Xcape # 1 - Welcome to Kobe, Japan | 🍣✈✌ | First 50 followers!!! |

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Steemits,

 
Carl here with my first episode of Xcape by FML. Today we’ll travel to Kobe Japan, a relatively large and thriving city approximately 1-hour West of Osaka. Some of you may know of Kobe because of it's famous produce Kobe beef, a highly prized and sought after cut of beef from the Hyogo Prefecture.

I’d describe Kobe as a quiet and peaceful city with long clean sun kissed boulevards and romantic intimate settings. The city is overlooked by mountains to the north and Osaka Bay to the south. People who enjoy a quieter side of Japan will love Kobe. Have a look at my video below to see some of the places I visited whilst in Kobe.

The city has a bustling working and business district which appears to be located along the edge of the city fronting Osaka Bay. Further inland you will be treated to a sprawling shopping district and mixed cultural hub of restaurants and shops.

Nunobiki Herb Garden

Whilst in Kobe I decided to visit the Nunobiki Herb Garden. The herb garden is an intimate setting on top of the mountains to the north which overlook the city. Catching the Shin-Kobe Ropeway up to the herb garden will set you back ‎¥1400 ($16 AUD) for a return trip up and down the mountain. It's quite an experience and well worth the money as you'll experience some amazing views of the city and some other local attractions.

The view from the top is pretty spectacular, just check out that winter sunshine.

Be sure to walk down and check out the glasshouse which also has a spectacular viewing platform and restaurant.

All in all, the visit to the Herb Garden was an enlightening experience and I’d definitely encourage any traveller visiting Kobe to make a stop to the Nunobiki Herb Garden.

Meriken Park

I’d also stongly recommend taking a walk down to the harbour to check out the Kobe Port Tower and Meriken Park. Here you’ll learn about the tragic history of the city which was devastated in the 1995 Great Hanshin Earthquake. As a remembrance and monument to the victims of the Great Hanshin Earthquake a small section of waterfront within Meriken Park has been left unrepaired and preserved. Unfortunately when I visited, I was unaware of the memorial and missed it completely even though I was standing approximately 10m from the memorial. For reference I've provided a photo of the memorial site below.

You can actually see the jarred light post in my video.

Additionally, check out some of my photos below of me and my friends exploring the streets of Kobe along the waterfront.

Whilst we certainly did not see all of what Kobe had on offer, it was definitely a well spent day exploring a new part of Japan I’d yet to see. I strongly recommend you set aside some time on your trip to see this amazing city. Its relaxed vibe strikes a nice balance to the usual crazy fast pace lifestyle Osaka and Tokyo have on offer. Time seems to slow down in Kobe leaving you with more time to enjoy the natural beauty, history and culture of the place.

If you've been to Kobe, Japan please let me know your favourite places to visit.

I hope you enjoyed reading about this travel blog. If you want to hear more about my adventures please upvote this post and share with friends. Additionally, please follow me to hear more about my latest adventures. ✌️


About the Author

If you'd like to learn more about me or my blog series check out my introduction post


FML news!!!

💬 A special thank you to my first 50 followers. Thanks for supporting my blog series. I'd definitely love to get to know more of you so feel free to get in contact if you enjoy my post.

💬 A big thank you to @bottymcbotface, @decentralization & @vlone99 for tipping me some steem dollars. Greatly appreciate your support. 💯

💬 I’ll be upgrading my camera gear soon and I’m trying to decide between either a LG Lumix G7 or a Sony a6000/6300. Does anyone own any of these cameras and can recommend them for photography and film. I currently own a Sony DSC-HX60 which is in desperate need of an upgrade.

Sort:  

looks very nice thanks for the beautiful weather video
sweet greetings from cold berlin

Danke @bodystar. I was actually really surprised at how good the weather was. I was expecting cold weather but thankfully wasn't too cold when we visited Kobe. Do you like cold weather or prefer the summer?

Hello @feedmylife
Nice photos and story man.
I'm living in Japan now and have been to Kobe twice. Great place
I will follow your journey and leave an upvote.

I'm pretty new on Steemit myself. If you have some time please have a look at my blog post. You might even want to leave a comment or link up.
Hope to see some good stories from you again.
Have a great one
@maxinpower

That's awesome @maxinpower. I'm so tempted to go back to Japan to do some snowboarding. Thanks for your upvote and comment. No worries I'll take a look and send you a message.

Cheers!!
The prefecture I'm living is getting loads of snow in winter, around the seaside it's kinda wet but up in the mountain there are some good resorts.
But nothing beats the European alps or the Rockies

Great post I will definitely Follow and Upvote @feedmylife I love Travel also, If you are looking for some travel inspiration I offer a Travel Bucket List series, Follow back and stay in touch!

Thanks @metalbrushes for your interest in my blog series. Thanks for the travel inspiration. Always looking for new places to travel to and Switzerland looks amazing. No problem, I've followed you.

i have always love japan and it culture, this is one country on my bucket list, would love to visit kobe and other japanese cities, the photos are well done , happy for you

Thanks @joendegz. You should definitely travel there. If you're an adult you'll definitely feel like a kid again.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 54.84 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Thanks @statsmonkey and thank you so much for your support @curie. Appreciate it.

Awesome post! Enjoyed hearing about your trip! Just followed!

Thanks @digomartinez10. I'll crank out some more blogs for you to enjoy. Thanks for your support.

Awesome travel post. Kobe is really beautiful.

Hi @monajam. Kobe is amazing. I'd consider it one of those hidden gems places you find when travelling. Definitely recommend a visit.

My sister-in-law lives there. I will definitely go :)

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Hi @cmtzco. Thank you for your up vote, it's greatly appreciated.

Amazing mountains and place :-)

Thanks @arx27. Hopefully you can check it out one day for yourself.

Congratulations @feedmylife, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2844 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $666.85. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks for the information @bitgeek.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85