You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Zagorje 45' (Part #155)

in #travel6 years ago

Great post and amazing "dirty" bikes:) I live in Maryland, and I ride through the downtown area and other congested streets to and from work every day. Often when I am at a stoplight, I am directly behind or next to several cars belching exhaust. I can't help but smell and inhale it. Sometimes I try to hold my breath, but I can't always hold it for long enough. It smells bad, and I do not wish to inhale carbon monoxide. Is there some great product out there, or maybe just some tips and tricks from you on how to avoid inhaling exhaust fumes while riding through heavily trafficked urban streets.

Sort:  

Interesting post@velimir
For tips, i would suggest you try being on the side away from the tailpipe. Get in front of the cars at the lights - don't queue in line with them. Take routes that are less car-congested, even though they may be longer. Nice post. Love your picture quality and angle taken.
It may also be reasonable to say that you are already avoiding more exhaust just by biking & not driving, other than that; take a less heavily trafficked route & otherwise don't worry about it.

@velimir great post.
@georgechuks I wouldn't go that far, but the evidence suggests that you're better off biking in the fumes than not biking. I'm more trying to suggest that if you know what you're trying to avoid it's easier to avoid. Otherwise you're left with holding your breath at random times, hoping that you damage yourself less by oxygen deprivation than you would by just breathing the fumes.

I just hold my breath :D not aware of any other means to avoid it :)
and yes, of course I go in front at the lights :) uninitiated car drivers think its rude, thesy have no clue how bad they smell hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85