The secret life of water

in #thoughts5 years ago

Tonight I revisited taking some shots of water dropping into a glass and I think I will attempt it a few times more in the future. It is a low barrier of entry, but it does give an interesting result I can relate to. I like simplicity and, it doesn't get much simpler to than water.

I always have liked the idea of water, even though swimming scares me. I drowned on my eighth birthday and had to be resuscitated - my family never knew, and they were only a few metres away at the time. It was the day I learned to swim but obviously, I needed more practice.

I have almost died a couple times in my life and death doesn't scare me and even as a child, I would think about myself dying if it would save another. I think it was a protection mechanism as I realized young that being near the youngest in the family, it is likely I will see my family pass away before me and, that scared me back then.

It doesn't scare me now as I have come to terms with life being in an unbreakable relationship with death and no matter the care taken, all things come to an end. This has given me more clarity in life and taken much of the power the fear of death can hold. Not having fear doesn't mean one won't protect or be upset under circumstance, just that life delivers what it does and I deal with it as I do.

Life is both serious business as well as a game to be played for enjoyment and this is perhaps why fear is such a limiting factor. When we fear we can neither see the situation well, nor make clean decisions that best utilize personal resources for the situations faced. Fear these days for me (and likely many) is mostly of the psychological kind rather than the physical - we fear losing face, losing investments, losing opportunity, losing our identity.

Identity is a funny one as while I meet many people who believe they are unique, I am yet to meet one who actually lives in that way. All want to belong to some group or another, pair up similarities and repel those who are different in some way.

While we do spend a lot of time arguing about complexities, one thing is simple. We all die. Some see death as depressing but I see it as a driving force. As far as we know, we already know the end of the book, the last page - it is what we do on the pages before that is unknown.

As they say, "it is the journey, not the destination."

Simple.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I have come to terms with it a long time ago as well. Obviously you can't predict the future , but we all know the final result. Why be scared as there is absolutely nothing you can do to prevent it.

Why be scared as there is absolutely nothing you can do to prevent it.

I fear other's death more than my own but I also know that even then, it is up to me to process it well enough that I am not held back by their passing.

I think that is natural as it takes time to process. No one is ever ready for when something happens and we all have feelings. It wouldn't be normal to not feel something.

I think feelings are fine until those feelings start controlling decisions blindly, which is how most people use them.

Great imagery. Water is beautiful and mysterious, for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is so basic yet hold so much power over us.

The journey is what will determine our life after death. What have we learned? What take aways did we get? It almost sounds like we are specimens for a science experiment. Although we know it is not like that. Blessings @tarazkp

The jury is out on whether there is life after death at all and the only way to know is to die. When I drowned, there was no bright light, no flash of my life to that point but, I don't know how close I actually was. When I was resuscitated all I said was, "Don't tell my mum".

Thats pretty scary, I watched my mum die, i so much wished she only fainted and would come back. I dont like to think of death even though i live quite carefree...because at the end of the day its not how much you try to stay alive that keeps one from dying anyway.

I am glad I didn't see my mum die, she had cancer but I was on the other side of the world. Live free, death will take care of itself.

When I died I didn’t see a bright light. No family member greeting me or a welcome party. I sure it can be explained ether way.

Everyone understands that death is in the future. Its the when that is the problem.

I am hoping there is an afterlife because, I want to look back and see my game stats :)

Hahaha
I don’t think that anyone can see or look here from there .
That would be creepy.
But interesting question arises with no way to prove any of it.

Lol youre something else....

Certainly a reason to be grateful for whatever we have, good or bad, as waking up everyday is another day we have here with the ones that matter most. Driving force indeed as some are not ready...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Driving force indeed as some are not ready...

I wonder if anyone ever really feels ready, like they have done all they wanted/ needed to do.

As far as we know, we already know the end of the book, the last page - it is what we do on the pages before that is unknown.

I don't know why I like this gif so much. :)

Well, I think it must be due to that 70s flavor of success ....and the mustache!!

KIt could very well be that... or my taste in men :D

Yeah, trust me. I almost always catch and interpret the signals pretty well. ;p

You got a 34.91% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

Some say, the purpose of life is to die well...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66