Coffee and salt.

in #thoughts5 years ago

20190213_143151.jpg

I have been doing a fair bit of post-post editing lately as I have had to write a lot on my phone. I am terrible at it and on the small screen with a narrow text band, it is difficult for me to see the errors. Sorry. It is why I write "posted from phone" at the end.

I tried to use a speech to text app on my phone to test but I think I need some more practice with it or, I need to stop mumbling or something. I have a feeling that it would require even more editing.

I was talking to a few different groups of people about work schedules in the last 3 days and it seems that mine is unhealthy as I work too much. This might be true in some ways but doesn't it also what one does for work as afterall, it isn't like I am down in the salt mines 12 hours a day. On a side note, working in salt mines is meant to be good for your lungs.

As I see it, we tend to not consider the quality of the time we spend. For example, I am far more relaxed after an hour at the gym than an hour in front of a television watching some random show. I'd say that there are additional benefits to going to the gym on top of the relaxation also. Which reminds me, I should start going to the gym again.

Work for me fulfils many needs both financially (to some extent) and from a meaning and purpose perspective. I don't know what life meaning watching the TV delivers, no matter how much quality relaxation it provides. Perhaps that is just my take on it though and for some people, watching really does improve their quality of life. I wonder though if there are other activities that improve it more or whether it is an addict's justification.

I am a bit of a Steem addict I think for the same reason as work or going to the gym as it provides a more complex form of return that provides more value streams than a simple job done for money or, a craft done for love. It is a combination of factors that compound against each other. Again, perhaps just my perspective.

At the end of the day, we can actively influence what we experience by acting with intention but can't control for every factor. We can control our experience of our circumstances and treat them in ways that can bring out our best rather than our worst.

Some believe that some things are only negative but it is often just a difference of perspective or perhaps, an exclusion of time. For many, what they consider difficult or negative now - 5 years from now they might cherish these moments as the most valuable they have ever experienced and be grateful for the opportunities they provided.

Pain carries lessons with more life utility than pleasure. Maybe it is just me.

I finished my afternoon coffee so, time to go back into the salt mines and work.

Taraz
[ a steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

For me, what you do matters a whole lot. Someone once told me "what you do is who is are"

While that may not be entirely true, our work forms a huge part of our life's task, satisfaction and identity.

I want to get to that stage where my work becomes my leisure and the term work-life balance becomes alien

maybe what we do in the moment is who we are in the moment but, who we are in the next is a different person.

I want to get to that stage where my work becomes my leisure and the term work-life balance becomes alien

I was talking about this the other day, there is no such thing as separation between the two, work is a part of life that can never be teased apart, no matter how much someone sits on the couch. The work they do might be the struggle to lift themselves off the toilet seat.

I wonder why you compare gym with a random television show. Why not a great movie?
I seldom put the television set on, do not have tc since years only watch a movie if I feel to it.
Btw I write everything with my smartphone, there is no other way and together with a bad connection it is a day and night job for sure (mainly waiting).

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you watch a great movie 3 to 5 times a week? And then, the is still the additional factors of, does a great movie actually add quality of life past the length of the movie. For me, relaxation is an active process but as said, to each their own.

Writing on the phone takes away flow for me. And commenting is nearly always shorter with less depth.

No I watch once a week, sometimes twice. I am watching it actively. How it is written, played, etc. We (within the family) also discuss it (creative family of writing, drawing, painting).

Gym is not relaxing if you have to drive 20 miles, pay what you can not afford and have to stress to be able to get there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Gym is not relaxing if you have to drive 20 miles, pay what you can not afford and have to stress to be able to get there.

Then again, you can buy some cheap rubber bands and do it in your lounge room, really depends on the person.

I am a Steem addict as well. Intellectual stimulus and the treasure hunt of it toward the dream is intoxicating. Thanks @tarazkp

The treasure hunt toward the dream is aptly put.

Sometimes writing on phone can be a little bit fustrating with the screen size.

Screen size and rhythm.

I'm not sure about working in salt mines, but a bit of chicken salt on my chips goes a long way! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I'd like to work in salt mines, too. But my work, mostly, not the miner's work. Although I would do that for the experience. I value experience and there's no honest physical job I wouldn't like to experience for the knowledge of how it feels. I just care for my work more so I wouldn't change that for a long period of time.

I just care for my work more so I wouldn't change that for a long period of time.

Maybe this is the problem. People don't care about what they actually do and still call it work. A little more care might need to be taken for it to be considered valuable.

Well, I know there's all kinds of people and attitudes. I've even heard some people get bored. In general.

I've even heard some people get bored

Bored? But there is so much to do... How can they possibly get bored with all these interesting things ???? People are weird. :D

I have been feeling the same as my workload has increased and have not been able to find the right balance yet as I am ensuring not to sacrifice the important things like spending time with the family as I have already been there and done that, just feeling worst about the situation. I trust that these engaging experiences is what fuels us to adjust and reflect on why we do it all!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82