Handmade chalk bag for climbing!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

3chalkbags.jpg

Do you recognize that green fellow?!
I was into wall climbing few years back, and that game was so popular back then, and still is.

Anyway, I was recovering from ill and stress from my former job.
Wall climbing, which I happened to walked by and started enjoying the thrill, was an excellent rehabilitation.

It reminded me of playing freely with friends at school playground when I was little!

The equipments were a bit costly from the standards of Malaysian living with simple earning house hold, so I thought of at least of make the chalk bag of my own.

The purple one is the first one that I made.
I refereed to this jeans upcycle page, a genius, exactly that I wanted.source

It was very simple. All you need is:

  • old jeans or any pants for outside layer
  • felt, fleece, or velvet for inside layer
  • cord to tighten the opening
    -cord stopper
    -grommet (and attachment tool if you could get one )

cutting instruction.jpg
This is how you can cut out your pants.
You need 7 inches by 13 inches.
It was a quite a tight fit.
I suggest you cut more than 13 inches in case if you want a bit more roomy one.

Stitch the side to make cylinder.
Then trace the base of the cylinder to cut out the bottom part from extra material.
It doesn't have to be perfect circle, but in case you want a perfect circle for your bottom,
calculate:
Circumference divided by 2 π.

Then you will get the radius. Use compass and ruler according to your measurement.
diameter.jpg
Mine, the diameter is about 4 to 4 and a half inch.

If you follow the instruction from that website, you will be finished making it in half day or the next day.
Make a inside layer, in same shape as the outer one.
Stitch a small loop you make out of extra fabric to hold cord in place. stitch it on to the inside layer.

gtommit.jpg
Make a small opening to the outside layer. I you have grommet, attach it now.
If you don't, you could do the button hole stitch.

Optionally I added a very short zipper to the pocket so I could store my accessories safely.

=======================================
Okay, so I also made 2 more chalk bags without upcycle.
The white fluffy abominable snowman one and green fellow is made out similar way.

The only difference from the very first one is I added interlining for support on side and bottom, and belt material to make hooks for karabina.

top view.jpg

hatome.jpg

Enjoy climbing!

======================================
The images in this post is taken and the chalk bags are made by me, @naomipangolin.
No source link is written because this is the first time on internet.

Sort:  

I like upcycled projects. It is an agenial idea that you have brought today. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @jicrochet😆😆😆

Cure bags! Great way to personalize your hobby a bit.

Thank you @jamethiel!😂😂👍

Oh my Gosh climbing?! I would run away in a heart beat if someone mentions it to me😓. But if I were to get those bags I could actually pretend I climb hehehe , thanks for showing how you accomplished it. Nice work.

Thank you @wondermaey😊 I guess this sports seems to be totally loved or totally cannot😅 and happy to share that there is always something that we could handmade😊

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

These are really neat bags! I love upcycled projects! Thanks for sharing how you achieved this!!! 😊

Wow, great chalkbag there. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @ bboyady! Its nice feeling to have bag I made swings on my waist😊

You are rock climber too?

Almost retired. Top rope only. Oh, u live in kk too? Used to go Likas wall climbing, it was so fun. Have my shoes, harnes and karabina😊

Wow. Seems u climbing for long time. Ya. I am from kk too. Have chances can go rock climbing together. Teach me. Hehe

No laaaa... just tried couple of years..now, no more, but thanks. Its nice to share experience with someone.😊😊😊

Very cool. I have made some messenger bags from jeans. Not as intricate as yours. These are great.

Thank you @girlbeforemirror! Messenger bag is the one with flip cover? Aawww nice, I imagine they go nicely with casual day out😍

I just love cinch-sacks! These are adorable and very well made. Great job. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, @naomipangolin!

Thank you @crystalize😊😊😘

It's great to upcycle/recycle all those textiles lying around @naomipangolin 🌺

Thank you @cryptocariad!😊 more upcycle projects coming up later!!

Awesome @naomipangolin! A great way to up-use an old pair of shorts. I have quite a few stored somewhere coz they no longer fit. And I salute you for wall climbing. I tried it years ago, have to keep reminding myself to use the strength of your legs, not your arms! Nearly died halfway up the wall 😁. No wonder you are so toned! Thanks for sharing! 😘

Oh my goodness! You tried it too?! I am so glad that I had someone to share my hobby... well.. also retired like you😂 I am a bit worried about my wobbly armpits these days, so I am trying some hanging training at home since yesterday😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95