You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traveling to Southeast Asia: Bagan, plain of the thousand temples

in #travel7 years ago

Hi, really good post. I also find it quite racist when foreigners have to pay different price for sightseeing... I wasn't sure if anyone else feels it that way, but I see there are other people with the same opinion. Thanks for sharing and keep up the good work :)

Sort:  

Thank you very much :)
I have to say, I kind of understand, when countries like Myanmar where the majority of the population does not have a lot of money try to benefit from the tourism. I actually wouldnt mind if I had to pay a little bit more to help restore and keep the historical sights, but they just take the money and the sights are hardly cared for... So thats my biggest concern.

I agree on that. I also understand when there is a temple which for some people is a place to pray - probably they shouldn't pay at all and the tourist which come to see them as an architectural sight should. I just don't understand when some country decide - ok we have a waterfall, we haven't done anything for it but we will put a price on it just because it is on our territory :). Also I don't like the perception that coming from some part of the world you should have money... That's wrong perception. What person has or doesn't its his-her own business and nobody else has the right to judge by that. This is the racist part that is bothering me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73