Trip to USA : The Long Trek Home

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


We returned to Gatlinburg for Scott to pick up his car and I made my farewells. Throughout my time in Tennessee, @sk43 made me more than welcome and took me under his wing, teaching me the ins and outs of American life. I think we have a lot in common, not least the love for Rhonda. Goodbyes made, @rhondak drove me to Knoxville airport along with @catherine813.


As she went to find somewhere to park the car, I had to speak to a United Airlines representative to get my tickets home. There was a slight problem in that on my trip in, I had forgone my flight from Washington to Knoxville as my flight out of Dublin was late, and Rhonda had offered to pick me up from Dulles. This threw the system into a panic, and it took half hour to sort my tickets back home.


The time was fast approaching to bid farewell to Rhonda and Catherine. Rhonda had already warned me how difficult it would be for her and, in a way, I was almost glad that as non-passengers, they could not go much further into the airport without a ticket. My allergies suddenly came on as we hugged for the last time and I watched as Rhonda and Catherine walked away to find somewhere close by to watch my plane leave.


Pulling myself together, I made my way once more through security, putting all of my electronics, cables, and chargers into a tray to be x-rayed, removing my glasses, belt and shoes to go through the scanner.


Convinced that I was no security threat, I was passed through and I reassembled my hand luggage and prepared for my first of three flights, this first one to Washington Dulles.


Having found my gate, I also found my plane being prepared for take off.


Within twenty minutes, we began to board.


As we boarded, I caught a glimpse of the captain.




Pretty soon our aircraft was pushed back and the engines whined into life. I kept in touch with Rhonda until the last moment, so that I could let her know when we were about to taxi down the runway and take off - she had told me that she wanted a video of me taking off.


With a roar, the plane sped down the runway and we were quickly in the air.


Rising over Knoxville, I took the opportunity to take some photos from the window.




The flight time was only about one and a half hours to Washington, and as the afternoon wore on, I caught some great shots of the sun setting as we came ever closer to our destination.




Soon, we began to descend over Washington DC.


With a screech of the tires, we landed. I enjoy flying for the most part, except for takeoffs and landings. If anything is to go wrong, these would be the worst times.


None the less, we taxied safely, before coming to a stop and disembarking.




According to my itinerary, I only had just under forty minutes to catch my connecting flight to Dublin, so after catching a bus to the terminal, I made my way swiftly to my departure gate. Along the way, I decided to buy a fresh t-shirt as the one I was wearing had been worn all day and, not thinking, I hadn't packed a fresh one in my hand luggage. Of course, being in Washington, I bought one that reflected the fact. I went to a restroom to freshen up and changed my top.


As seems usual when I travel, there was an issue with the plane back to Dublin: the toilets were not flushing. Originally we were told it would be a short delay of half an hour, but as that came and went it increased to around an hour and a half. United Airlines, however, was very accommodating and brought out trollies filled with drinks and snacks. Eventually, boarding started and as I use a walking stick, I was one of the first allowed on the plane.


I settled into my seat and checked all of the films on the personal TV in front of me. Unfortunately, I had seen any that I may have found interesting. This wasn't a problem though as my body told me it had had quite enough, thank you very much, and that it was time to get some rest. Shortly after takeoff, I got comfortable with my neck pillow and covered myself with a complimentary blanket before falling asleep. Halfway through the flight, I woke up just long enough to eat a meal I was offered, then swiftly dropped off again. My short stay in America was finally catching up with me. I finally woke back up when the air steward shook me to make sure my seat was upright and that I had my belt on - the seven-hour flight was coming to an end.


Ireland


My connecting flight back to Birmingham, England, was a short half hour away, so I quickly made my way to my next departure gate and boarded my Aer Lingus flight. Soon we were taxying once more and sunny skies welcomed our flight as we took off.






Flight time from Dublin to Birmingham was just under an hour. Despite the fun and enjoyment I'd had in Tennessee, it was good to see home again.


Once landed and quickly through security, I retrieved my luggage which, thankfully, was there this time. I then caught the monorail back to the station and caught a train bound for New Street Station.




From there I caught the first of two trains home.


Once I had finally reached my stop, my girlfriend was there to pick me up.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.muxxy.co.uk/2018/07/12/trip-to-usa-the-long-trek-home/

Sort:  

Nice vacation!
I guess all happened in less than 8 hours.
Glad you enjoyed every piece of it.

Yep. I bawled like an idiot after we left you at the gate. Ugly crying. In public. Gaah.

It is so interesting seeing those pics of Knoxville from the air, because I know they were taken as Catherine and I were filming the plane from the ground. Seeing the pics of everything that came after that was pretty interesting, too. I've never flown--admittedly I'm a bit scared of planes. Pretty sure I'll need to get over that, though, given the amount of Writers' Block business we have ahead of us all over the world.

I'm glad you made it home safely, and that you were able to get caught up on rest once you got there. Travel is exhausting for folks like us who struggle with auto-immune issues. Not impossible, no. But we really have to take care of ourselves.

Looking forward to the next trip, whether I fly or you fly or we all fly to parts unknown. Big adventures ahead for Writers' Block folk. :-)

I am so looking forward to further Rhonda hugs.

That was definitely a long trip home. I got tired just reading about it. LOL.

I had a great time and it was very interesting talking with you and learning the little differences between England and the US. Now I know why they won't let people have guns in England, you don't need to defend yourself against bears. There aren't any.

Also, you won't be able to fend off the invasion of Wal-Mart. Oh, it will come make no doubt. Resist I say. Resist. If not, the next thing you know you'll have the people of Wal-Mart over there too. It's not a pretty sight.

🤣 It was great to meet you.

You got SNEKKED!
Because we slithered across your content and we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a manual curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord
We would love to welcome you to our community and connect! So don't hold back and come and say hello on Discord.

w00t! Thanks Snekky!

☀ Post Resteem Service Offer ➡ Re-steem Your New Post ➡ Send 0.400 SBD or 0.400 STEEM To @stoneboy ✉ Post Url in the Memo ✉ Your Post Will Be Re-steem to 7300+2800 followers with 2 different accounts.☺

excellent shots I like the pictures and it is really good when shared with people that you want and generally you do not want to separate after meeting or sharing with great people by the way never traveled by plane should be great thanks for sharing your experience

My allergies suddenly came on as we hugged for the last time

My allergies always plague me at airports too! Or whenever visitors leave, or ya know - just whenever.

#wishIWasntSentimental <-- worst hashtag ever 🤣
~T

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99