Parvati Valley : Legendary India, Tokenisation and my Shipwreck experience

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

horsesParvati.jpg
In summer, Parvati's upper meadows are a lush gardens of wild flowers. Saw these horses on my trek to Spiti in'07


Parvati (Sanskrit: पार्वती, IAST: Pārvatī) from whom the valley takes its name is the Hindu goddess of fertility, love and devotion; as well as of divine strength and power. Daughter of Himavan the mountain king and wife of Shiva, she is the gentle and nurturing aspect of the Hindu goddess Shakti.


A week ago I reached the upper Parvati valley just under 3000m up in the Himalayas. Here in the little village of Pulga pine smoke drifts up into the air from houses made of stone with large wooden verandahs on all sides. The narrow paths between the houses are cluttered with goats, cows, wood piles and haystacks. A caravan of mules heavily loaded with construction materials, tinkers up the mountain path into the village. A old woman with a leathery wrinkled face a mystical eyes returns from the forest with a large bundle of broken pine branches on her back. Here at least, unlike across most of the subcontinent and indeed Southeast Asia, the air is clean. Not as clean as as it used to be, but still quite clean.


pulgaHouseWheat.JPG
A fairly typical house in Pulga, surrounded by wheat, apple orchards and other crops

The region is famous for its hashish. Some come here just to to sit and smoke in cafes, drink Chai and debate which is the tastiest puff in the valley. Higher up in the valley in villages like Pulga there are many other types of travellers, those that come to experience the beautiful mountain environment and its unique Himalayan culture.

It’s still a 30 minute hike up to Pulga from the road. Since I was first here 11 years ago the road has got a little closer, and even without one there’s been a lot of development. The village has changed physically and socially, but it’s still a very beautiful and homey place. I really hope it can stay this way.

womancows.jpg
An old woman in traditional dress hurding her cows through the village - pic '07 trip

After our long journey across North India, we’ve landed the Astralship here. This is our first flash-mob innovation workshop. At this altitude there’s almost no noise or distractions, so we’re getting into some deep flow and working on our VR language learning game. I’m also devoting some of my time to working out how to tokenise projects, and seeing if we can seed a community entity to facilitate sustainable development in the village.

astralteam.jpg
2 of the Astral Crew. Dave does 3D modelling and game design for VR language learning app and Aglae is a project coordinator

Tokenisation is a tough one. Setting up a new economic entity is like designing a board game. The balance has to be right, so that all the players are engaged and incentivised to work together. It can be easier when everyone is a volunteer and tokens are taken off the table. I had a go at this with a traditional shares-based company once, but it didn’t work out and a great project ended up a mess. Since then, blockchain technology has created a whole new world of tokenization options.

{Thunderclap: people to sign up and their fb and twitter accounts automatically repost your content at a specific time in the future creating a lot of visibility on social media.}

We prepared a Thunderclap social media push to launch the Astralship ICO on 8/8/17. We looked at projects like Primal Base, and sketched out a white paper. We were decentralising innovation and co-living. Back then it felt that with a web page and a smart contract you could raise a lot of money very quickly for a good idea, whether or not you could actually realise it. Maybe we could have, the market was ready to buy anything that moved and so for a time we considered rushing forward with an ICO to catch the wave.

Sailing Astralship is very dynamic, as summer approached I decided to abandon the ICO attempt knowing that a weather window of opportunity was probably closing. It was a little painful to see the thunderclap momentum diverted into a face-saving but fairly arbitrary social media post that gave us a short spike in web traffic but otherwise had no tangible impact. Holding our course would have meant pulling a fast one. I can’t really say I had a particular ethical issue with this; Crypto was looking for teams that wanted to build the new world and Astralship was wholeheartedly in and ready for anything.

