Supporting the meaningless

in #thoughts5 years ago

Some people have noted and asked in private about why the support on my posts have seemingly dropped off a cliff over recent weeks. I don't really know what to answer because, I don't really have the answer, however I am not overly concerned with the situation. Yeah, I like to get support too, the financial incentive doesn't escape me and is likely a big reason of why I have continued to do as I do for so long because even though I enjoy it, this is more than entertainment for me, it is my chance to increase my potential.

Money only goes so far and while not having enough is oppressive, having a lot and doing very little with it is a waste of resources. Steem for me has become my opportunity to increase my personal capabilities and do some of the things that I always dreamed of doing. You remember those dreams from youth? I do. Most of mine centered around empowering people and having a beautiful wife. I have the latter already ;)

but empowering people has to be more than words and to to offer more than words requires having more than words to offer. While there might be a future opportunity of some kind of perfect resource balance, we are far from that now and to get there is going to take much longer than I likely have on this earth. Does this mean I shouldn't aim for it? Certainly not, but I shouldn't naively live as if it has already happened either because that helps very little in an environment hostile to it.

I talked to one of my brothers today and he was saying I should get my debt under control and was then surprised to learn that, I am almost there, almost found a zero point other than my home. While there is still a little ways to go, I have smashed myself over the last year or two to get a handle on things Without dipping into what I consider my future opportunity.

Yeah, I could die tomorrow yada yada but unfortunately perhaps, I am more likely to live a long and painful life where several people's own experience in the world depends on how I manage myself. My opportunity empowers their opportunity, at least until the point they no longer need my resources at all. It is not just money though, it is also the reduction in stress from constantly having financial hardship hang over the head - a position I have spent far too much of my life in.

The last time I shed a tear of any kind I was 15 and had just moved 4500 km across Australia only to find that the promises made of a new life were in fact, lies. There we were, homeless. We were not helpless though and it was then I chose not to live a life of reliance on others to provide for me. I failed a lot but, did my best to live without burdening others. The scarcity attitude I have held since a toddler, has never disappeared.

As the support has dropped away, my long-carried scarcity mindset sends alarm bells ringing telling me to panic. I am not going to panic. Not because I believe that everything will work out but rather, what good does it do to stress over circumstances that are largely outside of my control. Very little. But there are things within my control that I can effect. I have seen so many people break apart on this platform that it makes me wonder if I should too. Rant and rave over this and that, the "good old times" when support was awesome...

I have done well on this platform, I have no numbers to back this up, but I am likely one of the highest content earners that Steem has seen yet, it is the consistency that has got me there, not the masses of support. Small steps matter and can add up to great things, my company is even named after this approach to life, because as I see it, a bit at a time is the way the world changes. The greatest accomplishments are never individual massive feats, they are incremental improvements that add up to having the capabilities to do the large. A life of experience working in harmony with the world.

My life is far from harmonious but, there is a strange balance in it where I actually feel that the work done now will have a reciprocal result in the future, where the discomfort of the moment is eventually replaced by a series of small changes that tip the scales. I completely understand that this feeling is likely nothing more than a story I tell myself, something to justify my behavior, but that doesn't matter because I act upon the story still.

We live in a strange world, one where people go to excess in what harms them and minimize the things that could give them the opportunity to live a better life. The YOLO life is holding strong where we eat, drink, buy and play with no ceiling on our desire while we limit the very activity that makes those things possible. This is the balance of work/life; it is whether what we do gives us the resources to maintain what we want to do. Too much or too little of either creates a conflict where we want but don't have the resources or, we have the resources but no time to do what we want.

I haven't found that balance yet, I am resource poor at the moment so I am slowly building up my capabilities to do more of what I want in the future. Resource building always takes time, how much time depends on the type and quantity of resources and what one desires to do. If someone is happy sitting at home on a gaming console, it doesn't take much at all - if someone wants to live a life of Lamborghinis and tropical beaches, it will likely take longer.

