8 Ways To Temper Your Google Addiction

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

088 Google Google.jpg

To tell the truth, most Google services are fairly good. That’s why most of us are using them a lot and sometimes also some sort of addiction can evolve to this services.
Some Google services are good and some are bad or mediocre, but mostly useful. Some may seem quite perfect for me and poor for you. For example, I like to take notes in Keep when I’m on my way and have only my mobile phone in my hand, but I never take notes with it on my notebook. (Normally I use Evernote to take notes, I wrote about some very handy free software here.)

Puppies for sale :(

But we all know Google is spying on us, is recording our searches, is collecting individual and also big data. I searched for a puppy once for somebody and I received ads about puppies for sale for several weeks and I hated it so much. Another day, I searched some indecent theme on my notebook and the question appeared also on my phone’s search line. (I was also angry with Windows, that showed thumbnails of my pictures on the opening screen.)

They know anything

And scandals by Facebook, data thefts by other social media firms and internet giants make me suspicious and cautious. I don’t feel comfortable anymore with my family pictures and traveling shots on Google Photos. “Google knows where you've been, what you've searched, all your apps and extensions, your YouTube history, and more.” – wrote PC Magazine.

I don't think they want to make you harm, they are just pretending to make money like any other companies. But time to change many things.

1. Modify your Google settings

I have to admit Google is helping to review all your privacy and security options in this settings center. You can, for example, disable the storage of searches and also delete the older queries. (On this page.) The first one was quick, but I find the second one tricky. If you don’t do it well you only delete some says or some special themes from your history. (To delete all your tracks, search for the menu “…” on the upper right, not in the middle.)

2. Use other mail services

Gmail is good, and you get 15 GB online cloud storage, use it. But there are many other nice free services. You can also use one for work, other for family or friends, the third for online forums or hobby themes. So no one of the companies can control all your emails.
Yahoo is still good, Protonmail and Tutanota are famous for privacy (you can send password protected encrypted emails), Mail.com is also serious and free. In many countries, you can find a national mail service. (But some of them are powered also by Google.)

3. Use DuckDuckGo

I’m testing the privacy-oriented DuckDuckGo for some time now and I have pleasant experiences. Mostly the same good search results as by Google, and I like the language settings, safe search and time settings on the front.

088 DuckDuck.jpg

4. Use two browsers

There are many good browsers now on the market, but all of them have advantages and disadvantages. Some sites don’t support the one, some the other. So, since I have my SSD drive and notebook memory is no longer a big problem, I use two browsers simultaneously.
On the one, I’m signed in Google and using its services, on the other, not. I can only hope my activity with the “non-Google browser” remains invisible for this company.

5. Stay in incognito

You can use also private browsers, like Firefox Focus, or private (incognito) windows of other browsers to surf without leaving traces behind.

6. Do you need a GPS?

Disconnect your GPS on your phone if you don’t need it. Who knows which software is collecting the data. I only use it if it’s really necessary. Many times I disconnect all the internet, for example, if I’m reading or sunbathing.

7. Encrypt your files

Don’t make hacker’s or spy’s life easy: if you upload sensible data files to Google Drive or other cloud storage, better encrypt it. Making zip or rar encrypted compressed archives can be very easy, for example, with Total Commander.

8. Use VPN

Maybe it seems already the paranoid mode – but not if you are using file-sharing services or cryptocurrency wallets. The remote servers of VPN providers are hiding your real location and identity, and are making much more difficult to trace or hack you. Your internet provider won’t know either where are surfing.
I suppose this makes life (data collection) of Google also tougher. They obviously don’t like it. Sometimes you will have problems with VPN, for example, you have to fill a lot of Google captchas (puzzles to determinate you are human), and they can be very long and annoying.
I’m not a programmer or IT security expert but I’m trying to learn continuously how to defend myself in the jungle called the internet. About my other experiences and ideas on security I wrote here: 9 Ways To Be Healthily Paranoid

(Photo: screenshot from Google logos in Google search engine.)

Sort:  
I’m testing the privacy-oriented DuckDuckGo for some time now and I have pleasant experiences
I tested this out a few weeks back - I liked that it didnt track my data, but in the end I was lured back to Google - it just seemed to give better results (probably due to all the data it has on me!)

Sometimes I get frustrated that Google has such a monopoly and have so much data on me - I tried to go Google free awhile back and tried other products but in general they arent as good! Maps is a good example - most competitors are streets behind (no pun intended :P)

Incognito is a good option especially if you are booking things online and dont want sites to track what you are searching for

Yeah makes sense. They’re definitely playing the game of becoming irreplaceable in your life and then later on exercising that leverage.

I have to say, the only way I'm involved with Google is that I use Chrome, without an account. I use Duck Duck Go for search,and Lavabit for mail. The best way to use YOutube is to not be logged in. Oh, and via the RSS feeds for channels, which make using Youtube fun again.

I don't watch tv 3 or 4 years now. Lavabit isn't free, unfortunately.

informative post i am following these precaution

Posted using Partiko Android

google is so helpful to all of us.

This is really very helpful. Thanks for taking the time to share this tips @deathcross. I will try this out.

Finally a way out :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

These tricks would have zero effect in my case to say no to Google's tracking on my activity. Because I rely so much on the Google Photos as my primary photo storage, they would have know me better than anyone in the world the information about me!

What is better:

  • They know "only" your photos;
  • or the know your photos, all your mails and all the webpages you visited?

I think even with all this precautions, no one is safe on internet. From the moment you are connected you will be automatically exposed to any professional hacker 🤔
however, thanks for your advices, they do really decrease risks of any privacy violation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62