Traveling to Southeast Asia: Bagan, plain of the thousand temples

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The crazy nightbus

After having a much needed shower, and washing our shoes for about half an hour (they were covered with mud), we got our backpacks and made plans for the next days. It turned out that my sister and I had the same plans as the swiss couple Thibault and Noemi. We all wanted to go to Bagan, the most famous sight of Myanmar. It is a huge plain in the middle of the country, covered with over 3000 (no I didn't get the number wrong it's really that much) temples! If you are wondering, why exactly several thousand of temples get built in one place: This used to be a HUGE city several hundred years ago. The thing is, all the buildings were made of wood or clay, only the temples were made of stone so they are the only thing that remained when the city started to crumble.

P8091535gr.jpgIt really looked like out of a fantasy story! (Click to see in full resolution)
1/200 Sek. f/5,6 80 mm ISO 200 Mode HDR

There was not much to be seen in Hsipaw so we decided to catch the night bus on that very evening. After getting tickets, we repacked our backpacks and were wondering where Mike and Olive had gone. We hadn't seen them since we went for a shower, they stayed in the hotel while we stayed in the guesthouse. It turned out later, that they had gotten a Bus to Inle Lake, right after getting their luggage from the hotel. Poor Olive sitting next to the unshowered Mike for hours! Actually every passenger of that bus must have regreted taking it :P

P8081390gr.jpgOne of the few Pagodas which are still in use today (Click to see in full resolution)
1/3200 Sek. f/5 14 mm ISO 200

P8081405gr.jpgAnother temple still in use, they really got a thing for gold there (Click to see in full resolution)
1/1000 Sek. f/5 14 mm ISO 200

Our own busride was torture aswell. When we started off a movies was played over a tiny screen in the front of the bus. To compensate the small screen they turned up the volume so high it was annoying when trying to have a conversation. I would have watched the movie, but it was all in burmese and no subtitles... In the end we all got our headphones and listened to some music with an occasional scream (the burmese movies are VERY theatralic compared to western ones) punching through the headphones.
At about 10 or 11 pm the movies stopped. However the driver and a few people still awake didn't seem to give even half a shit about the rest of the bus sleeping. They talked in a volume I would have called full blown shouting. The guy sitting infront of us got a phonecall at about midnight. Of course he answered it and I didn't understand a word but I am pretty sure they had a competition on who could talk louder without actually screaming. He was however considerate when I gestured him to quiet down a little bit. I doze and got some patchy sleep. When I woke up again I noticed were where on the (only) highway of Myanmar. Standing. Doors open, people shouting.

P8091498gr.jpgThis temple reminded me of the jedi temple in Star Wars (Click to see in full resolution)
1/125 Sek. f/5,6 120 mm ISO 320

P8081377gr.jpgThe sleeping beauty (Click to see in full resolution)
1/500 Sek. f/5,5 80 mm ISO 400

I got up and tried to ask around why we were standing but either nobody understood me, nobody knew why or nobody cared enough to tell me. Everybody went for a piss on the roadside. I thought I didn't have to but watching so many people going for a pee finally made me want to go aswell. Of course right when I was standing there pants down in the bushes the bus was about to leave.

Generously the bus driver waited for all passengers to get in again and off into the night we were.
At about 4am the bus stopped once again and we were ushered out. There we were in the middle of nowhere, with us the only other tourists on the bus got woken up and put on the street.
A pick-up truck was waiting for us to bring us to Bagan. Half asleep we checked if we had all our luggage and got into the back of the pick-up. The guy on it offered us quite agressively (he was not mean, nobody in Myanmar is, he just wouldn't give us time to think) to bring us directly to our hotel. Weary of scams and too tired to properly calculate it through we declined and asked him to bring us to the proper busstop. There we would see how to get to our hotel.
On the busstop it turned out, the price he offered us was the same we got everywhere. In fact the very same guy drove us to our hotel just with a different truck. We got to the checkpoint were every tourist has to pay 25000 kyat (about 17€) to get into Bagan. A huge amount for Myanmar (you get meals from 1000 kyat) and a slightly racist practice, since only foreingers had to pay and we read that only 2% of that fee actually go into restorating the temples, the government keeps the rest. Just to be clear I would be happy to pay for keeping the temples in good shape, but this was a real ripoff!

