This little alien

in #thoughts5 years ago

Two and a half years ago, this little alien came into the world to change lives forever. Of course, I don't call her a little alien, I call her bunnybear, cutieface, monkeyhead and a hundred other names that aren't officially hers. I only use her name when she is in trouble :)

It is quite silly to predict what she will end up doing in her life as an adult based on what she is good at or enjoys now because, there are so many variables and unknowns that will affect continually to push and pull the future this way and that. The only thing I can predict and consider accurate is that no matter what happens in life, until death I will do all I can to help her discover the best of herself - how she uses my effort is up to her of course and, I expect nothing in return.

As they say, charity starts at home.

Most people don't really think about that statement much but as I see it, it talks about the expectation of return in giving and if charitable giving, there can be no expectation past the hand over. If I give ten euros to a homeless drunk and say, "buy a meal", I cannot expect him to actually do that. Of course, being charitable doesn't mean one has to give indiscriminately to anyone in need because, everyone is in need of something.

It is up to each individual to choose how, when and to what extent that charity will extend and whether it is a charity in the moment with a return in the future (an investment in someone) or a giving without any expectation of repayment in any form whatsoever. There are many types of charity and it isn't just in the form of financial value.

Someone could be charitable with their time, perspective or information delivered. Someone could be charitable with their energy put into the development of something that benefits others, even if they too get a return. As I see it, there is always a return on the charitable transaction, even if it is a feeling of doing the right thing or, the reduction of the feeling of not doing the right thing. Yep, people can give to avoid the guilt of not giving too.

However, to give one has to hold something of value worth giving, something that the person in need can use to satisfy that need. A monetary act of charity to someone bleeding out from a stab wound on the floor is not very helpful. A lot of people say that people should give more but, are they themselves charitable with their own resources or, have they consumed them all and expect those who haven't to provide extra - to give one must have and those who consume all they get cannot be charitable with what they do not have. It doesn't matter if it is time, energy or money.

But again, being charitable is about the needs of the receiver which means being able to offer something suitable for those needs, a hungry person requires food and in the long-term, a way to get food without having to rely on the goodwill of others. This means that the hungry person has to find ways to provide for themselves, this is a personal investment process.

The goal for my little alien is that I am able to invest into her future so that she has options available to her with the main one being the skills and understanding required to be able to provide for herself without having to constantly rely on others for her provisions. This goes beyond money because her needs will go beyond money too.

There are seemingly a lot of depressed and lonely people in this world and part of the reason for this is that the learning and understanding taught hasn't covered the need for human intimacy, personal connection with others. The focus is often on the material needs, the things one is able to buy, not what can't be purchased. True friends can't be bought and for relationships to be strong, they need to be built, nurtured, maintained.

It seems, Ain't nobody got the time for that.

People are moving so fast through life with a constant stream of attention seeking behavior in and out that they don't realize that they they are actually walking alone until one day, they wake up and find themselves lonely. More retail therapy needed is the obvious solution, a little more distraction from the root problem.

What are the chances of children growing to have the skills to develop and appreciate fulfilling human relationships if for the most part, their is no demonstration of it? If you think that advertising affects young minds and society, take a look in the mirror and your own actions to see just what you are advertising. Are you a model of something to aspire to? Do you portray healthy body image, economic behavior or the way to develop strong relationships? Perhaps stop blaming the magazines that you buy.

When it comes to the influences on children, peers supposedly have more power than parents in later life, but I would suspect that the early stages with parents is where most of the skills about how they interact with peers is established. All the words in the world are meaningless if behavior doesn't demonstrate an example of at least an attempt to improve this world.

While imperfect in my approach, I hope my little alien will grow to live a good human life which means, not becoming alienated and understanding that she has a place and value in the ecosystem that affects the world that follows in her footsteps. @smallsteps as they may be.

While she will learn a lot from me, I am her follower for as long as I can keep up.

Sort:  

Being a parent makes one contemplative. (Or at least it should.) What do we want to share with our children? How can we best help them? How can we give them the best start? What if we screw it up?

I believe the best thing we can give is time. It demonstrates a key point you are making here, which is that people are important. They are worth time and energy, because that investment in relationship building pays dividends in mental and emotional health that can support us in all we do.

To another point, that investment in the people in our lives doesn’t have to come with strings attached. It’s the giving of friendship that pays off, not the expectation of getting something in return.