My reason for not sailing for that new world with the initial ICO surge on a hastily built raft strapped together with hopes, dreams and good intentions, was that I realised the project and team weren’t yet ready and perhaps my appetite for risk is a little diminished. I've learnt my lesson about going too fast. I was shipwrecked once already.

codingOntheRoad.JPGCoding on the road. Dan cranking out the AngularJS for an update urgently needed back in the UK. '16

Last time I was in India was two years ago, in late 2015 I arrived here in Parvati with two young developers. Dan, a web wizard on his first trip to a developing country, and Rishabh an Indian A.I. guy who but had been visiting us in the UK. We spent Diwali with Rishabh’s family in Rajasthan and then made our way up to Parvati just as the nights were starting to turn frosty. Pulga had changed from when I first saw it 9 years earlier but still I felt an intense sense of homecoming as we walk into the sleepy village at dusk. Admittedly, I grew up on a small holding in rural Wales and perhaps there are some surprising parallels between life on a hippy farm in the 80’s and today. Whatever, this place really was a home for me back in 2007. It was a shelter, a solace, a protection from the chaos of the modern world and its apparently broken but expanding systems of growth.

babaBoom.jpg
A Baba makes a Boom. Blessing his hashish pipe called a Chillum before he lights it.

That ‘07 trip was at a boundary point in my life. I’d just turned 30. Having spent my 20s mostly travelling or studying abroad I went back from the trip to start an MSc in Computer Science. A practical path, but one I may have taken simply because I couldn’t find another. It lead to me starting a PhD, buying a Chapel, getting a job in the University and starting an IT venture. When I left India that time I had a deep feeling it was time for me to find a base. It may have taken longer than I was expecting but that volition has certainly been fulfilled. The Chapel in Snowdonia is certainly a base. After a long winter there though, it's great to be home in Pulga again.

Now, as April is passing into May 2018, there is sometimes rain in the evening and occasionally colder weather that brings the snowline lower on the mountainside for a day or two. At night it can feel cold, but it’s a long way from frost. We are escaping the melting heat of the north Indian planes here, but on warm days like today the snows are evaporating en masse creating new clouds in the blue sky that spawn directly from the mountain peaks like smoke from volcanoes. This year the season is about a month earlier than normal and I hear there was almost no snow last winter, something our host Dev Raj cannot remember having happened before in all his 40 something years. I was expecting the place to be almost deserted in April, but by now it feel much like the high season of 11 years ago.

trashBurn.jpg
Trash ready to burn. Sadly there's nowhere else for it to go.

I catch the scent of burning plastic on the breeze coming through the window. This happens more frequently than it did 2 years ago and I don’t remember ever smelling it on my first visit. In those days there was less trash and the “burn-it strategy” had yet to be widely adopted. When I did see plastic burning it felt like a terrible crime against the pristine cleanliness of the Himalayas meadows. It still offends me when the sickly scent reaches my nostrils through the guest house window, ‘why do I have to be poisoned even here?’. But I’m aware that down below I wouldn’t even notice this relatively tiny amount of air pollution.

Some days, like today, I also feel like there is the slightest hint of brown in the air when I look a the bright snow caps. It must work its way up from the plains below where 1.5 Billion Indians are engaged in trying to advance their own personal development with little concern for the bigger environmental picture. 3 hours down the valley and the haze is less disputable, another 7 from there descending to the plains is a steady progression to where sometimes the visibility is barely 100m through the smog.

Last time I found these subjective environmental indicators of our planet dying were personally quite discouraging. This time though I was well emotionally prepared for how the situation would worsen, and so was pleasantly surprised to find a number of positive signs that show a rising awareness of environmental issues in India. When I first came, there were very few Indian travellers, but today foreigners are the ones becoming rare and tourism is set to balloon much more as a millennial generation of middle class Indians now have the means to escape the pollution and work grind of corporate life. I live in hope that development here can take a strong environmentally aware direction before the air and ground become all too similar to the one most of the tourist are trying to escape.

Last time I was in India, I'd just set up an exciting Healthtech spin-out to take forward an app for hospitals I’d been developing with the local health board. I was handing over the daily running to other and arrived buoyant and excited about setting up an entity in India, but soon cracks in the collaboration were showing and things didn’t work out as I’d hoped. In the end, I had to let it all go and carefully re-examine my core beliefs before I found the strength to rebuild and come here again, this time with Astralship.

