The Budget Challenge Is Back! Win SBDs While Following the Road towards Financial Freedom

in #thebudgetchallenge6 years ago (edited)

If you will be refreshing my Steemit feed, you will just find finance-related posts other than the ones I resteemed. This is how driven and passionate I am to share my financial literacy advocacy. Though I feel like I have given my all for each post that I am making, I still feel like those posts aren’t enough. Don’t get me wrong but I appreciate all the comments and interactions I get from my avid fans, but I want to instill the lessons in their souls more than just reading it.

DQmfKMDhxREetiDLr2eobf8q2wS4P81598sE4gXXjHc7uzZ.png

One way of doing it is to initiate finance challenges. Does that sound interesting to you? I hope so. Sure, there are many challenges here in Steemit that you can participate with, but this is a different one. #thebudgetchallenge aims to make my fellow Steemians more sensitive in handling their finances. If you have financial aspirations, I encourage you to join this one. This might help you be more committed and motivated in reaching your financial goals in life.

In case you didn’t know, I launched #thebudgetchallenge last January. The contest is about sharing the different budget plans of our fellow Steemians. You can see the full details of the contest here. I first shared my Budget Principle, and after evaluating the entries, I managed to extract the eight essential lessons everyone must learn from that challenge.

Currently, I am posting articles regarding the different investments available for us, especially for the millennials. However, investing isn’t for everyone, especially if you haven’t built the habit of saving yet. So now, let’s go back to basics, and that is your Daily Expenses. Before I give the mechanics, let me share my personal daily budget.


My Daily Budget

From the very first day that I’ve been working, I always follow a daily budget. This basically helps me surviving for the next payday. In my first few months, I was very frugal as I was still saving to buy appliances at home. That is my way of paying back to my family. Imagine, I only allocated P30 (0.60 USD) for food and P20 (0.40 USD) for transportation (My workplace is just a few minutes away from home). So that sums up P50 or one USD a day! In fact, there are times when I only have a total of P20 a day just for the transportation expenses since I am just bringing food for lunch.

Since my cash flow has increased lately due to my sidelines from rice and loading business, I made adjustments to my daily allowance. From P50, I doubled that to P100! I feel like I deserved that increase too! I just showed the percentages of my daily budget allocation so it’s up to you to do the Math.

My Daily Budget.png

Every payday, I count the number of days ahead before the next payday. I multiply the days to my daily budget and viola! Paycheck to paycheck survival is unlocked. As you can see, I allocate 50% as my food allowance, 20% for transportation expenses, and 30% for miscellaneous (cravings and guilty pleasures). If there’s something left for my daily allowance, I automatically put that to my savings.


There! The daily budget I shared is really my actual daily budgeting technique. That is my basis if I’m close to overspending or not. This time, I want to know yours too! I’m just curious how many of you are following a daily budget. But don’t fret, this challenge is for everyone. If you haven’t stick to a daily budget yet, you can state the reason why and lay your future plans on making one.

This challenge is also open to students! I’m pretty sure you’ve been receiving daily allowances for school. Since it is already summertime, you can just share your usual daily budget way back school days.


The Mechanics for #thebudgetchallenge

  • Open to everyone.
  • Resteem. You don’t have to upvote this post, but I am asking you to resteem this to get more visibility of this challenge.
  • Make #thebudgetchallenge as your first tag
  • No Restrictions. You can use any visual materials as you like. Charts, drawings, or graphs aren’t necessary. You can simply state the percent or the exact amount of your daily budget.
  • Include "The Budget Challenge" in your title
  • Winners will be announced after this post’s payout
  • Comment the link to your entries below

If you don’t know how and where to start, you can start by answering the following questions:

  • Do you think having a daily budget is important?
  • Do you follow a daily budget? If not, why?
  • Are you open to establish a daily budget from now on?
  • Do you find budgeting a difficult task to do?

Judge’s Basis:

Winners will be chosen by yours truly, and I will base my judgment on the following criteria:

  • 75% - Honesty and Sincerity
  • 25% - Impact

Rewards:

The Liquid Rewards (Steem Dollars) of this post will be given to all who will be participating in this challenge, both the winners and non-winners.

  • 35% - First Place
  • 25% - Second Place
  • 15% - Third Place
  • 25% - Will be equally distributed to the non-winners

I will be looking forward to seeing your entries!

To Financial Freedom,

@smaeunabs


Previously-posted finance-related articles that you can learn from:

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

DQmT8MFECsM9DgBVvNwWAo2tHBh6FuEHscUoixfHUDzx4uX.jpg

DQmf2KLgzeQF3cWheFcqJXsw7oxmDofpdfnBvgq1Ebba9Vy.gif

Sort:  

Hello! That's a great one @Smaeunabs. It's kinda difficult to pronounce your name. Lolx. Saw you from Sndbox.

Will make out time to participate in the challenge. Keep on steeming dear.

Hey @nairadaddy! Thank you for taking your time reading this post. It will be an honor to see your entry :D

hahahha I am actually having regrets on why I settled with this steemit username. You can pronounce it as es-mey-u-nabs hahaha

Thank you so much for participating in this contest :D Winners will be announce on Wednesday, best of luck :D

Thank you so much for participating! :D

I am excited to post mine ate @smaeunabs na challenge ko ani ate bahalag dili maka daog, at least I try my best :)

I love the spirit @purpleshangz :D

Wow this challenge is amazing. I just finished reading @christianyocte's entry and I was completely amazed.

As for myself, I am officially a "tambay" at this moment. I am staying at home being a "pabu" (pabuhi) since the review proper has not commenced yet so I don't have a budget.

I hope to see the entries coming as I'm really curious on how other people budget because I totally suck at it. Thank you for such a nice initiative! <3

Thank so much for the kind words Ree! God bless sa board exam!

ambot ani huhuhu. Thanks @smaeunabs <3

Good luck to your review and your board exams... Thanks for dropping by there. Hahaha.

😁😁😁😁 salamat salamat

Yey! i really want to join but I think I am not that consistent yet in my budget that is the reason why I am always looking out in your post about financial literacy. I learned something everytime:)

It's okay @orhem, I am positive you can master it through time. Yaaay I really want to thank you for taking the time reading and commenting on my posts. I am glad to know that you have learned something from them :D

I might spend more then half of my money on food. I guess it depends but this contest is a good exercise. Upvoted. You look awesome in red.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60