I want neither life, I just want a good life. What does that even mean anymore? A life of comfort, a life of pleasure, a life of working at something one believes important. For me, it is the latter because it is a life that leads to satisfy my childish wants of empowering people. Though it is not to the extent I would prefer, I live this life now to a degree but the balance I need to find is the ability to expand my resources to expand my range to satisfy my wanted action.

What I tend to remind myself is, life is meaningless, except to the person living it.

Do I live? A question for another time.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I have also noticed the drop in engagement.
I also think people are moving into bitcoin.
The price does not help. I have not powered down and do not plane on doing it. All these ups an downs have no meaning to me.
Steem is bringing me through a hard time. Priceless

Steem is bringing me through a hard time. Priceless

I wonder how many people get this value of Steem?

The thing that makes steem great is its diversity. It is still a baby and will grow up. This is still the ground floor, the best time to get in.
A lot of people only see the blogging part. As they power up more things open up and are available to them. The hidden Gems of steemit.

You have delegated over half of the SP you own to @ocdb, which is fine in its own right but it does make you less capable of supporting those who engage you in your comment section by upvoting their comments or their blog posts. You're certainly not the only one who has delegated a sizable chunk of their SP to @ocdb. I have noticed a drop in the effective SP of some of my regular supporters, too. Luckily, I have found new ones.

@ocdb is a good project in the sense that it really does speed up the spread of SP to new people among whom there are not only regular creators of good content but people who are dedicated to growing their accounts, too, which makes the DPoS consensus mechanism more reliable. But as I wrote in a post of mine a while back, delegating to a distribution bot like @ocdb best serves Steem if it's done by large accounts (meaning those with > 100,000 SP) who do not have enough time to use up all of their SP while curating manually. @acidyo is exceptional in that he has been working like a dog curating manually for the past couple of years. But, in my opinion, the majority of Dolphins on the platform would best serve it by curating manually or at least authors they have hand picked themselves because with Dolphin level SP, one has time to use it all by curating manually.

I have also doubled the vote on comment percentage to compensate as I used to add 5% and now usually it is 10. I also stopped self-voting about a month ago so all of my vote power goes to others which means currently 14000 Steem due to the delegation and I have about 8000 delegated out to various people and a few projects.

I don't mind people chasing the money and I am not complaining about the support level on my own posts, I am fine with it as I have a fair idea why it is happening and expected it to arrive. It isn't my own delegation status as if they checked that, they would have seen the other aspects too. I have delegations going out to others that date back almost two years.

But, in my opinion, the majority of Dolphins on the platform would best serve it by curating manually or at least authors they have hand picked themselves because with Dolphin level SP, one has time to use it all by curating manually.

Not really as there will be no one to support them in return as they can only really support downward and downward don't necessarily vote upward as they also have their delegations out. When it comes to curating time, there are very few people on the platform who are going to read 20 posts a day for 50% votes.

I do appreciate the totality of your efforts during your whole time here.

Not really as there will be no one to support them in return as they can only really support downward and downward don't necessarily vote upward as they also have their delegations out. When it comes to curating time, there are very few people on the platform who are going to read 20 posts a day for 50% votes.

That's why I have a number of people whose content I find valuable on autovote. The majority of those people are peers but there are some higher ups as well. I find you and @taskmaster4450 among the most inspiring writers on Steem. The two of you have done a great service to the community with your broad perspectives. I also autovote the creators of Steem-Engine simply because of the massive value all of their efforts have brought to Steem. The current low price could be said to be fully deserved if it weren't for all of the fantastic work they're doing. I autovote mostly the same people whose content I'd upvote anyway but by autovoting I can maximize my curation rewards.

I haven't found too many under-rewarded newcomers lately, probably because there haven't been too many newcomers in the first place in this oppressive bear market.

I haven't found too many under-rewarded newcomers lately, probably because there haven't been too many newcomers in the first place in this oppressive bear market.

I think that might change soon, not just because of the bear market but the changes happening on Steem too.

I think that you will find the vote amounts are probably the same, but users are delegating more to apps. The vote value has dropped with the Steem price and how much has been delegated out. I noticed this a while back and it has to have a huge affect on the rewards.

