KasiaTravels: Surfing in Costa Rica. #3: the concussion

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I arrived in Costa Rica to fulfil one of my dreams - to learn how to surf. Surfing is definitely a sport that requires a great deal of both physical and mental strength. And everyday practice. I am a hardworking person, but I was also expecting a lot of fun, meeting open, happy and free spirit people. What I wasn’t expecting though was how challenging it would be. That I would confront my fear of water and that all the battles would take place in my head.

a.jpg

I am a lot more of a mountain girl, born and raised away from the see. My parents didn’t have enough of spare money to sign me up for swimming lessons when I was little. So I started learning how to swim while studying at a university. I immediately loved it, but, let me tell you, it was a struggle at the beginning. To breathe underwater. But first and foremost not be afraid of the water itself, to feel comfortable with my head underneath it. Today I really enjoy swimming. I find it very relaxing. And 40 minutes of a constant swim is definitely a great way to let off one’s steam. I was quickly comfortable enough to swim in the Mediterranean Sea, even while some waves ;) But again, swimming in the swimming pool or in a rather calm sea and swimming in the ocean… That’s just a different story.

So here I was, in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, starting my one-week long surf camp (I am writing more about the camp here :). The only European among Americans and Canadians. Seriously!

We were divided into teams of 3 people per 1 coach. I had my classes super early in the morning, at 6 am! At first, I thought that it was unfortunate, cause I was still tired after the whole travel from Europe. But the minute I saw the sky turning from dark to daylight just above me, well, it felt great to be up!

2 (Copy).JPG

The first lesson, the basics, a bit of theory, some exercises and yes, first attempts in the water! It felt amazing! I couldn’t believe how lucky I am and yes, I was proud of myself as well!:) Later during the day, another group lesson with the instructor, looking more - less similar to the morning one. I felt I have so much energy, I wasn’t satisfied, I wanted to come back on the board! I spoke with some other guys from the camp and we decided to surf more on a late afternoon.

3 (Copy).JPG

There are several types of boards that can be used, depending on your level: big, smaller. The big boards can additionally be covered with some kind of foam, those are the ones for absolute beginners ;)

We were pretending to surf, after all, it was absolutely the first time for most of us :) we laughed a lot. It started to be windy and I was pretty crowded, with people surfing mostly in the same area.

I was hit on the back of my head. By a “regular” (“hard”) board. It hurt, but I was more surprised that it happened. I looked around and a lady around 45-50 excused herself. Here I was, standing there and noticing that the boards are actually flying in the air because the “surfers”, most of the beginners, do not control them. I decided to move a little from that area.

Next thing I remember was the people around me. With faces showing concern. The first question I heard was “do you know where you are?” I smiled and responded “of course!” And then I realise that I am not so quite sure of the answer. That surprised and frightened me. I asked them to explain what had happened. Apparently I was hit again on the back of my head by the board of one of my camp colleagues, luckily this time it was a bit softer, covered with the foam. I lost consciousness and was lying with my head down in the water for around 15-20 seconds before I was “rescued”.

The manager of the “Witch’s Rock” suggested that I should do the brain scan and consult the doctor. I agreed. Fortunately, I bought an insurance before my departure, just in case. And luckily I was smart enough to buy the one that covers accidents from practising extreme sports.

The girls from my shared room declared that they will go to the hospital with me, as well as a guy whose board hit me for the second time because he felt very bad and responsible for the situation. During the whole week, he couldn’t believe that I was not angry with him. And one guy that had enough liquid money to borrow me in order to pay the hospital for the visit and examination (I didn’t know that back then, but first you have to pay for everything, and then, if the insurance company agrees with the expenses, will pay you back).

Witch’s Rock borrowed us their minivan and the driver. It took us almost 2 hours to reach Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste region. It was the nearest city with a private hospital having the necessary equipment. In a public hospital, brain scan wouldn’t be possible.

I hope you will join me for the second part of this story.

Pura vida to all of you, my Steemit friends!

Kasia

Sort:  

Great post ..
Surfing! Costa Rica .. I heard about
good for you ..
Thank you for sharing your adventure with us

thank you and I hope to see you soon on my profile:)

@k-a-s-i-a I am glad you are ok. I hurt myself years ago surfing in Nicaragua and I had to go to hospital there! A day later I went back to Costa Rica to seek a better hospital. Be careful around other surfer beginners and be aware of your surroundings in the surf.

thank you for sharing your story with me! this is incredible how easy one can get hurt while surfing! i'm glad u're ok!

@k-a-s-i-a glad you are alright. Surfing can be dangerous. If you don't watch out you could get hit by a board... I am surprised that the surf instructors had all the beginner surfers in the same area. I would think they would spread everybody out. Hope you had a great vacay! Nice pics of Costa Rica.

yes, one must be super careful! btw. it happened after the lessons, in our free time.

The same happen with me my fear for water has made me still unable to learn how to swim nor to talk of even surfing. I am very glad that you were not hurt.

thanks! yes, after all i was fine! we need to learn how to fight our limits i think. but yes, that's not easy!

Fun trip, you are very smart in realizing your dreams without the help of parents, because your parents have no money, I am amazed to you.

thank you and good luck in Steemit! :)

wow dear @k-a-s-i-a in interesting to see your surfing experience I can join your post because you show us the women power. excellent. I follow you

thank you! yeah, girl power!

Lucky mountain girl to be surfing! ;) Gorgeous shots too.Thanks for sharing with us all.

I surfed for many years and I am almost jealous... Warm water surfing is a total delight, bliss, really!

Namaste :)

haha, i guess you missed the whole point of my post dear Eric. It was a story of a girl that really wanted to surf and got a concussion instead ;) haha :)

I thought it was you who wanted to surf and got hurt!?! There are definitely cons to reading quickly and got caught in that speed. Sorry, it is very unusual for me to do so... Better reading next time!

Namaste :)

the girl was me:) but what i meant was that i couldn't surf for a while (and later on needed to be very cautious) because i got a concussion:) if this is what you wanted to write, i apologise :) Namaste ☀️

No sweat @k-a-s-i-a! We aren't worse friends for this! ;) Have a great weekend, keep your smile and namaste :)

hihi:) Thank you and have a blast this weekned :)

@k-a-s-i-a wow that's amazing and am really happy for you that you travelled to Costa Rica to fulfil Your dream of learning " how to surf".
I love surfing and started this few years ago.
I am very glad that you were not hurt.
My advise to you is to stay away from these kind of guys !! (Just kidding) and
I hope the guy that felt very bad and was responsible for the situation,now good.
I think you need a partner like me !!!!😅

hahah, thanks for your concern! i was soon good. and could continue my lessons. But yes, one has to pay a lot of attention! where do you surf?

That's great, I used to surf near Cardiff, but because of weather not able to do so, will start it soon

Same guy hit you two times? What an idiot. And yeah, it sucks to faint. Were you not in the water at the moment?

I were in the water, with my head underneath it. i was hit by 2 different boards, it was too crowded and no one was paying attention guess...

so glad you´re okay. Been surfing for a while now and it takes so much strength, mental and physical, keep on paddling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77