A journey from the Andes mountains to the Amazon jungle – Puerto Maldonado, Peru

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Kipu Life Trip Day 07 -

After a wonderful day at the sacred site of Machu Picchu we took an overnight but to the lovely city of Puerto Maldonado in the Peruvian Amazon.

01.jpg

03.jpg

After meeting our guides and preparing for the journey into the deep Amazon we embarked on our boat!

02.jpg

04.jpg

We had to take a 1.5 hour motor boat ride, then hike for 2 hours, and then paddle for a little over an hour until we finally reached a wonderful little lodge nestled in the deep amazon.

05.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

There were no modern luxuries here but when you’re in the Amazon you really don’t need them. Nature provided us the bounty we required. After settling in we left on a few afternoon adventures. At one point it got so dark I thought we had lost our way back to the lodge. Our amazing guide Freddy did not let us down and before long we were back at the lodge in time for a late-night dinner.

09.jpg

10.jpg

17.jpg

The lodge runs on 3 hours of electricity every day. So, after the lights went out at 9pm I took advantage of the peace and serenity of the Amazon to drift off into a lovely sleep with the sounds of the jungle bustling all around me.

18.jpg

Sort:  

The continuing saga of your trip sounds great! The pictures are spectacular!!! I look forward to hearing more about your trip.

And that you shall! Have a good one sir.

Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed travelling near Cusco when I was there.
I did a rain forest tour similar to yours in Guyana. They had limited electricity from Solar, and brown water in the toilets, from the river water. Satellite internet speed was pathetic - worse than dial up, about 1.5 mbps

Very cool! I work with a lot of guys from Guyana. I would really love to visit there one day.

I was lucky to have a friend there, who guided me around Georgetown area. I tend to be a "happy wanderer" but can sometimes go places where I probably shouldn't.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bennettreiss
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-journey-from-the-andes-mountains-to-the-amazon-jungle-puerto-maldonado-peru


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

What is the animal in the water on the second picture from the end? Is it hippo?? :)

River otters. Thanks for noticing! Perhaps I should have mentioned that in the post.

:)) maybe only me cannot recognize them ;)

Welcome to Perú! @bennettreiss My Country is beautiful. Enjoy!

https://steemit.com/@jonathanstrange3/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54