In my next post I’ll talk more about these challenges, the recent development in that story, how the experience has shaped me and how the new adventure is taking shape.



Sort:  

Congratulations @astralliam your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.30USD as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Many thanks!

Boom! Nice to meet you, i live in India for 15 years now but other side (South)

hey. Nice to meet you too! Are you in Goa? I saw you open-mic video, made me smile. You should get some sounds guys/video guys and record it for the next comp!

Goa since 6 months, we have a house in Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu. Total paradise but both my children +10yr now, they wanted to come down the mountaintop, have a real teenager experience, Goa might do the job :-)

Ha, this video, that was a competition for a collaboration song but the organiser left Steemit. Total joke to record this with a phone from 3m distance... One of this boys lives close to where you are now, check for an Italian who makes cheese.
I liked your story btw, i even lived for a few months in the wooden house on the picture. A bit long to read it full, split this into 2-3 posts, everybody happy.

Cheers man, enjoy enjoy!

That's funny you lived in the house! One of your boys lives in Wales?

I understand about the post being too long. I rarely read long posts as I rarely have time. This was already split up and thats the first part. I'll try to make them shorter but it's not easy. Also, there are so many posts on steemit that seem to be there just there to milk some votes from people that don't read them and don't really say anything. Bots could write most of these.

Awesome man! Especially photography. Glad you known Indian culture ,traditions , festivals and living conditions very well.

Thanks KP. I've been visiting India for quite a long time. Where are you based?

Have you heard of Warangal from Telangana state.?Completed Graduation from NIT Rourkela 10 days back in mechanical engineering. Going to work for JSW group from June 15th in Mumbai.

I think I have heard of Warangal, but I can't remember why. Mumbai is an interesting place. Not sure I love everything but it's definitely a unique place, I wouldn't mind hanging out there a bit more sometime.

Hi @astralliam, just been reading one of your older posts about the chapel in Snowdonia. I'm down in west Wales.

The chapel and the AstralShip project look extremely interesting.

I host a radio show every Friday on MSP Waves called The Alternative Lifestyle Show. The show covers homesteading, prepping, homeschooling, tiny houses, renewable energy etc.

I am not sure of your current connectivity situation but I wondered if you would like to come on the show as a guest sometime?

If you check my profile you will see links to recordings of previous shows if you would like to listen to one.

Hi @pennsif . That sounds great I'd love to be on your show. Waiting for fibre to arrive at the ship but meanwhile we have reasonable adsl.

That will be good. I will message you on Discord.


Host of the My Life in 8 Songs and The Alternative Lifestyle Show radio shows on MSP Waves.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steemit Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.

really that nice original work sir you should join us on discord channel to promote your post to receive huge upvote @brotherhood is the new bid-bot whale with 12000 sp you can send min 0.15 to 0.4 sbd and receive your up vote. discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk

Resteemed to over 18600 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

I'm still waiting to get resteemed after transfer was made...

@whornung

Why does it take some time?
@resteem.bot is using a algorithm that is based on:

your location
language
time
tags
Of course we can just use information that are available.
So we can place your content optimal. We have a limit resteems/hour. But no worry, all work will be done.
We really want our followers to enjoy your content and not suffocate in spam.

https://steemit.com/resteem/@resteem.bot/4neva7-steemit-resteem-bot-faq

@resteem.bot

@astralliam, you made very great job on this post! I like it! I have just seen this by luck through resteem bot.

I am waiting to see your next post! Just follow me , together we steemit. You have my surpport!

@bornprince, thanks brother! I'm writing this stuff to reach out to people who resonate with it like you. Resteem bot actually turned out to be worth while! Together we steemit!

Have you heard of tribesteemup ?? Im sure this is something the tribe would love. A really engaging and well presented read.

not till now, but thanks @riverflows. Checking it out now.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @gamsam to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by astralliam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61