You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Outsmarted by Technology

Welcome back from your vacation (if you are back). Hope you were able to relax.

I was recently discussing this topic with my girlfriend. She was unable to tell me what my phone number is, but I can recite hers as well as many others from memory. I remember my phone number growing up, my friends numbers growing up as well.

I noticed back in the 90's this phenomena occurring with simple math and calculators. I worked at a computer chip manufacturer, and so many chips fit in a tube. There was a question over how many we had in stock, and I was able to calculate in my head faster than my managers secretary could punch the numbers in. For me what was more telling was the way she looked at me in awe, as though some superhuman feat had just happened.

As technology continues growing, the majority of people will delegate their abilities to these processes for sure. Which is not surprising, since as a society we delegate everything to politicians who in turn delegate to the experts (these experts are determined by their ability to make the politicians bank accounts grow).

Sort:  

No surprise that delegation (out-sourcing) is based on money... that's the majority of use-cases on Steem too :P Way to go on being a sharp mind :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08