After passing the checkpoint our guy told us, he would have skipped it, if we had taken his offer in the beginning. And no, he hadn't told us that little but important detail before... We were pretty frustrated.

P8091563gr.jpgThis farmer besides the ancient temples is one of my favorite shots (Click to see in full resolution)
1/640 Sek. f/5,6 36 mm ISO 320

Electro scooting through thousands of temples

After the not to perfect journey to Bagan we checked into our fancy hotel. We had a pretty awesome deal via Agoda: a room in a topnotch hotel, which normally costs over $100/night for only 27$.
The first day we walked around a little bit and got a feeling of the area. We didnt stay directly in old Bagan since there are only 4-5 star luxus resorts. Our stay was in Nyaung U a few kilometres away from most of the temples. As we explored the area near our hotel we quickly realized, that going by foot wouldn't cut it. We needed something faster, plus we wanted to catch the sunrise the next day. The best solution was to rent scooters. I was delighted when we found out nearly every scooter renting place had elctro scooters only.

P8091556gr.jpgRiding the scooter over these paths was just as much fun as it looks like, maybe even more! (Click to see in full resolution)
1/640 Sek. f/5,6 14 mm ISO 200 Mode HDR

P8091553gr.jpgI don't know about you but I can't get enough of that landscape (Click to see in full resolution)
1/640 Sek. f/5,6 90 mm ISO 200 Mode HDR

P8091644gr.jpgThis one reminded me a lot of the Disney castle (Click to see in full resolution)
1/200 Sek. f/5,6 90 mm ISO 200 Mode HDR

The next day we got up at 4:30am to get the scooters. 2 scooters for 4 persons, my sister drove ours since she was the only one of us who already did it. When we arrived at the temple we had chosen we found out we weren't the only ones with that idea. The eastern side of the temple was crowded with people.
After a not so epic sunset (too many clouds) we shot a few super cliché pictures of each other and drove on over the plain. Most of the temple were totally abondoned. We had great fun climbing through the pitch black straiways onto the top of the temples.

P8091444gr.jpgThe sunrise wasn't quite as we expected, due to the clouds, but it was still nice (Click to see in full resolution)
1/10 Sek. f/20 150 mm ISO 100

P8091529gr.jpgMy sis looking dramatically into the distance, while the wind makes for a nice mood. Isn't HDR awesome? (Click to see in full resolution)
1/250 Sek. f/5,6 14 mm ISO 200 Mode HDR

P8091595gr.jpgWe weren't the only ones enjoying the coolness of the temples (Click to see in full resolution)
1/60 Sek. f/5,6 80 mm ISO 250

The same day we also wanted to see the sunset, so we chose another temple to watch from its top. This one was less known so there were only a few people on top. The sunset itself was beautiful but not as cool as I anticipated. What I didn't expect was a lot of the biggest temples being lit up by floodlights giving them a magic look at night.

P8091622gr.jpgPre-sunset views (Click to see in full resolution)
1/125 Sek. f/5,6 14 mm ISO 200 Mode HRD

P8091676gr.jpgThat's not a forrest fire, just the sun being lit (Click to see in full resolution)
1/50 Sek. f/5,6 150 mm ISO 200

P8091743gr.jpgOnce more the Disney temple, but this time awesomely lit by some floodlights (Click to see in full resolution)
1/8 Sek. f/5,6 135 mm ISO 320

We spend 3 days in Bagan which weren't very adventurous, but still very nice. The sight of thousands of temples on one plain is not something you see every day. Hell it's something you see once in a livetime maybe!

After Bagan we took another nightbus (despite our bad experience with the first one) to Inle Lake, the most famous lake in Myanmar. More on that next week!


P.s.: Sorry that I ended up writing more about the nightbus than about Bagan itself, but it was just too crazy of a ride. The pictures also tell a much better story of Bagan than I could ever do with words :)


All shots in this post were made with my Olympus OMD EM-10 Mark II with a 14-150mm lense in manual mode.

