A piece of Nostalgia with fried banana

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


One of my colleagues mentioned about this Nostalgia restaurant during our casual break time chit chats. I know the place that she was referring to because I once passed by there but I did not know that there is a restaurant at the corner of the street. To satisfy my curiosity, I walked to the corner and indeed, there is Nostalgia silently sitting at the corner. On first glance, you will not really notice it is a restaurant because of the covered facade.

I was surprised to see this sticker on their glass wall. Bar?
06-05-06.07.44.jpg

I got in and found two tables occupied by diners having lunch. It does not look like a bar but I wonder if the aura changes at night.
06-05-06.21.02.jpg

I did not come for lunch but just to try what they have, I took a table and ask for their menu. It does not have any alcoholic beverages so again, I wonder about the bar side of the restaurant.

Okay there, I wanted to try their "matamis na saging with sago" or sweetened banana with sago. When my order was served, I noticed the ice do not seem crushed finely.
06-05-06.06.32.jpg

Then I noticed the syrup is glistening. I looked closer and confirmed what I was thinking. Oil! Cooking oil, that is.
06-05-06.10.49.jpg

The banana was sweetened then fried. Fried banana? Yes, we do that. I just never expected it to be chilled like this.
06-05-06.17.01.jpg

Frying ripe bananas is the next option my elder brother would do if we happen to have many and seem to have enough of it. Somehow, the fried version brings new excitement that we eventually finish them.
06-05-06.18.01.jpg

The taste was excitingly better when it is chilled with ice like this one. I can also taste the milk mxed with the syrup which is good because that tells me the flavor is not just sugar. At the price of P50.00 (US$ 0.97), I think it is fair enough for a sweet and creamy dessert.

Nostalgia Restaurant
GF Studio One Condominium
Civic Drive
Northgate, Alabang
Muntinlupa City
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Nostalgia
score
Northgate Cyberzone, Filinvest Avenue, Alabang, Muntinlupa City, 1780 Metro Manila, Philippines


A piece of Nostalgia with fried banana
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hi @macoolette
This desert dish prepared with fried banana looking so yummy and delicious. I am sure you had a great taste and fantastic time in Nostalgia.

Yap, it was a good experiment that I went there as my colleague has suggested. 😊

My goodness hahaha food so sophisticated really, look at that, nostalgia seems quite the epic place to eat, the food seems so slick and well you have so much fun exploring these places

I just eat outside most of the time because I do not cook. I used to eat and switch between just few restaurants but when I found out about @tasteem contests then I thought I may as well try others so I can enter the different contests.

If you get the chance, you can also join the contest. For as long as you meet the criteria and there is nothing against the rules on your post, the default upvote is around 2.X STU. 😊

Ahhhhh...yes one of my favorite deserts over here also but not to much of it i got to watch my diet...haha :)

Howdy macoolette! so you are going to bars now! lol...that's funny to have "bar" in the name of the restaurant but no alcohol on the menu and no bar in the building! lol. The fried banana looked good though, I've never had friend banana.

Maybe I'll try a real bar next time. 😄

I've never had friend banana

Go give it a try! 😊

lol. do you drink at all macoolette?
oh, ha! I see that I misspelled fried, instead I put friend banana! lol. I've never had a friend banana either!
I think I'll wait until I get over there to try the fried banana, I don' think anyone here knows how to make them right.

Nope, I don't drink. Maybe I'll give it a try one day. 😊

I noticed the friend but did not react. Now you saw it, you must have very keen eyes.

It won't be bad to try befriending a banana. I just wonder how... Just don't burn when you fry them. But if you can wait till you come over here then that's cool. So when? 😊

Ang sarap naman niyan tignan!

Hanggang tingin lang... 😊

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <My favourite dessert > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

You got a 36.91% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98