And it will only continue, the end of the blogger without 'focused' content. That's cool though, it means more businesses and business opportunities have arrived.

Definitely more opportunities as long as you choose the right ones. I don't know if there is a right or a wrong way to do it, but I still think building your Steem should still be the main focus. I look around now at some accounts and they have nothing left as most of it is delegated. This is the growth period where you can earn more Steem by holding in your account and kind of doesn't make total sense. The bigger holding accounts I understand why they are doing this, but the smaller accounts like myself should be concentrating on Steem.

I assume they are delegated for a daily vote or payout in Steem/SBD.

The amount you keep as your voice v's what you delegate out has always been a good topic of conversation to me. If you lose your voice completely, why should others support you - ohhh, the good content, right :)

But as your account grows and others opt for this approach, I think it makes sense to dabble also - no point being the only guy with stake for his friends and this good content thingy, if no-one else has any to return the favour to you.

That makes perfect sense and one I will consider once I have reached 5000 SP. Nice guys don't win anything normally and this is a game which we sometimes forget.

Indeed. Get enough nice guys around you though..... :)

Perhaps the rule of thumb should be if you are unable or struggling to get a comment vote over the dust threshhold, consider not delegating if wanting a future in a community. Not a great rule of thumb but I see these accounts with 200 SP delegating everything away and then wondering why they don't get support on their posts.

At present that is something like 2000 SP and and 100% vote. I like that rule of thumb. Worth a post? :)

I think you can probably do better than this...

https://steemit.com/steem/@abh12345/wondering-why-your-account-isn-t-growing-get-you-influence-out-of-the-fucking-bots-and-talk-to-the-people-still-giving-a-fuck

I remember it well :D

Well, are arriving slowly - I hope at least. But until there is a dedicated app for blogging alone that people support as a blog, it is likely the way it is. This is inline with predictions I made about 2 years ago about this so it is no surprise.

Ahead of your time, although missed the sweet spot for joining here by a little :)

Yes, I do know this side of it but with it people also comment a little less than they did before. I actually see this as a mistake in the future for those who might want support later as they begin to disengage with people.

That is a big mistake and one I learnt when I was busy on Musing. This place is your bread and butter and everything else is a bonus. I have noticed the less comments as well and it could backfire on many who don't see this.

God bless you for your kind heart towards the weak and helping nature take care of its own.

Because So many possess great wealth materially but fail to give back the universe as the should.

They don't consider the needy in anyway but here you are working actively on you "circle of influence" trying to be part of the solution and not the problem.

I envy you sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

The problem requires more than people to help, it requires people to also help themselves. No amount of charity in the world will solve poverty.

Don't envy me. Life can suck a lot. :D

I pray and hope you are able to achieve your dream of empowering people sooner than you think it ll happen, because am sure it ll give such people more hope of the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

You still have my upvotes no matter what...

I wonder if the drop has something to do with absense of SOS Daily News. You write a lot about Steem and many of your posts had be included in this curation initiative where a lot of influencial people would notice them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps but I don't think so. I am not too concerned as I think this is the way it is going to go and has done in the past too. There are ebbs and flows in support, just as there are in the platform. It is also affected by the games that arrive as they take attention and when investment is required, people adjust for that too. There are many reasons. I kind of like how there are dynamics that are continually changing here as it sets new challenges to face and forces readjustments.

You still have my upvotes no matter what...

And thank you, It is always appreciated. I don't know if people really understand the appreciation or think it is lip service. I am not one to pay lip service to anyone :)

I owe you. You helped me get back to blogging again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, one day you are going to curse me for the very same ;D

I think everyone should blog/write as it unburdens the mind for other thinking.

100 percent true. I think we would have much less mentally unstable people in the world, violence and wars if everyone at least wrote a journal if not online blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

Really captivating story! With the recent rise in sentiment and price, I’ve been pondering what it means to live a good life as well

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is a tightrope walk in many ways where self-satisfaction and social consideration have to find an equilibrium. Well, some might think differently of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77