If you want to learn more about my travel through southeast Asia you can read the previous posts here:

There is a new chapter coming each Thursday

If you want to know more about me check this out:


Steemit Worldmap Data:
!steemitworldmap 21.162642 lat 94.865570 long Photostory about my visit on this marvelous plain d3scr

What is this?


Thank you for reading and feel free to upvote, resteem & follow me :)

Sort:  

Hi @bypaul,

Congrats! Your post has been featured in The Daily Qurator #63. I hope you liked it!

Your Quality Curator,
Dr. TLK :D

Yeah, I already checked it out!
Thanks a lot, I feel honored :D

hahaha sleeping beauty :D

Hi, really good post. I also find it quite racist when foreigners have to pay different price for sightseeing... I wasn't sure if anyone else feels it that way, but I see there are other people with the same opinion. Thanks for sharing and keep up the good work :)

Thank you very much :)
I have to say, I kind of understand, when countries like Myanmar where the majority of the population does not have a lot of money try to benefit from the tourism. I actually wouldnt mind if I had to pay a little bit more to help restore and keep the historical sights, but they just take the money and the sights are hardly cared for... So thats my biggest concern.

I agree on that. I also understand when there is a temple which for some people is a place to pray - probably they shouldn't pay at all and the tourist which come to see them as an architectural sight should. I just don't understand when some country decide - ok we have a waterfall, we haven't done anything for it but we will put a price on it just because it is on our territory :). Also I don't like the perception that coming from some part of the world you should have money... That's wrong perception. What person has or doesn't its his-her own business and nobody else has the right to judge by that. This is the racist part that is bothering me :)

Great post there. I'm really into travel and photography too, so it's good to find people on here with similar interests. Followed and upvoted.

Im always happy to find fellow photographer here on steemit, I really like your long exposure collection. Followed back ;)

@bypaul lovely post! Myanmar is pretty high on my list as well. Although I've been to Middle America this summer and I can tell you, going to a different continent works pretty counterproductive if your goal is to finish off your list with possible destinations ;D I think I agree with you upon the farmers post, looks almost if it’s shot in some dessert area, love it. Now I’m gonna read your others posts!

I've been to central america last summer! Was amazing, where exactly did you travel there? I was in Guatemala, south Mexico and Belize. It's fascinating how different and equal Aisa and latin America are!

True. I was in Guatemala and Belize. A lot of ppl asked me if you can compare it with Asia and I totally agree with you. Yes and no!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bypaul
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=2u3h9v-swans-bathing-in-the-sinking-sun-schwaene-baden-in-der-untergehenden-sonne


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hello! I hope you are enjoying your travels :) love your pics about Myanmar. Want to go there now. Enjoy!

Definitely following you now ;) Bagan has been on my to-go list for a while. What an amazing place! Great photos by the way. Love the sunset pictures!
Check @ryanne to see my latest travel post :)

I was a little overhyped for Bagan so it was awesome but not as awesome as I imagined.. Still I would recommend going there sometime soon before it gets touristy! The country opened up to tourists just 5 years ago so there is still much change happening.

Just checked you out and followed back, I like your Thailand post aswell :)

Yeah, I'm familiar with the new tourist rules. So yeah, you're right, I should go sooner than later... But still, it's a very unique place ;)
Thanks a lot! Happy to hear :)
See you around!

I agree, there is so many temples in SEA and they basically all amazing. Every single one is so different, so it's worth to check them out. Not all of them as there is simply too many of them, but apart from temples there is also always so much stuff to do in SEA. I have a feeling, like night is always young there. Gotta book a trip to Thailand/Indonesia asap next year :)

Haha yeah it's a little overwhelming with so many temples but great. Indonesia is also on my list, but first im going to south America :D

That was quite a bus ride. That was a fantastic log of your journey! I enjoyed reading it as well as seeing the pictures. Looking forward to your next post.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Comments like yours are the main reason I do this :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69