You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Windows' slave for a couple of days

in #technology6 years ago

If you happen to have Cortana on your desktop and haven't used it yet, feel free to abuse it.

I have tried to used Cortana, and cannot seem to find a practical use for it. Perhaps using it as a calculator would be sufficient.

This is the first time I have used Windows in years, and I have yet to cut down the bloat much, or experiment at all, but I am pleasantly surprised. Windows does not seem as buggy to me as it did in the past, and it's running quite smoothly. Of course it could always be possible that I just managed to get lucky with a laptop that integrates well with with Windows. I should probably be careful what I am saying here or I will end up getting the blue screen...

Did you notice I knocked the "dust" off some of these comments here? ;)

haha Feels good to do, but my VP is suffering immensely at the moment. I must admit, I voted way more than usual today. Not complaining though because I love to vote people's comments :)

Sort:  

Well, if you bought your laptop from a somewhat responsible manufacturer that knows what they are doing, Windows would run well there. To be honest it works even with 2GB of RAM, but anything below 4GB is going to be a torture if you are planning to do anything decent on it...even with my current 4GB RAM it is always yelling for more. But if you bought you bought your laptop from a manufacturer like Asus or HP and it is labelled as a budget laptop...yea, brace yourself. My HP laptop comes with an infinite number of bloatware and it took me forever to clean it up. The entire computer is just unusable with them.

My advice would be...if you don't know what you are doing, don't do it. Windows is pretty bearable with some decent hardware and the default settings, but of course I prefer to nuke out what I don't use. Post-Linux syndrome at its finest :)

Yeah it's an ASUS budget laptop, running on 4 gigs of RAM, but if you didn't tell me this was a budget laptop, I would honestly never have guessed that it was. It has far exceeded my expectations. I have never owned ASUS before, and of all the laptops I have owned, this is certainly my favorite thus far. Everything about it totally rocks. Even the on board speakers are quite amazing.

Well, if you bought your laptop from a somewhat responsible manufacturer that knows what they are doing, Windows would run well there. To be honest it works even with 2GB of RAM, but anything below 4GB is going to be a torture if you are planning to do anything decent on it...even with my current 4GB RAM it is always yelling for more. But if you bought you bought your laptop from a manufacturer like Asus or HP and it is labelled as a budget laptop...yea, brace yourself. My HP laptop comes with an infinite number of bloatware and it took me forever to clean it up. The entire computer is just unusable with them.

My advice would be...if you don't know what you are doing, don't do it. Windows is pretty bearable with some decent hardware and the default settings, but of course I prefer to nuke out what I don't use. Post-Linux syndrome at its finest :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74