Beginner's Guide to Skiing - Day 2 - Take the Lesson

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

I've never been skiing a day in my life, until yesterday. That's what makes this a beginner's guide to skiing. I'm going to start slow and show you the things that long-time skiers forget to tell you. They've become used to it, they don't notice it anymore, or they just don't even think about it.

I'm a beginner.

Here's what you need to know about skiing before you go..

The Significant Other

If you are a first-time skier, it's likely that you have been cajoled into trying skiing by someone important to you. We'll call that person the Significant Other. The S.O. has likely been skiing before and is probably quite advanced, or at least that was the case in my situation, and I heard the same story from many of the newbies I spoke with today. Your S.O. will offer to teach you.

"You don't need to pay for a lesson," they'll say. "I can teach you," they'll say.

Take. The. Lesson.

Seriously. Unless your S.O. also happens to be a trained ski instructor, he or she will forget to tell you many of the basic moves - the moves so basic and vital to skiing that they come as naturally as breathing to the experienced skier. Without these basics, you'll spend your first day as I did - running like a cartoon character up tiny inclines, making no progress, and exhausting yourself only to require a pull or a push to even get up to the lift. You'll fall more than you'll ski, and you'll spend so much energy getting up from a fall that you have nothing left to push off with.

Whew - I'm tired just thinking about it. Give me a minute, I'm going to take a quick break here.

text01.png

Ok, so now that we are well rested, let's get back to that lesson. Every resort is going to be different, but when you go in to rent your gear (more about that in another post) be sure to let them know that you are a beginner and inquire about lessons. Here at Mount Hood Meadows they offer a three day beginner's package. It includes 3 lessons which do not have to be on consecutive days, 3 lift tickets which will only give you access to the beginner slopes, and 3 days of gear rental. Skiing can be quite expensive, but this package came in under $200 USD. Considering that daily gear rental is $55 USD daily without the package, that's a great deal!

text01.png

See that tunnel that kind of looks like a train? That's the first lift you'll want to get on. As you can see, it's not very steep, so for a beginner it is a perfect place to get used to being on skates. Whichever resort you find yourself at, find their version of Mount Hood's Ballroom Carpet. They call it the carpet because it is similar to a magic carpet: inside the tunnel is a conveyor belt which will slowly and easily pull you up to the top of that gentle slope.

Pro Tip: The first time you get on it you WILL lose your balance. You can mitigate that somewhat by bending your knees and leaning forward. It's the same way at the end - bend your knees and lean forward - you'll slide right off.

Another nice aspect of taking a lesson is that you will be surrounded by other people taking lessons. That makes your inevitable clumsiness, crashing, and struggling more of a group effort. You won't be the only one. Instead, as you try to figure out the exact right angle at which to duck-walk up the tiny hill, you'll hear an instructor give advice on how best to break or balance. Everyone is there to help you when you take a lesson. You'll also have immediate feedback as to if you are 'doing it right' which is extremely helpful. Your S.O. may be a drill sergeant, or a cheer leader, but if they aren't a trained ski instructor you'll be missing out on a lot of valuable information.

Pro Tip: To duck-walk, spread your feet out wide like a duck, but keep your knees together so that the inside edge of your ski digs into the snow. This will let you climb little inclines easily - without looking like a cartoon character stuck on ice.

text01.png

By the end of your first lesson (about 2 hours of instruction and practice) you might be ready to tackle the giant slope you see above. Here at Mount Hood they call it Buttercup. Have your S.O. meet you at the bottom of the lift. They'll be pleasantly tired from a day full of careening full speed down the mountain instead of holding your hand as you take baby steps across the snow and will be excited to see you show off your new skills.

Just try not to face plant at the end like I did. Stay tuned for more about the gear, the falls, and the whole body soreness.

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Did you miss Day 1? Find it here: It's Snowy Up There!

Ready for Day 3? Find it here: How Not to Freeze to Death

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Many thanks to @zord189 for his generous delegation
and to the #steemitbloggers for their awesome
community support and great text dividers!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mattifer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dear @mattifer,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hey @mattifer

Great post. It is important to get the message out there from a beginner point of view. It is crucial to remember how you felt when first learning the basics to be able to teach the basics. There is nothing worse than watching someone get annoyed or impatient with a beginner.

One thing that is often underestimated about skiing is that it is physically tough. This also needs to be a consideration when teaching.

Skiing is a wonderful thing though and I hope you have an amazing time. The season in Romania doesn't start until mid December so I'm totally jealous that you are out there! 😁

Have fun.

Gaz

I was fortunate in that my S.O. is incredibly patient. He only got a little annoyed with me for falling down so much. ;-)

While I was taking my first lesson I heard lots of parents getting annoyed with their children. Telling them to go faster or to stop falling or to try harder... I felt kind of bad for those kids. No one tries to fall when they are learning something like that.

Today, I feel like I got run over by a mountain multiple times. I guess I did really. I had some good, epic falls. I even got air on one of them! :-) Yes, it's important to be in good shape physically if you want to not severely injure yourself.

I must admit to finding it more of a challenge coaching/teaching my daughter than teaching most others. It is still no reason to be cross at them for a perceived lack of progress or effort based mistakes.

Somehow, we seem to get our selves put into the mix when teaching those close to us. Having an instructor do it allows for a more objective perspective.

I have never skiing before either! None of my family ever went, so it wasn't something I grew up with. My boyfriend can ski and snowboard (though it's been years since he has gone). I have learned on other things that he is not the best teacher, so I think I would definitely take your advice and have a lesson! Sounds like a blast, though!

Yes, I'm so glad! I was in the exact same position - I didn't grow up skiing, even though I lived in a place where it was possible. I didn't know anyone who skied either.

It really is a lot of fun, and I hope you enjoy your first lesson whenever you take it. :-)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Awesomesauce! Thank you again! I'm digging travelfeed! :-)

I've never been skiing but I would love to go. I hear the nightlife is great too after a cold day skiing.

I've heard that too, but I have yet to see it. I've been so tired each day that I just go back to my condo and recover. :-)

Hello @mattifer, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95