You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Packing Up Our Tangerine Prius - Our First Day Driving to Mexico (VIDEO)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Wow...must be nice to drive to Mexico...one of my goals to drive to mexico too. Do you need a special international drivers license, passport or any other special pass to go across the border?

How many months planning on staying in Mexico?

Sort:  

No need for special international DL. You need a passport or enhanced drivers license.

Thanks for info Chrongn.... How to get enhanced drivers license?

From my research, you don't need a passport to go across the border into Mexico, but you need a passport or passport card (much cheaper) to get back into the US by land.

If you're staying for an extended period of time, you'll need to get a Tourist Visa. It's good for up to six months and costs about $25 US Dollars. It can be purchased when you cross the border into Mexico.

In order to get the Tourist Visa, you will need a passport.

I'm not familiar with the "enhanced driver's license" that @chronogn mentioned. It's nothing that we have.

Thanks for replying so soon....I subscribed on Youtube and turned on notification....I am cant wait to see what you will share...

I may be following in your folk's foot step to Mexico sooner than I think....this spring would be nice. I have a travel modified van so, I will fix up inside with refridge, and a large sink big enough to sit in it to wash myself. I will wire up electrical boxes....I have bed back there, sleeping bag, transformer, fan, heater, propane tank and heater...wood stove....ready for any disaster too..lol

Awesome, thanks for subscribing! We're excited to have you following along on our journey.

I think the enhanced drivers license is the same thing as the passport card. It's only good to cross borders in North America (Mexico, US, and Canada). It might just be a Michigan thing....
"The Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL) is a special driver’s license that allows Michigan motorists to cross into the U.S. when traveling by sea or land from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda and the Caribbean nations without the need for a passport or other identification documents. Explore the links below for more information about the EDL and the requirements for obtaining one." http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-1627_8669_53333---,00.html

@chronogn is right. You will also need a Temporary Vehicle Import Permit (TIP) to drive outside of certain areas of Mexico. We've been pulled over three times already and they asked for the TIP paperwork each time. Gotta have it! They have also asked to see the vehicle's registration and our US drivers licenses as well.

As of right now, we're thinking 3-6 months. Perhaps longer if we really like it! :)

Invaluable info...thanks....You should live there for a couple years...what is the hurry....you folks are young....I packed up left New York City moved to Hawaii and lived there for 25 years when I was 26 years old....I have been living in Arkansas for 3 years and itching to get out of this hillbilly country...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87