Animals of Uganda

in #travel7 years ago

I've been to the zoo a million times in my life but it is a completely different experience seeing the same animals in their natural habitat. Besides I don't agree with the idea of putting animals in cages for our amusement anymore. The best way to get to know them is through documentaries or going on safari in Africa.

I was lucky to travel to the Murchison Falls National Park when I was in Uganda and got to see lots of wild animals (here are some more landscape photos). And what can I say, I absolutely loved it. My favorite animals are humpback whales - which are didn't see for obvious reasons - but they are closely followed by lions. My name actually means lioness, so I feel a close connections to lions. They might be my spirit animals, who knows?

They were only a few meters away from me and it did give me the chills to be honest.
12.JPG

I just love those cute faces that giraffes have.
07.JPG

Hello you behind the bush.
10.JPG

And he's gone again.
09.JPG

African buffalo.
05.JPG

Gazelle.
06.JPG

13.JPG

That one guy from The Lion King.
08.JPG

Who am I kidding, elephants are my favorite animals as well!
17.JPG

A pretty awesome group of friends.
16.JPG

Hippos everywhere.
15.JPG

Just look at his trunk.
18.JPG

Crocodiles.
19.JPG

No idea what kind of bird this was, it looked cool though.
11#.JPG

Those baboons were sneaky little thieves, but who can mind when they have such cute babies?
14.JPG

The days at the Murchison Park were seriously some of the best ones ever. Looking at these photos and uploading them makes me want to go back to Uganda even more. I can't wait!

There is still more to come, so don't forget to...

Upvote and Follow me @earthlingvera


Here are my previous posts about Africa:
Portrait Photos
Pearl of Africa
Impressions from Uganda
Or if you want to get to know me better:
This is me

Sort:  

I will really need to get time and visit some of these awesome places e have here in Uganda.

I am from Uganda and thanks for appreciating our country.
I am also promoting Steemit to my fellow folks here.

If you come back to Uganda some other time,may be we can meet as Steemians.

The days at the Murchison Park were seriously some of the best ones ever. Looking at these photos and uploading them makes me want to go back to Uganda even more. I can't wait!

I just followed you and how's Germany though?

I am totally with you about the zoo animals!
The photos of the african wildlife are amazing! You were so lucky to get to see so many various species! Fantastic!
I hope to go to Kenia next spring!

Great photos
.
I totally understand what you mean about seeing animals in a zoo and then going to a game reserve. I was fortunate to be able to go to Hluhluwe game reserve in South Africa, truly an incredible experience. Caging up an animal after a safari just doesn't seem right.

The elephants were probably my favourite, its true they are gentle giants.
Those hippos look close, they can be very dangerous animals and damn quick can run faster than a human!

Upvoted

Thank you! Yes, I never really thought about it when I went to a zoo, I just liked seeing all the cool animals. But now I think about it very differently, they need so much space and variety.
Hippos look so cuddly and cute though, haha! I took the picture from a boat, so I guess I was safe.

Wow - wonderful pictures!

Wildlife Directory. African Elephant. The largest living land mammal, the African elephant, is a sight to behold on Uganda's sprawling savannah. Antelopes. Birds. Cape Buffalo. Chimpanzee. Hippopotamus. Leopard. Lion.

That was great. Been to the zoos as well but have not experienced seeing those wildlife in their natural habitat, it will surely be a beautiful experience.

Wow. It would be amazing to be that close to lions. They look a little skinny, though, poor kitties. We have an open habitat wildlife sanctuary here, and all the lions are fat. It's easy to forget that wild lions have a much harder life.

Beautiful photos.

Congratulations @earthlingvera, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1120 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1693.79. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

These photos are just so worth looking at. 😄 It's indeed good to see them like this in their natural habitat. Beautifully taken photos. Followed you for more and resteemed this as well.

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92