Welcome to the The Temple of Poseidon in Sounio___GREECE

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I went with a big company, we were about 15 people in Sounion to visit the archaeological site and see the temple of Poseidon. The day was pretty good and our mood was wonderful. When you are in this wonderful space, you feel the incredible energy it radiates, and enjoy the incredible natural beauty, wherever you look. For me it was the second time I went there and I strongly recommend to anyone who has not visited this unique place to do so. Today at the job I told them that I was going to Sounio, I am surprised to hear a colleague who lives 40 years in Athens that he has not gone.
Sounion is an hour from Athens and the route is breathtaking. Sounio is located at the southern point of Attica and is a cape. There is also the temple of Poseidon, built in 480 BC, by an unknown architect, and the whole area on top of the hill was the castle, along with the Temple of Poseidon, while at the bottom left, which is the beach, was the port of Sounio. Sounion has flourished economically due to Lavrion's ores.
In 412 BC, was one of the 5 most important fortresses in Athens. Homer in the Odyssey (c, 278) has been mentioned in Sounios, while on the marbles of Poseidon there is the signature of Lord Byron.

The Temple of Poseidon in Sounio!!

IMG_0087.JPG

IMG_0089.JPG

View from high!!

IMG_0100.JPG

IMG_0105.JPG

IMG_0106.JPG

IMG_0118.JPG

IMG_0119.JPG

IMG_0120.JPG

IMG_0126.JPG

IMG_0127.JPG

IMG_0130.JPG

IMG_0131.JPG

IMG_0132.JPG

In front of the temple and the view behind me!!

IMG_0110.JPG

IMG_0006.JPG

IMG_0106.JPG

IMG_0112.JPG

IMG_0113.JPG

IMG_0118.JPG

Sailing ships!!

IMG_0015.JPG

IMG_0016.JPG

IMG_0017.JPG

MY FRIENDS:

IMG_0018.JPG

IMG_0020.JPG

A partridge in Sounion.

IMG_0078.JPG

Τhe beach at Sounio!!! This was the port of Sounio in antiquity.

IMG_0039.JPG

IMG_0054.JPG

Amazing view!!

IMG_0060.JPG

The castle of Sounio as it was in antiquity and in the background the Temple of Poseidon.

IMG_0071.JPG

IMG_0076.JPG

IMG_0024.JPG

Leaving the temple of Poseidon, we went all the company to eat at the beach of Sounio.

IMG_0040.JPG

Αnd making a heart for you:

IMG_0003.JPG

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

source :from the words of our tour guide.

Sort:  

How very beautiful!!!! I will visit there for sure (God willing)!

You have to go @onceuponatime, I highly recommend it is a unique place !! And all the view from above is wonderful !!! The weather was not very good, at first and maybe my photos, do not show exactly the beauty of the place !!! I have others on the beach there... in another post I will put them !!!
(God willing and weather permitting)!!!!
Τhank you so much!!!

This is a nice idea of a post. You seemed to have had fun. However, I think you should filter up the photos, select the best 5-8, because otherwise it's too much and there's a tendency to scroll down faster instead of looking at them. Choose the best of the best!!
Keep it up!
Mindi

I understand. If it's too difficult try to make maybe half next time. Be critical and choose the best, if some pic looks like another don't choose the second one, or chose one of the two. As a photographer, I know how difficult it is to be critical and choose. It ain't easy to be your own judge. Cheers. M

Thank you very much!!!! We will see....:)

Υes that is my problem, I took a lot of photos and I can not choose 5-8. I will try!!! Imagine that I have take over 100 photos!! Thank you for the advice!!

Excellent your every photography ..Really nice place I am interesting visit the historical temple in Greece .Especially your smile is awesome .

@mousumimou thank you so much for your comment!!! Thank you for your kindness and what you say about my smile:::))))

δε σε ρωτάω..βλέπω πέρασες υπέροχα στο Σούνιο...
καλό βράδυ.. είσαι σε ρεπο;;

Oχι δούλευα πρωί και αύριο το ίδιο, εχτές είχα ρεπό!! Καλό βράδυ και σε ευχαριστώ πολύ!!!

tha pao kai ego.exo xronia na pao

Να πας , είναι υπέροχα!!! Και εγώ θα ξαναπάω!!! Να είχα και 160 Ε να έμενα 1 βράδυ σε εκείνο το ξενοδοχείο, φόρα παρτίδα στο κύμα και με θέα στο Σούνιο!!!

Είχα την τύχη να πάω πέρσι.
Εντυπωσιάστηκα από την αρχιτεκτονική της τότε εποχής και σε πόσο στρατηγικό σημείο είναι χτισμένος ο ναός!

Nαι ήτανε απο τα πέντε λιμάνια της αρχαίας Αθήνας!!! Στρατηγικό και υπέροχο!!

Beautiful view. I love the pics that you share from Greece, thank you so much. Someday I hope visit Greece.

Καλημέρα @evimeria ! Πολύ ωραία ανάρτηση και πολύ καλή επιλογή για εκδρομή!
Είναι ωραίο να μοιράζεσαι την αύρα της περιοχής με καλή παρέα.

(αν θες διόρθωσε το "hurt"(πληγώνω) και κάνε το "heart"(καρδιά))

Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ @giosou και για το πολύ όμορφο σχόλιο...και για την διόρθωση...Οντως ήταν πολύ όμορφη αυτή η μέρα!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94