You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Supporting the meaningless

in #thoughts5 years ago

I think that you will find the vote amounts are probably the same, but users are delegating more to apps. The vote value has dropped with the Steem price and how much has been delegated out. I noticed this a while back and it has to have a huge affect on the rewards.

Sort:  

And it will only continue, the end of the blogger without 'focused' content. That's cool though, it means more businesses and business opportunities have arrived.

Definitely more opportunities as long as you choose the right ones. I don't know if there is a right or a wrong way to do it, but I still think building your Steem should still be the main focus. I look around now at some accounts and they have nothing left as most of it is delegated. This is the growth period where you can earn more Steem by holding in your account and kind of doesn't make total sense. The bigger holding accounts I understand why they are doing this, but the smaller accounts like myself should be concentrating on Steem.

I assume they are delegated for a daily vote or payout in Steem/SBD.

The amount you keep as your voice v's what you delegate out has always been a good topic of conversation to me. If you lose your voice completely, why should others support you - ohhh, the good content, right :)

But as your account grows and others opt for this approach, I think it makes sense to dabble also - no point being the only guy with stake for his friends and this good content thingy, if no-one else has any to return the favour to you.

That makes perfect sense and one I will consider once I have reached 5000 SP. Nice guys don't win anything normally and this is a game which we sometimes forget.

Indeed. Get enough nice guys around you though..... :)

Perhaps the rule of thumb should be if you are unable or struggling to get a comment vote over the dust threshhold, consider not delegating if wanting a future in a community. Not a great rule of thumb but I see these accounts with 200 SP delegating everything away and then wondering why they don't get support on their posts.

At present that is something like 2000 SP and and 100% vote. I like that rule of thumb. Worth a post? :)

I think you can probably do better than this...

https://steemit.com/steem/@abh12345/wondering-why-your-account-isn-t-growing-get-you-influence-out-of-the-fucking-bots-and-talk-to-the-people-still-giving-a-fuck

I remember it well :D

Well, are arriving slowly - I hope at least. But until there is a dedicated app for blogging alone that people support as a blog, it is likely the way it is. This is inline with predictions I made about 2 years ago about this so it is no surprise.

Ahead of your time, although missed the sweet spot for joining here by a little :)

Yes, I do know this side of it but with it people also comment a little less than they did before. I actually see this as a mistake in the future for those who might want support later as they begin to disengage with people.

That is a big mistake and one I learnt when I was busy on Musing. This place is your bread and butter and everything else is a bonus. I have noticed the less comments as well and it could backfire on many who don't see this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69