Being a parent is the most challenging thing I’ve ever done. I don’t think there’s any handbook in the world that can provide the lessons needed to do this right. It takes some magical combination of strength and humility that I am forever trying to master. To complicate matters, what they need from us changes dramatically over time. So even as we attempt to be the best parent to babies that become toddlers, then preschoolers, and so on, with different needs for their development at every stage.

But at the end of the day, my guiding light has been integrity. Showing up as a caring person of integrity — a person who cares for friends, seeks life balance, donates time to good causes, is willing to admit fault and apologize, etc. — I think has made it possible to ride the ups and downs. (The teen years have had some very choppy waters! Ha ha.)

Great post, @tarazkp. Good luck with your parenting! It is a wild ride.

It takes some magical combination of strength and humility that I am forever trying to master.

Maybe this is something that is a necessary part of our evolution as a species. Being better for our children so they can be better and over the space of generations, we become altogether different.

To complicate matters, what they need from us changes dramatically over time.

The ultimate need to adapt.

But at the end of the day, my guiding light has been integrity.

Sorely lacking in the digital era but, slowly on the return I believe. =)

Thanks you for your thought-filled comment.

Well this topic is near and dear to my heart. You know, I do think a lot of things are getting better. (And I am not talking about the political climate, of course.) But I think about the type of parenting my mother received and how that kind of messed up her emotional well-being, and then the type of parenting I received as a result... and then how I became determined not to pass down the legacy of guilt and manipulation.... (Looks heavenward Sorry Momma, I know you did your best!) We can chose. It isn’t easy to do things differently than what we know, but it’s possible.

Thank you for the ENGAGE points! I had never heard of that before.

Posted using Partiko iOS

and then how I became determined not to pass down the legacy of guilt and manipulation....

Yep, parents do their best but of course, it is up to children to better their parent's results. I learned I don't want to raise my daughter as I was raised but, I am not going to throw the baby out with the bathwater either.

The Engage tokens can be checked through https://steem-engine.com/ - they are @abh12345's baby :)

!ENGAGE 50

Here are your ENGAGE tokens!

To view or trade ENGAGE go to steem-engine.com.

Beautiful little "alien" you have there!

I think so :)

Hahaha, this is how I am with my youngest daughter, she is my princess, my birdie, my little chick, my little monkey, I tell her many nicknames, hahaha.
The important thing is that they copy all our patron. My girls spend most of the time with me and the way they express themselves and even walk and move is very similar to me. they say expressions that I usually say without realizing it, and it's very funny, because they are small and sometimes they say for example: oh my God, holy! An expression that in children is not common here. Therefore our actions are the pattern to follow for them, that is why our actions should be the best in front of our children. Actions do more than the words.

They follow our moves until they are independent enough to make their own choices but, the patterns continue on. It is why we should move ourselves with intention.

I think this challenge gets tougher each day as society evolves just as fast as the information surrounding it and sometimes god intentions result in misunderstandings and even worst. I struggle with showing mine the way as I cannot fathom to think what is best in the future only my mistakes (and succeses) from the past which may mean absolutely nothing in the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are aspects of humanity that might always be important for what would be considered, a good life lived. As @Jayna mentioned, integrity is chief among them.

Charity begins at home because teaching you children to be self sufficient is the best gift.

I agree and while I wasn't taught it, I was left to my own devices to discover it along the way.

Our generation was more like observation learning as prior was more hands on. Things were supposed to be so much better for us with flying cars, appliances and so forth. It was a hard lesson when I learned Judy was a cartoon and not real. (Sigh ). The whole Jetson thing.

The loss of electricity is a greater threat then climate change is to survival in the advanced countries.
Teaching our children to adapt is an important lesson. It is easier to learn a skill than to overcome self defeat.

If she grows older and browses through your blogs... This one should be highlighter as 'special'. Not just because I think otherwise she'll just spend a lifetime reading all your posts and not do anything else, but also because this contains so many valuable words from you to her. That kind of support from a father is amazing to have, and it's never a given. That picture is worth gold too buy the way.

I wonder how long it would all take to read - at least less than it took to write. I am lucky to have an amzing daughter and I am looking forward to all the discussions we will come to have.

The greatest thing a parent can do is to invest in the life and future of their children. With that, she will forever be grayeful to the parent

A parent should invest into a child without giving a fuck whether the child is grateful or not - that is not their responsibility, that is up to the child.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11