You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Brother during a Heroin Binge

in #teamgood6 years ago

This is painful to witness. I struggled with addiction to alcohol and cocaine for ten years, and one of the things that amplified the addiction, was feeling alone and not loved.

I ultimately had to make a choice, and no jail cell or rehab was able to make that choice for me. Today, surviving countless relapses, and more than a handful of concussion's, I have two years in sobriety.

That sad part in this all, is I still feel abandoned, lonely, and unloved by my family, but I love myself now, and my children love me. This is enough to help me remain sober today. My past year addicted to Steem has helped as well.

The fact that you shared this, and seemed a bit angry shows that you care. Love can be a powerful cure for people trapped in addiction. Tough love isn't always the answer, but maybe it was for me? I don't know, but I hope your brother is going to be ok. Opiate addiction is terribly debilitating and hard to overcome for most who are trapped in it. It's also one of the most fatal addictions.

I'm sending my positive energy to your brother, and I hope it finds him well. Best wishes to you and your family @miryam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71152.89
ETH 3805.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49