Finally a Valentine's Day gift I can support!

in #thailand5 years ago

Except for maybe when i was in elementary school I have always hated Valentine's Day. I believe like many other people that this is a completely manufactured holiday designed only to give Hallmark a couple of days to not go bankrupt since no one really buys cards anymore.


source
this image was taken from an article entitled "why are roses so expensive on V-day?" I think you should already know the answer to that

Thankfully, over the years I have generally had very understanding partners who also feel the way that I do. My previous girlfriend actually suggested it to me that she doesn't want to celebrate Valentine's Day. Fine by me!

The amount of money that people spend on this day is just absurd. It isn't that I am not romantic, I really can be. I think that giving your partner flowers or some other gift on a day that ISN'T a corporate concoction would actually be MORE romantic... don't you?

Expensive-gifts-for-Valentines-day-view.jpg
source
get me some of these. They taste like chalk and probably are chalk, but they cost almost nothing

Thailand is not an exception to this rule but they do tone it down a bit and market stall sell flowers that are kept inexpensive since flowers are sold at the markets (for use in temples) on a daily basis anyway. Teens will spend something really small like 1 dollar on a rose with some baby's breath and that is seen as enough. I have never known anyone that goes over-the-top here and spends a week's salary on dinner and what not.

It is no secret that businesses truly take advantage of consumers on this day and I suppose I should consider myself fortunate that I have been with the "correct" individuals in the past who were smart enough to see through the consumerism. Save that money for beer I say!

Get to the point @gooddream !


The title of this article is about a product that I can get behind for V-day so lo' and behold, here it is.

51924510_1474476596019744_3076515585572470784_n.jpg
nothing says "I love you" quite like a cheeseburger, especially when it costs just over a dollar

Sort:  

Hahahaha ok, it's the perfect valentine's day gift xD my gf would love it.

We also don't really celebrate it, all I do is cooking some pasta with prawns and then we will eat it while watching some episodes of black mirror

sounds perfect... imagine how much better it would be with heart-shaped cheeseburgers though! :)

Hahahha
Yoh are the devil, now I am thinking about some homemade burgers with <3-shape xD
But I have to send a pucture of the cheseburger to my gf hrhrhr

Posted using Partiko Android

Eating whilst watching black mirror sounds like an awesome day! I think I am going to do the same tonight haha!

A heart shaped cheeseburger in a plastic sealed package on a shelf … wow! Now I have seen everything... and I know where I've been going wrong all of these years! To 711!

A heart shaped cheese burger damn! HAHAH! We have similar case, even My gf helps me save bucks by not asking unnecessary products on V'DAY! We just celebrate it together That's it!
Keep up with creative content.

It is no secret to anyone that it is an extremely commercial day, where flowers are the protagonists. I've always been the same, I decide not to celebrate this day and I do as if it were any other day, your idea is very original. I think that although everyone expects an expensive gift, a bouquet of flowers, a simple original detail can make a difference.

Bwahaha I also got the rose- berry flavour KitKat from 7/11. The taste was so unreal. I couldn't finish the thing. Does your heart burger taste sweeter than usual. I don't care the day no more actually but hey, happy v day!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was actually pretty gross. Won't be ordering that again. But to be fair I don't often eat microwave food but that was too strange to pass up

Posted using Partiko Android

In the current era the celebration of Valentine's Day has been changed we find that today on the 14th of February, a number of countries have become public holidays. Happy valentine day @gooddream

Blessed to have such girlfriends, isn't it?! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

It is OK for me to spend a little in buying flowers on Valentines day. It only happens once a year but I think the best is to do something unique rather than giving only flowers.

Hahaha I didn't expect that kind of conclusion but for me is perfect. Me and my hubby never celebrate V day even when we where at the beginning of our journey so I completely understand your point of view.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Valentine's day is a day to show love to the less privileged ones in out society in other to let them know that we do care for their welfare . It is good to celebrate it with your partner but to me it is more of self sacrifice to others that needs our love and care the most @gooddream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94