You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Powis Castle in Welshpool - By Steve J Huggett

in #travel5 years ago

Great post. Fantastic images.
All my references of Wales go back to the famous Offa's Dyke and then the final conquest of Wales by King Endward I and Princes Llewelyn and Daffydd's horrendous deaths.
Interesting that this castle was actually built by the welsh.
I drool at this historical sites. Such a blessing to have the chance to walk those places.
Do you know whose statue is that in the second photograph?

Sort:  

Thanks @hlezama I have to say, I was really surprised at it being a Welsh castle too.

The Statue isn't of anyone, according to what I can find its;

"The statue depicts the winged female figure of Fame borne by Pegasus."

https://britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/300016785-statue-of-fame-in-entrance-courtyard-at-powis-castle-welshpool#.XJCbWyL7S00

Just a piece of flashy art really :)

I see. Thanks.
Flashy art is always good to compensate for bloody history :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63