Boulangerie Michel (A Tasteem Review)

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image

When we first arrived in The Netherlands, it was pretty hard to find decent bread anywhere. Most of the bread at the shops are the fluffy kind, with not much texture or taste. This is pretty odd, seeing as the country is surrounded by other countries, like Germany and France, that make great bread with the right amount of crunchiness on the outside and chewiness on the inside!

However, on one trip to Delft, I stumbled upon a French bakery, Michel. The bread was a touch on the expensive side of things, but it was worth it for a decent loaf of good bread! To my surprise there were also a couple of shops in Den Haag as well, and in the intervening years, they have opened up quite a number of shops.

When we moved to our place in Rijswijk, in a casual conversation with one our neighbours (who is French), we discovered that the bakery where they make all the bread and cakes and tarts for the other shops was here in our area! Just a short walk or bike ride away!

Bonus!

The Shopfront

t6.jpg

As you can see, there isn't really much space for eating outside, it really is a production bakery and not really a sit down and eat place. However, on sunnier days, they will put out a table or two, and there is a small table on the inside if you wish.

The area around it is mostly light industrial, with many offices around as well. The European Patent Office is nearby, and so this bakery seems to be a popular place for the people working there to come to.

In addition to selling lots of different types of bread, they also sell sweet goods, crossaints of different types and several types of cakes and eclairs. However, when I visited them this morning, they had already run out or shipped most of them out to the other shops. Just for reference, I was there at 930, so if you want the good stuff... you have to be really early!

Lunch

t4.jpg

On the weekdays (except Monday, when they are not open), they have an option for sandwiches (in the French style, so on the long stick bread) until 1330 or until the bread runs out. Usually, it is the bread running out! We like to try and drop in earlier before the office crowd hits their lunch breaks!

Samples

On the weekend, we try to have one day where we treat ourselves to croissants for breakfast. Plain ones for the adults and Pain au Chocolate or Pain au Raison for the kiddies. That means, that we are there on the dot of the opening hour, so that we don't miss out!

t1.jpg

However, today, I was only there for some tarts and pies for dinner. So, these are the only things that I could take a photo of!

t2.jpg

Also, I did get a little treat for myself, but there were no cakes or eclairs ready to go, so I had to make do with a custard and rasin rondje!

For photos of the really nice sweet stuff, I would suggest that you take a quick look at their photo page on their website! Everything really is as delicious as it looks!

Conclusion

It is such an amazing thing to live around the corner from such a great bakery. They use good organic flour, and the taste and quality of the bread (not to mention all the other things) is incredible. Breakfast on the weekends is always something to look forward to, and even sandwiches are tempting when they are layered with this bread.

Although, I wouldn't trek out to this particular production bakery for the bread, I would suggest that you look for the cafe/bakeries shopfronts in Den Haag and Delft if you are ever in those towns!

Opening Times

Mo: closed
Tu-Sa: 8.00 - 15.00
Sun: 8.00 - 13.00

However, for the other shopfronts see here!

Contact Details

Address: Cobbenhagenstraat 22, 2288 ET Rijswijk NETHERLANDS
Phone: +31 70 415 1513
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://boulangeriemichel.com/?page_id=651
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Boulangerie-Michel-448656248634931
Instagram: https://instagram.com/boulangeriemichel


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


LEAVE THIS PART AS IS


Restaurant Information


Boulangerie Michel
score
Cobbenhagenstraat 22, 2288 ET Rijswijk, Netherlands


Boulangerie Michel (A Tasteem Review)
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Bakeries and Patisseries


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

a2ed3e7c688dad7be7f57587718023b359299416efc50839c3952c077912ca59.gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Wow..Delicious food. The food is a great test.

Yes, the food was (and is!) great!

Oh I do like a good loaf of bread :D British bread is always lacking to be honest. I suppose it's nice to have a variety of breads from the soft and fluffy to crusty and flavourful :) too many large scale supermarket bakeries around here for my liking :( means I need to bake more so not so bad I suppose :D

Yes, I hate bread that is too soft and fluffy... It's like eating polystyrene! Even worse is if they use too much sugar...

I should learn to bake as well... I have a friend that makes great sour dough, he has a little yeast culture that he keeps on using.

This is so funny our differenced in what we expect of bakeries! I expect from my Dutch background fluffy bread that will saty good for like 5 days, and I am annoyed that here in Switzerland that all the fresh bread is in open bags and will be rocksolid by the next day :DDD

Ha ha! Yes, I hadn't thought about that! Got to eat it faster! Or grilling with a bit of oil and garlic is always nice!

Can you imagine our disappointment when we moved to Nicaragua? The land of tortillas. Don't get me wrong, I do like tortillas when I make them fresh but bread and pastries are not their forte. Trust me. So I mostly make my own until now. We now have a French bakery in the next town over from us. It is our treat to go once a month to their little restaurant to have breakfast...what a treat!

Tortillas! I had no idea they could be that good until I went to a real Mexican restaurant! But I could see how you would miss real bread! Lucky you were also able to find a decent bakery!

I just had my evening meal and the photos and your descrioption of there foods made me feel so hungry LOL

He he... Social media is for making people hungry!

LOLit does All kinds of things

I love visiting and browsing in bakeries! They smell so heavenly!

Yes, there is nothing better than the snel of freshly baked bread!

Well german bread is like eating shoe soles :D

Oooh, those are fighting words!

I’m glad you found such a great bakery close by. Your treat looked delicious. They are called cinnamon rolls or pin wheels here.

Pin wheels! I haven't heard of that before! I was hoping to pick up a chocolate or caramel elclair, but there weren't any... Probably not a good thing for breakfast anyway...

I don’t know what the eclair would do for your teeth but you would get a shot of energy with the sugar. 😂

I upvoted your post.

Thank you.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69