Hanoi: Day one

in #travel6 years ago

So i have spent one day in Hanoi and I didn't really accomplish very much. This has a lot to do with the fact that i had a very long layover in Bangkok yesterday and I am not the type of person that can sleep in an intentionally uncomfortable terminal chair. But this isn't about me.

shu-Asia-Vietnam-Hanoi-Panorama-view-of-Tran-Quoc-pagoda-the-oldest-temple-590328692-Vietnam-Stock-Images-1440x823.jpg

When i first headed into the city I was impressed about how organized the highway was because I had always heard that the streets were overrun with bikes. Apparently the airport is well out of the city and well, this situation changed as soon as we were inside a bit. The streets are absolutely inundated with traffic. I honestly don't think there is room for anything else.

xehopdong-15196672674392130469496.jpg

The constant beeping of horns is a bit nuts because I don't think anyone else on the road pays any attention to them. They have grown accustomed to constant horns and well, no one really changes anything about their driving when they hear one. I think the bus driver used the horn at least a thousand times in our 30 minute drive from the airport. (by the way, if you are staying in Hanoi, it will most likely be in the Old Quarter, if that is the case save yourself a bunch of money and take the number 86 bus instead of a taxi.)

This is one of the cons of this city - I am pretty negative person (I know this isn't a good character trait) and I am bit tainted because I have been living in Thailand for so long but I will start with the cons and end with the pros.

  • Traffic, already talked about it. However it really must be seen to be believed. I haven't seen an accident yet which says to me that these guys are just really really good.
    maxresdefault.jpg

To me it seems like chaos, and to the uninitiated, Thailand seems like chaos. I haven't seen a single police car so it appears as though people are obeying traffic lights (kinda) on their own volition - which is cool.

  • sidewalks are tough to come by. Sure, they have sidewalks, but they are filled with parked motorbikes, which necessitates walking in the street a lot of the time... refer to bulletpoint number one for more on that

  • Where are the minimarts? I can't find any. Maybe i am just in the wrong part of town but I can't figure out where to get a razor or some soap. Perhaps this is just because I am trained in the ways of Thailand, where there is a 7-11 every 100 meters or so. This might not be a con to you but it is to me

Let's move on to the Pros before I appear as though I am just trying to be mean

  • Traffic, even though it sucks, will dodge you - If you are waiting for a break in traffic, it isn't going to happen. You have to get out there, they will go around you.

  • cheap noodles are everywhere. I can't speak a word of Vietnamese yet, i just point at stuff. So far it has been good. I think they know that i don't have a clue and are just giving me the basic one.

  • No stray animals. This is a massive problem in Thailand. I haven't seen any yet. Not one and I wandered the streets for hours today. Do that in Thailand, you will have seen hundreds.

  • They have really well maintained parks here (again, free of stray animals.) I really like this. The rest of the city can be so overwhelming because there are people friggin everywhere so the parks are a nice respite. It costs 2,000 Dong to get in but this is like 5 cents or something - just pay it.

Bach THao park hanoi.jpg

More photos to come, battery going and i suppose that is another con. I can't find an adapter but i am the moron who didn't bring one to a foreign country.

Sort:  

Wow you are traveling in my country, i believe you will have interesting trip. We are holding a small meetup in Hanoi, and will be happy to join you in 2 days. Nice to meet you.
You can see it here: https://steemit.com/vn/@hanggggbeeee/2nd-meet-up-on-10th-of-june-the-biggest-steemit-event-in-vietnam-join-with-us and
https://steemit.com/dlive/@waybeyondpadthai/17d40c50-6572-11e8-b440-7b6997b9f3d1

oh wow! I will do my best to meetup for sure! Thanks for the info!

Yes, I am very happy when you join. We also invite other friends from around the world, as far as I know they are in Hanoi today. If you are interested you can ask @hanggggbeeee, she is the person in charge of the meetup

i am sorry that i didn't make it. life got in the way as it is proving much more difficult than i had hoped to find an apartment here. I'll get in on the next one

oh, a little sad but okay! because you have your own work. See you on another occasion

Welcome you to Vietnam. If you need any assistance in here, do not hesitate to contact me :)

Nice to meet you, I am a member of steemit viet nam, tomorrow we have a meet up in hanoi, heard that there are many people from abroad join, you have attended the program, I Nice to meet you there.

yes, i heard about the meetup too late and i regret that i was not able to make it. :(

Why? There are many talented people, we can learn experience together

I wanted to go. I wanted to meet, i was just too busy and I don't have much time here. I'll be back :)

IMG_6389.JPG
We were here, everyone was happy.

I read about Hanoi on TripAdvisor, and the place had thousands of five and four stars reviews from users. With over 40 streets, unique street names and great foods, Hanoi really seem like a nice place to be. No wonder people (including you) really had a good time there. It's definitely on my bucket list.

Maybe your trip this time is a different experience, indeed the state of one city is different from other cities in terms of comfort, as well as the city hanoi.
But I hope you enjoy your trip.
Like @gooddream

OMG! You have exolored Hanoi this much within a day... What can I say about this than to say you are just too awesome... Lol

Their is no perfect place all over the world, but if you feel welcomed and accepted in a place, I think that's the best place for you to be.

Before a week, you would have know everything about Hanoi, and by then you would have gotten answers to most of the cons too....ahhahahah

Hope your doggo is enjoying herself despite no any other of her kind yet on the streets?

Oh my god! It is impressive the images by the amount of people that there are in the street, wow friend already you went to the Hoan Kiem Lake? I think that you are very close, porfa is to teach us really as it is, is that I always see images of that place and it seems a lie of the beautiful that is shown

Cool! This is a city that I am sure gets less coverage in the western world than most, due to The Vietnam War. I was intrigued by your report.

Can you (if you have time) give us some idea of the cost of living there? TIA...

Also, do you have a feel for how they feel about white people walking around..?

White people haha. Expats i think you mean *wink wink . I have only been here a few days trying to find an apartment. I have never been treated with anything other than respect and unless you are near a tourist trap, no one is really trying to rip you off. If you get a taxi app it makes things a lot easier because you don't need to speak anything. I recommend GRAB App

Cost of living: That is a difficult question because everyone is different. I am finding many many many options while having a budget of less than $600 a month for a serviced apartment.

As far as food and drinks are concerned. Hanoi is exceptionally affordable, even by south-east Asian standards (certainly cheaper than Thailand)

Love Hanoi, especially the old quarter! It's a beautiful introduction to the amazing culture of Vietnam! Here's one of my favorite pictures from Hanoi that I took from a cozy coffee shop right in the city center!

Sid_Verma-1-8.jpg

So you are doing like an explotatory journey to evaluate the possibility of moving to Vietnam? What other places are you considering? i supose you can adapt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13