You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the run

in #thoughts5 years ago

People like to throw around the old saying ”do what you love and you never work a day in your life”, which I always thought of as bullshit. You bring out a good point regarding that, it only works out if people are willing to pay for what ever that other person is offering. I am pretty lucky to get to do what I love, and make a living out of it, at least for now.

Sort:  

Eventually, in my experience... doing what you love for work ends up in an eventual dissonance to that "love". It can become a chore, or feel monotonous. Perhaps that was me working too hard at it, or maybe I didn't "love it" to begin with?

I can agree on that too. I already killed one passion by making it my job, cooking. Maybe I was never in love it, or maybe the job ruined it.

"Do what you love and you may never earn a dollar in your life" but it might be valuable to you. Some people do the most terrible things in the world so they can have a glimpse and taste of what they love. Most people in this world have the possibility but instead avoid the doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97