On the run

in #thoughts5 years ago

20181129_140553.jpg

The last few days have been hectic which is pretty okay for me overall as busy depends on experience. Once upon a time in a life barely remembered, I would never have predicted that I of all people would be doing this much work in a day. And the strangest piece of the puzzle is that I quite enjoy it.

Well, it isn't so strange of considering out from a flow experience perspective where challenge is just above skill level which makes us stretch and therefore, improve. The more we learn, the more we can do, the more we do, the more we van learn. And the cycle continues.

Doing what one loves doesn't necessarily pay the bills unless what one loves happens to be n area that attracts income. While some people find those who keep working when they don't need the money to be greedy, that is not necessarily the case as the financial gains is a product of the work.

Loving what one does shouldn't reduce the value of what is done in the eyes of a buyer but often does. While people are happy to pay for work performed, they don't necessarily want to pay for people to enjoy that work.

In some way it is the same as those who devote themselves to charity work. We would rather pay an actor 20 million to make a movie than a charity worker 1 million to do 19 million worth of work that no one else wants to do. The numbers don't matter but wouldn't it make more sense to reward behaviours we want more of, wouldn't it attract highly skilled workers?

We tend to pay those who look after people like nurses and teachers much less than those who look after things. A strange concept really. I don't see it changing anytime fast though as we tend to think that people should do what they love for the love of it alone.

I see that for those who work doing what they love in a field that attracts finacial gain as pretty lucky as the by product of their love work is money. It is looking of like the firewood that piles up if someone lives chopping wood with an axe.

Anyway, I am on the run so this post is some very random thoughts thrown together and I might add to it later.

Back to work :)

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

Interesting thoughts. I read when I was young that if you do what you love as a business you will be both rich and happy because you will be good at it and enjoy it. Unfortunately I think the majority of the time this is wrong. I think that even if you love what you do and you are good at it, you will be poor unless others value what you do. I think teachers are a good case in point. Many of them love what they do and they are very good, but they are struggling if they work in a country where their work is not valued. Right now we have an interesting phenomenon occurring that certified American teachers with 2 or more years of experience are immigrating to countries like Luxemborg where teachers make the highest teacher salaries in the world. Teachers are also taking 2-4 year contracts in the Middle East where the salaries are slightly lower then Europe but the employer pays all your federal income taxes. But computer software engineers, people who take care of things as you put it are some of the highest paid professionals in the USA. 🤔
@shortsegments

It is pretty interesting that the people we charge with teaching our kids the skills they might need for the future are underpaid. I think that when it comes to passion work however, regardless of pay it is going to be the most difficult and all consuming journey one will ever embark on because regardless of pain, the passion forces continuance. Do what you love is rarely what people have in mind when they say it.

People like to throw around the old saying ”do what you love and you never work a day in your life”, which I always thought of as bullshit. You bring out a good point regarding that, it only works out if people are willing to pay for what ever that other person is offering. I am pretty lucky to get to do what I love, and make a living out of it, at least for now.

Eventually, in my experience... doing what you love for work ends up in an eventual dissonance to that "love". It can become a chore, or feel monotonous. Perhaps that was me working too hard at it, or maybe I didn't "love it" to begin with?

I can agree on that too. I already killed one passion by making it my job, cooking. Maybe I was never in love it, or maybe the job ruined it.

"Do what you love and you may never earn a dollar in your life" but it might be valuable to you. Some people do the most terrible things in the world so they can have a glimpse and taste of what they love. Most people in this world have the possibility but instead avoid the doing.

I am fairly well balanced here as I have been lucky to do what I enjoy although I do it for the benefit of others and their shareholders rather than for myself. However, I have been able to do great for my family in the hope that my daughter will find something that she is passionate about and pursue it no matter the economics of it in hope I can provide for her to do so and have a clean start once ready for her calling. I will at least get to see her do so...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wouldn't it be great if passion-work never required a penny to be earned on it? This is the issue in the world, we work making useless things for money in the hope that one day, we can do what we want.

I'm currently in a dilemma where doing something I no longer love (software engineering) pays really quite well but what I really want to do something I love (photography). In this day and age, becoming a professional photographer is increasingly hard and I'm pretty scared about taking the leap.

I was once told that the perfect way to ruin something that you love is to make a job of it. That also concerns me greatly. I can see why that might be the case.

I was once told that the perfect way to ruin something that you love is to make a job of it.

I have friends who have both succeeded to keep and also ruined what they love by turning it into a career. I think the difference is the expectation of reward vs the possibility of reward. Much like here perhaps.

I used to review video games professionally. I love playing games. For a long time, I was unable to enjoy games. It definitely makes it a lot harder to enjoy games after being critical of their design for years on end.

I'm slowly rehabilitating.

Glad to hear that you're enjoying what you're doing! That's helpful in long-term success as you're less likely to get burned out. Hopefully they're paying you as if you are a movie star. ;)

Hopefully they're paying you as if you are a movie star. ;)

How much does a D-grade movie star make?

100% D grade dollars

$5. Not per hour, per movie.

I feel as though if my current job goes down the shitter, I'd enjoy going to work for a charity. It feels as though that experience, and the ethos of being efficient, non wasteful and hopefully; ethical (unlike a lot of capitalist adventures) would give me better sleep at night.

Hello @tarazkp, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.235 which ranks you at #231 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95