Chelsey's Chronicles #14: @chels visits a Sydney Gem 'The Grounds of Alexandria'

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

If you're ever in Sydney, I suggest you put 'The Grounds of Alexandria' on your list of go-to places.

IMG20160704145624.jpg

It's a popular place that serves delicious food, specialty coffee, hosts little markets, has a florist selling beautiful bunches of flowers and has a garden to explore.
Ticking all of the above, this urban sanctuary is an Instagrammers dream. And if you check its geotag on Instagram, there are plenty of people flocking to post their snaps.

IMG_1860.JPG

Built into the remnants of a heritage-listed warehouse and expanding into an enormous courtyard and organic garden in Sydney’s West, there is always something to see at The Grounds. It actually used to be a pie factory - to all my Aussies out there, do you know the iconic Four'N Twenty brand? Yep it used to their pie factory!)

IMG_1228.JPG
how adorable is this little 'dog parking' spot?!

You should even visit their bathroom. It's stable-themed and worth a look (whether you need to pee or not - clearly I just went in for the photo hahaha)

IMG_1840.JPG

The Food

So the downfall of this incredibly popular place is that you will be dealing with crowds. Which means a long wait. That said, I do have to say it is worth the wait because not only was the food mouthwatering, but the service was friendly and efficient.

IMG_1912.JPG
Every dish you see here was 10/10 flavourful

IMG_1832.JPG
A deconstructed mocha

A Summary of what you can expect at The Grounds

  • Well-made food
  • Coffee roastery
  • Beautiful garden to explore
  • A florist with the most colourful bunches of flowers
  • Artisan bakery and patisserie
  • Small animal farm – where you can meet Kevin Bacon, Goldy Horn and Margoat Robbie HAHA!
  • Markets every Saturday and Sunday
  • Event space for birthdays or even weddings!

IMG_1396.JPG
I was unable to take more photos the last time I went just because the crowds were that insane! But next time I visit, I'll be sure to share more with you :)

With Love,
Chels

x

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @gladiador leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Looks like a nice place to hang out. I miss Australian coffee !

@intrepidphotos It really is :) I actually am not a big coffee drinker but I appreciate that Australian coffee is made well :p

Hei @chels I love your writing, it provides me information about Australia, the country I would like to visit in short time. Would love take the "Ground of Alexandria" to my bucket list. The food seems delicious.
Cheers from Aceh, Indonesia ❤️

hi @fitrianizar, thank you for reading <3 I will be writing more about Sydney so stay tuned! I can't wait to go back to Indonesia and explore. I only go to Jakarta where my family is from and Bali for a tropical treat.

So you are Indonesian and living in Aussie?

sure am :D I was born in Australia but both my parents are Indonesian

Great! You should back hometown sometime, to know more about your own country 👌

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Great Post!! Get Free Daily Upvotes ! steemit.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54