You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Last thoughts to close the weekend

in #thoughts5 years ago

Read and enjoyed. I will read this again tomorrow on the plane. Interesting.

I don’t completely understand this, but I sense value in it, so I will reread it.

I realised the other day, I don't make promises to my daughter, but I do make promises to myself about her. I promise myself that I will care for her and do what I think is right to provide her a life of valuable opportunity and by extension, this means providing opportunities for others too.

Now this is an interesting comparison, but when you look at fractional banking, simple versus compound interest and wage slavery due to permanent consumer interest prison...you start to realize who is really hurting the average family and this comparison becomes real.

Of course, you might be imagining the mean kid at school, or the sadist internet troll who takes pleasure in believing that they inflict pain on others, but there are more than that on this world, but they are all cut from the same cloth. They all want control over others. No different to a dictator, government or bank.

Another thoughtful post. A bit much for 11pm. But there’s always tomorrow.

✍️

Sort:  

I don’t completely understand this, but I sense value in it, so I will reread it.

It is hard to have individual positive opportunities in a community that doesn't have opportunities for many, so as I see it, for her to have the best opportunity for life, others need to have good opportunities as well. Hard to be healthy in a land rampant with disease.

To break cycles, demand needs to change away from supporting those who restrict to those who empower.

I get that. I agree 100%. In USA we had a president from a minority group who was accused by members of that group of not doing enough to help them specifically. I will never forget his reply:

I am not the President of (the minority group). I am the President of the entire country. I am working full time to increase the opportunities for all Americans, because by creating an atmosphere where everyone feels like they can get ahead. I want every American to feel like the government is looking out for the interests of everyone equally. Only then will we see a reduction in strife, reduction in oppression, favoritism and discontent which creates an atmosphere ripe for hate and violence. That’s the kind of country I want to leave to my children.

He was a politician and it was an answer in a public forum, so not everyone believed what he said, but as for me I thought it was one of the most significant things he ever said. I think this type of atmosphere is one of the most significant conditions the government can create and a side effect I think is reduction in tensions and the feelings of abandonment and favoritism which doesn’t favor you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08