip it.

I am in North FL and it is very high humidity here I am not sure how dry or humid your area is. I know these evap coolers can drop up to 30 degrees in dry areas. It will drop temp very well here but usually only 10 to 15 degree but without a dehumidifier it just gets very very muggy but with one it does help drop temp better.

Yeah makes sense, it works on water after all...I will have to check that out, as high humidity might be alright for a proper greenhouse.

But as this place is going to be only semi-greenhose and the rest of the place will have human visitors :), humidity in the high 60-70 might be a bit not 'user-friendly', so I might need to consider a dehumidifier as well ,

Thanks for pointing my attention to that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68874.67
ETH 3743.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72