Travelling cook #1

in #travel6 years ago

Due to my work nature, I am travelling half of the time in a month. While travelling, eating out is unavoidable. Unfortunately, I was facing food allergy issue for the passed one year. Food additive, i.e. monosodium glutamate MSG, is one of the main causes of my allergy. Hence, while I am blessed with the opportunities to explore local delicacies while I travel for work, I am cursed with the unpleasant effects that come with it. Antihistamines becomes the dessert.

A month ago, I was advised by my dermatologist to further explore the types of food that I am allergic to through a food eliminating process.

The process starts with cleansing. For a week, I can only eat plain rice, free-range chicken, certain types of fishes, kangkung and leafy greens.

That posted a great challenge to me as I was forced to cook in the hotel. Hence, I got myself a small electrical kettle pot and a small styrofoam box so that I can bring my food supply with me and cook in hotel while I travel.

With the styrofoam box, I brought along marinated chicken breasts, some rice and salt. Salt is the only seasoning I can use at that moment. I bought some leafy greens along the way.

My first meal was rice steamed with chicken. I added the greens when the rice and the chicken was almost done. I cheated a little as I used leftover coffee (no sugar added) in substitute of water and it turned out to be quite tasty.

20171031_192903.jpg

20171031_202852.jpg

First attempt was a success!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75