HAWAII SNORKELING - Kahaluu Beach Snorkel Guide and Pictures

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20171221_174849.jpg

20171221_154613.jpg

On a two week trip to the Big Island, I spent the first several days testing out the waters for safe, local and the best beaches for snorkeling in Kona.

I found Kahaluu Beach which is not too far from downtown Kona and a well-known beach for snorkeling. Kahaluu has many visitors and you may find many families here since it has fairly calm and shallow waters, perfect for beginner snorkelers and children. There is also a lifeguard on duty.

Many species of fish frequent the bay which is protected by a natural rock wall. Not only will you see fish, but you may even spot eels or turtles. The fish at Kahaluu seem to be very used to humans and you will find them very close to shore without having to go very far.

DSCF0453.JPG
Parrot Fish

You will find a poster, just in front of the lifeguard tower that displays the types of fish that live in the bay and what they are called. I don’t know how many times I have seen a cool fish and wondered what it was, so I found this poster very helpful!

DSCF0382.JPG
Poster with list of fish found in Kahaluu Bay.

The coral is somewhat damaged close to shore due to people standing on the coral and the high number of visitors, but if you swim out to the middle of the bay where it gets a bit deeper, you will find healthier coral and even more fish. Just steer clear of the surfers that surf to the far right of the beach. And please... don't stand on the coral. Let' travel responsibly.

DSCF0484.JPG
Coral at Kahaluu Bay, Big Island of Hawaii

Sea Urchins love to make their homes in between rocks and among the coral. Stay aware and always be careful where you put your hands and feet even on the shoreline. As a rule, people should never stand up on coral because it damages the coral, so you if follow this rule you will most likely steer clear of sea urchins by not putting your hands and feet where they don’t belong.

Turtles are commonly found at Kahaluu. One of the highlights of your trip to Hawaii will most likely be of a turtle gracing you with its presence. They are amazing! Please remember to respect the turtles and do not touch or chase. The best way to see a turtle is to be calm in the water, kick your fins gently, slowly and slightly below the surface so that you do not look like a threat to the turtles, fish or other marine life. If you follow this, a turtle will most likely find you instead of you having to chase or hunt them down. I promise!

DSCF0476.JPG

Visiting Kahaluu Beach - There is a parking lot, showers, bathrooms and even tables at Kahaluu. A food truck that sells hotdogs, cheeseburgers, shaved ice and ice cream is just near the parking lot if you find yourself in need of a snack. The truck also offers lock boxes to store your valuables - the cost is $5.

Snorkel Gear Rental - There is a shop across the street that rents snorkel gear, boogie boards and even offers surfing lessons. I always recommend packing your own snorkel gear on trips because the snorkel gear that you can rent is not always the best and god knows if they have sanitized it properly! I recommend the full face masks like the one below. This is my go-to snorkel gear. You can also read more about them here.

I also recommend sticking around for a sunset. The views are quite amazing. If you are heading for a trip to the Big Island, have a great time!

DSCF0492.JPG

I posted a video showing Kahaluu if you would like to see more. See it here on Dtube

I also make travel posts on my website http://www.littlebirdietravel.com... It is ok to share this on Steemit right? I am new :)

Sort:  

awesome, if you ever post an photos of your beverages be sure to use the hashtag #bevhappyhour so we can find it and resteem/upvote to promote great beverage posts ! All beverages welcomed. Also, you can #reintroduceyurself here and earn some free STEEM https://steemit.com/reintroduceyourself/@beverages/reintroduceyourself-by-beverages-usd20-sbd-giveaway

this may be a silly question, but how do I post pictures in comments? I can only post text on your page :(

I think you got it, just drag and drop the photo in or if you have any hosted photos simply drop in the link just like in an ordinary post :)

thanks for the info.. hmmm let me think if I have any beverage shots... can that include like martinis, pina colladas, etc?

haha thats truly awesome! I proudly accept the badge :)

That's awesome. Hope one day I can travel to Hawaii 🌺

Lets put good vibes out that you will!

Yes lets do 💕Sounds great!!!

beautiful shots, need to get out to hawaii one of these days !

thank you. I hope you do get to visit. For me, it is easier to reach from California but I know for others on other parts of the world it can be a much longer flight and more expensive too.

@a-a-a 👍 😏

great blog, look forward to seeing your posts :)

thanks a lot! I saw your post on the beverage challenge, I will have to check out more of your posts and look forward to learning more about you.

Hi! Welcome on Steemit. That's a nice article, thank you for sharing and keep posting!

thank you for the welcome.... still figuring out the ins and outs of steemit... it will be a journey.

I know, I'm new too on Steemit. I'm here since december 2017! This is not so easy but the best tip I can give to you is to comment and upvote the articles you like. Good luck.

thanks alot

nice photos! looking forward to more posts!!

thank you very much!

Please!!!! Please!!! Somebody... take me there... i wanna see this with my own eyes.. i’ ve never been to Hawai... this is my dream— explore underwater world of this beautiful place.. thank you for this post.

I am so glad you liked the post and that I was able to share a piece of Hawaii with you until you make it there. Where in the world do you live? Hawaii is a very possible dream to make come true and I hope you make it there one day.

I dream of going to Hawaii on my honeymoon. The sea, the sand, the sun and the polite people of Hawaii. Even better than I dreamed. I have one minus to go to the honeymoon. I hope I will complete it soon enough. :-)

Ua Mau ke Ea o ka aina i ka Pono

that's an awesome dream and I would be happy to know you fulfilled it! A honeymoon in Hawaii, that sounds perfect :)

The first comment I wrote was that I had one minus to go to Honeymoon in Hawaii. I am not meeting a girl I will go to on my honeymoon. I hope I can meet the girl in my dreams one day. I do not want to go to Hawai alone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97