Swimming with Algae!!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In New Zealand when the snow and ice melts in summer, it causes algae to leave the mountain tops too and float downstream.

 

Kaupokonui Beach:

It was a fantastic day to go to the beach. So putting on our swimming costumes and packing the car we headed for Kaupokonui beach. The beach can be seen on the map, below Mt Taranaki, on the south-west coast of New Zealand’s north island. 

 

We had been there before a few times already. So I’m going to use photos we took about three weeks earlier. 

 

But this time we came, it was in warmer weather. Crossing the pedestrian bridge we walked towards the sea with the river on our left.  

 

The collage shows different views of the bridge (from previously taken, photos, when I had walked up stream

Our artless floundering:

If you are comparing photos, the water of the river wasn’t flowing so strongly or very deep this day we swam in it. But just deep enough to wade and wallow in. And that is what we women did. The water was moderately warm and irresistible to splash about in. 

I took in the fact this was an unusual way of swimming and that this was on a most unconventional type of beach. Very dramatic place with glittering black-grey beach sand and smooth oval pebbles… and that made me chuckled quietly to myself.  

We messed around there for some time, while the men went off on a little walk of their own. Here are some photos our son took of the hills on the other side of the river. Personally I never got a change to walk up there myself. 

Drifting algae:

After a while I noticed little bits of algae floating down stream towards us. Not lots, just a little here and there. I was told that generally occurs in summer when the mountain snow and ice melts.  

And the public is warned not to swim in the rivers under those conditions. So we got out of the water, collected our towels, etc and headed home again. But I must say our little bathing frolic was great fun! 

A few days later:

Off to the beach again. This time to Ohawe beach, which is eastward along the coast from Kaupokonui beach. We had been there quite a few times before.

 

Walking onto the beach I sat down on a long dry log. Looking around me, I soaked in the warm of the day and the serene beauty of the sea. Then, I noticed that our daughter-in-law had entered a biggish puddle, dammed up on the seashore, and was splashing happily about in it. 

Shame, I lost out on a great frolic!

The puddles on the beach weren’t filled with water from the river, but with seawater. So there were no algae in the water. 

As I watched her, with envy I felt somehow I had lost out, by not wearing my own costume, because she was having such a great time messing about in that glorious puddle! 

I guess you win some, and you lose some, hey!  

It’s so much fun doing silly things, like wallowing in rivers and puddles, somewhat like a bunch of kids would do. Wish I could go back to New Zealand and splash and wallow about… in every puddle you can imagine! 

Next week’s blog:

…Nowells Lake adventure.  Plus an oil painting.

Sort:  

It was a beautiful and very interesting adventure.

I think, your ability about photography is unquestionable.

It was as if I was enjoying myself in nature.

Looks like you really enjoy this adventure with your family. Running, smiling, laughing, swimming like a beautiful childhood. That's obviously very fun.

To be honest, I feel your peace and joy there.

Have fun and enjoy your next adventure.

Do not forget to take lots of photos to share with us.

We are very happy to see it.

Regards!

We have a wonderful family. When they were small we took them to the beach, to picnic spots or to the mountains, etc. Now that they are all grown up and have families of their own they do those things too.
So over the years we have been to many places and have many photos and stories to share now.
When I'm finished with writing about our New Zealand trip, I'm thinking of writing about our few days trip through South Africa's Kruger National Park.

Wow! what a wonderful view of the beach From Drone camera. Don't you kiddin me, The cold water flow into the beach and you swim in it? I'm just imagining myself in this cold water. wooooh, pictures from your last visit are very beautiful, yeah though the water was not so high, but it still enough for girs to swim and enjoy the best they can. Have a wonderful visit miss.

Because the water was shallow and the sun shining down on it, it wasn't so cold!
And I don't have a drone camera... wish I did through... wouldn't that be great, hey!

Exactly!

Many adults take themselves so serious. "I don't do this, I don't do that, because I am an adult"

This mindset is showing how much people give to external opinion. Quite tremendous how many mental quirks we assume because of that. Finally our self-imposed restrictions become so much autopilot in our mind and demeanour that we forget where certain patterns stem from.

Beautiful that you enjoyed splashing and wallowing! :)

You are so right. We forget to have fun like children.
I'll tell you a secret: When our first three children were small (had five children altogether)... I used to slide down the slides at the beach children's swimming pool with them... to the horror of the other adults (very few in the evenings) looking on! We had such fun, I bet the other adults wished they had to courage to break the spoil-sport' mold ofno-no-can-do' for adults!

Wow! Very beautiful and very fun to enjoy the amazing natural charm. In addition, you take a photo with an incredible ability. I have never seen the beauty of Zealand before, but I am grateful you have introduced it very beautifully. Have wonderful day @artguru! Greetings from a distant land. 🙏

Thanks... and greetings from South Africa where I live.

It looks like you had a great time with your friends, A friends are who we can enjoy every time, what ever is the situation, how hard is the life, if you have good friend, you can fight with this hard time! Glad to know you have some good friend, who are with you and contributing in your life to collect some memorable memories for future life.

Yes, isn't it great to children that are your friends. To share, do great and interesting things with them.

As before, you provide excellent material for your trip. I am fascinated by the beauty of the beach of Kaupokonui. There is something special about it, what makes this place truly incredible and at the same time mysterious. I admire your ability to appreciate moments and enjoy the surrounding nature. I used to be in a hurry and did not enjoy the surroundings. However, at the moment I also like to be in harmony with the surrounding world and "catch the moment". Sometimes we all need to relax and do some nonsense (without going abroad). Thank you for the excellent report!

Loved what you said. Yes, to write about something, you have to have been entranced emotionally to remember what happened. So that means we have take time to soak in our surroundings and how we felt at the time.

Whoa incredible scenery. The kuopohui beach in New Zealand is just breath taking. Water filled with slithery algae. It's just awesome swimming along it. Lovely views and your story is good. Yeah it's pretty true you gain some and lose and it's nothing to regret about because that's what life is all about. Good luck for the next weeks blog. Thanks for the post.

What an amazing place i must come for a visit

i am always appreciating your post.because your every post perfect and original and i supporting your every work.wow,really very fantastic view of Kaupokonui Beach.new zealand is a wonderfull country in the world.your every travelling place looks very impressive.every pics you cature very talentfully.its really your high photo pic up skills.every week you selecting a amazing place of travelling.you are a very lucky person.because you doing travel best attractive city of new zealand.this river,sea beach,blue sky and green nature very beautifull of your photography.this tropic you anytime introduce very perfectly..i hope that,you enjoy your great day with wonderfull nature environment. .i have a good day.thanks to sharing for your nice post of travelling.very well done.i want you support my work.your support very needs for me.because i think that,if you support my work everydsy fully i am of course success in the future very soon.take care yourself and best of luck of your work.personally i thought you are my best friend in this platform.so,you doing alltime support my work and gives alots encourage my steemit work..may god bless you and your husband..my best wishes for you..thank you..my dear friend..@artguru

Even though I live in South Africa, I have always enjoyed Nature.

Beautiful pictures and gorgeous view.
I love the sceneries .
The sceneries with the seas always capture my eyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86