Today I did a weird thing... the next camp saga and a visit to Vermont

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

So... my wife went to camp and picked Baby1 up early and brought her home. I drove up to Vermont and plan to stay here until the 19th when her time was supposed to end. This is admittedly a weird move, but I don't agree with bringing her home. I can't force my wife to change her mind/path nor can I have the camp accept her back this session now that she's left. However, I can peacefully withdraw my consent for the plan my wife put in motion. In this case I left letters for my wife, Baby1, and Baby2.

As my wife was picking her up I shared I don't consent. I shared I think it's best she stay. I shared that I'm not on board with the current plan. I told her simply bringing her back would indicate a failure and I didn't think that it was healthy.

I told my wife I don't consent and that her choices made me feel like a prop rather than a father. She worked out the plan with the camp director when I wasn't on the phone or part of the conversation. This choice compounded long term difficulties she and I have had in the past. We have a large imbalance in our marriage of I tend to control money and she tends to control access and stewardship of children. It isn't quite healthy but the imbalance in those spots seems well balanced against eachother. I don't want to lose access to my children. She doesn't want to lose access to funding for the house, schools, and children. Somewhere in there is compromise even if awkward.

Marriages assemble baggage. I think we have more than our fair share. She really is an incredible woman, but this time I think she lost her resolve to see this through because Baby1 was struggling. Struggling is part of the camp process, and struggling over homesickness can be overcome if we give her time. We were getting letters of I love it here, but I wish you were here." That's pretty different than "I hate it here I have to go home." When we visited she couldn't walk through much of camp without receiving hugs from other campers. It was and is a safe and wonderful place. The struggle for Baby1 was "it's hard" not that "it's unsafe." So... I don't agree.

I think this teaches all the wrong lessons. If you cry your parents will swoop in and take care of you. She's pretty flippant about "well, I'll just try again next year." She seems to forget that I'm working my fucking ass off every single day to provide these things that she's now taking for granted. That's not cool either. I think it also shows that we don't have faith in her to complete what she started or it's ok to just quit when things get hard. There's basically no part of this that I'm ok with.

My wife and I have used strategies of attachment parenting to raise our kids. The results have been pretty astounding. My kids are bright, strong, healthy, fun, and caring. However, the challenge has been that I think it has sheltered them a little more than I intended and has made it too hard for Baby1 to stand on her own two feet without us. That's no bueno. So, I told my wife I don't consent to being a prop or to Baby1 coming home. I chose a tactical withdrawl.

So, that leaves Baby1. I started by telling her that I love her and always will love her. Then I told her that I don't support the decision that she made. I said I wasn't in a spot where I could share kind and supportive words about her choice. Then I said just because I don't support this decision doesn't mean I don't support her. I basically served my kid a shit sandwich. I haven't heard back from my wife how Baby1 is dealing with this part of the grand plan, but no news may in fact be good news. I don't know... there's no one more supportive or better built for this support role than my wife. I'm trusting that duo can make it through this hard part.

Last up is Baby2. She's got nothing to do with this other than having been whipped up and down the east coast a bunch of times. She's been a trooper about it. I know she's liked being the only child in the house for a while. I really feel like this robs her of that experience. I don't think much of this is fair to her, but here's hoping that this experience can be a good precurser to when she goes to camp 2 years from now. She'll have to have some separation with her rock of her father too. Maybe this will be healthy for them by then.

Philosophy

One thing that gives me strength and comfort every day are two quick things. I believe the universe is perfect in that it's a giant system designed to help our spirits grow. We attract exactly what we need. I think when my daughter chose us as parents and crossed the rainbow bridge to be with us she was going to get who were are for better or worse. This is what I think is best for my daughter and family. That may be through wifely and child protests. IDK. We'll see. Maybe this won't be a big deal. Maybe this is worse. For now I'm pretty sure it's what's best and I trust that the universe is providing us all with the perfect experience we all need to grow.

Next up there's a video that I use in nearly every hardship. It's the story of good or bad. The point is that there is neither good nor bad experiences. Only experiences and we can't know what's good or bad. This is what I chose because I think it's best. That's neither good nor bad. There will be easy parts and hard parts to this, but what comes of this is unknown but perfect in it's own way.

I'm a life sailor. I set a destination in the horizon and follow the winds as best as I can. I trust the universe to get me to the right place. In this case I've set myself on a tough but healing and loving experience that's good for all of our developments. Let's see if my family can steer there.

Namaste from Vermont,

Aggroed

Sort:  

Hello there @aggroed <333 Bright Blessings from Western Maine :)

Thank you for inviting us into your world and sharing so openly. I am in awe of your awesomeness...legit. Reading this was as therapeutic to me as getting a back massage. I used to suffer from the worst homesickness and wouldn't wish it on anyone..so I was brought to places within myself as I was reading that clearly still needed some healing. I love my parents with all my heart but I can say that I truly think I would be a more evolved being if my parents had the ability to take your approach (or similar) to things. Much respect!! Your wife & children are truly Blessed. Namaste

Ok, that's really helpful. I'm pretty moved. Thank you. Namaste.

Right on. Namaste.

I think parenting is the hardest job in the world especially when the kids are in their teenage years, which is what I'm going through.
I totally agree with you and with your decision, but as a mom, I know how your wife feels because that would probably be me too, even though I know it is not right.

@aggroed, This post made me feel absolutely like the story.Good post

una escena de la novela de la vida.

That's a tough one. I hope it all works out... maybe you will get homesick too.

I think that's incredible that you think so much about your parenting decisions and have the courage to stick them out. I admire that, even tho it might cause issues with the wife.

I also think that kids dont choose their parents, but they do get the lesson of having to deal with whatever baggage comes from having them.

My parents didn't think about parenting much. My mom said she followed Dr Spocks method, which she translated as "let the kid do whatever they want". And that let her off the hook of trying to be a parent.

Trying to self parent as an adult because you never had it as a kid sucks.

Say hello to Vermont for me.

Marriage is a day to day grind, no question.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I never liked camp :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97