You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bees knees and emotional pleas

in #thoughts5 years ago

I agree with your statement:

71A2EE77-DF6D-4814-8CFB-9B57000FB332.jpeg

I am a student of life. And it’s amazing how often people try to influence or change your behavior or attitudes towards persons, ideas or events with emotion triggering statements, which are meant to make you positive or negative towards something or someone before you even interact with them or hear the idea.

This is a flaw in human behavior we should all be aware of. Because it allows people to control you and exert undo influence on you.

I can remember countless times someone has disparaged someone I was about to meet and I went into the interaction already disliking the person. The interesting thing is they can disparage them very subtly by changing the adjectives used to describe the urgency or purpose of the persons visit. It’s amazing how people who introduce us to others and their ideas color our perceptions and opinions before we interact with people or ideas.

Here on the Steemit platform I see people I haven’t met introduced or described in disparaging ways. I can’t help but be suspicious of them after reading bad reviews. But I like the fact that if I look I can find opposite spectrum reviews and alternative views on both people and issues. I try to think for myself and try to remind myself I am reading one persons opinion, which may be valid, but it’s my job to validate it, not simply accept it as true.

As I said, I am a student of life, I am still learning.

@shortsegments

Sort:  

This is a flaw in human behavior we should all be aware of. Because it allows people to control you and exert undo influence on you.

I wonder what would happen if bias risks were well taught in schools. Would we be better equipped to see them or would we develop better ways to game the mind.

The interesting thing is they can disparage them very subtly by changing the adjectives used to describe the urgency or purpose of the persons visit.

There are a few people who do this here and try to place unsaid words into mouths and then solidify the swap through repetition and reiteration.

But I like the fact that if I look I can find opposite spectrum reviews and alternative views on both people and issues.

I imagine that one day the BC will be able to have a 'trust score' applied to information that is discovered through AI cross-referencing sources and history. The compulsive liars will be weeded out and exposed to the sun. The projet can go by codename: Pinocchio :)

LOL I like the Pinnochio idea. If only some of the very active flaggers would adopt that, then we would have an objective way to evaluate material on the first read...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75