You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Supporting the meaningless

in #thoughts5 years ago

You have delegated over half of the SP you own to @ocdb, which is fine in its own right but it does make you less capable of supporting those who engage you in your comment section by upvoting their comments or their blog posts. You're certainly not the only one who has delegated a sizable chunk of their SP to @ocdb. I have noticed a drop in the effective SP of some of my regular supporters, too. Luckily, I have found new ones.

@ocdb is a good project in the sense that it really does speed up the spread of SP to new people among whom there are not only regular creators of good content but people who are dedicated to growing their accounts, too, which makes the DPoS consensus mechanism more reliable. But as I wrote in a post of mine a while back, delegating to a distribution bot like @ocdb best serves Steem if it's done by large accounts (meaning those with > 100,000 SP) who do not have enough time to use up all of their SP while curating manually. @acidyo is exceptional in that he has been working like a dog curating manually for the past couple of years. But, in my opinion, the majority of Dolphins on the platform would best serve it by curating manually or at least authors they have hand picked themselves because with Dolphin level SP, one has time to use it all by curating manually.

Sort:  

I have also doubled the vote on comment percentage to compensate as I used to add 5% and now usually it is 10. I also stopped self-voting about a month ago so all of my vote power goes to others which means currently 14000 Steem due to the delegation and I have about 8000 delegated out to various people and a few projects.

I don't mind people chasing the money and I am not complaining about the support level on my own posts, I am fine with it as I have a fair idea why it is happening and expected it to arrive. It isn't my own delegation status as if they checked that, they would have seen the other aspects too. I have delegations going out to others that date back almost two years.

But, in my opinion, the majority of Dolphins on the platform would best serve it by curating manually or at least authors they have hand picked themselves because with Dolphin level SP, one has time to use it all by curating manually.

Not really as there will be no one to support them in return as they can only really support downward and downward don't necessarily vote upward as they also have their delegations out. When it comes to curating time, there are very few people on the platform who are going to read 20 posts a day for 50% votes.

I do appreciate the totality of your efforts during your whole time here.

Not really as there will be no one to support them in return as they can only really support downward and downward don't necessarily vote upward as they also have their delegations out. When it comes to curating time, there are very few people on the platform who are going to read 20 posts a day for 50% votes.

That's why I have a number of people whose content I find valuable on autovote. The majority of those people are peers but there are some higher ups as well. I find you and @taskmaster4450 among the most inspiring writers on Steem. The two of you have done a great service to the community with your broad perspectives. I also autovote the creators of Steem-Engine simply because of the massive value all of their efforts have brought to Steem. The current low price could be said to be fully deserved if it weren't for all of the fantastic work they're doing. I autovote mostly the same people whose content I'd upvote anyway but by autovoting I can maximize my curation rewards.

I haven't found too many under-rewarded newcomers lately, probably because there haven't been too many newcomers in the first place in this oppressive bear market.

I haven't found too many under-rewarded newcomers lately, probably because there haven't been too many newcomers in the first place in this oppressive bear market.

I think that might change soon, not just because of the bear market but the changes happening on Steem too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83