Roasting Marshmallows Over Hot Lava?!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I’d heard the rumors.

And I had even seen the pictures that confirmed the rumors weren't too-good or too dangerous to be true (most of the time).

There’s a place in Guatemala where you can hike to the top of a volcano and watch the lava bubbling up and flowing down the side, like a witch was stirring it’s inner cauldron and accidentally let it spill over and out the top.

Even better, you can ROAST MARSHMALLOWS on the lava!

How can you say no to an experience like that?

You might be thinking it’s dangerous.

Most of the time it’s not (how often do volcanoes actually erupt, anyway?).

So, after 6 years of volcano ‘mallow roasting sitting on my bucket list, just begging to be checked off, I finally put on my hiking sandals and sweatshirt (it gets cold up there) and hiked my butt on up to Volcan Pacaya.

I would have loved to just hike up the volcano on my own, but in this case, it’s not allowed to do without a tour guide…

…so I had to book transportation/tour.

Here’s a little quick info about booking a tour to Volcan Pacaya:

  1. It’s a steep climb. You’ll most likely run out of breath the higher you get as the air thins out. Unless you're some kind of Amazonian beast who works out every day (maybe even then). Despite that, I think it’s doable even for beginner level hikers.

  2. It takes about 4.5-5 hours including transportation, and you HAVE to have a tour guide.

  3. Kids will sell you cheap walking sticks when you arrive at Pacaya, and they will also offer you a horse ride to almost to the top for an extra fee (if you’re not into the whole walking, thing). You can also buy marshmallows here.

It’s great that most of the tours are based out of Antigua.

Antigua was so amazing, that I visited twice before deciding to live there for 4 months.

It’s surrounded by gorgeous volcanos and has a colonial charm that can only be diminished by clumsy attempts to walk on cobblestone streets in heels (worst idea ever).

Just MAKE SURE you get a tour that will for sure let you roast marshmallows. I almost got duped out of that one on my tour.

Anyway, after reaching the Pacaya National Park, I saw the horses and walking sticks and all that jazz.

But I didn’t need a horse.

It’s just an hour and a half hike, right?

And exercise is good.

I started hiking. Not walking. This is legit hiking.

It’s not so bad at first, but you definitely start to feel it soon.
At first it’s not so bad. But, then I start to feel it.

I take a few breaks, but not too long, because I didn’t want to be the weakest link.

Luckily, I was nowhere near the weakest link and didn’t have to regret the no-horse decision even once.

Some people gave up hiking halfway to the top and got a horse at that point.

Smart locals.

They knew that wimpy people were up there, and they were just waiting for them to crack and change their minds.

It does get too steep for the horses to go completely to the top, apparently.

When you get to the top, it’s hot. I mean, you’re basically walking on top of cooled lava, while lava flows all around your feet.

Makes sure your shoes don’t melt (for reals).

Time to take the sweatshirt off, ‘cause it’s gettin’ hot in here.

I had a blast checking this item off of my list. Would you like to go here and do something like this? Have you been before?

Sort:  

I knew it was Guate before resting the whole thing. Why? Because I did the very same thing!

Ahh that's so cool!!! How was your experience?!

Now that is how you live life on the edge. Not only an innovative approach to roasting food but also its like eating food cooked directly by 'mother' Earth :-)

haha I wish I could go back and put a piece of Mene on it lol it wouldn't melt! Except maybe not... I'd probably burn my hands trying to pick it back up lol.

It is a cool way to cook food! Especially because there is VERY little work involved. No lighting up anything or cleanup after haha

Epic comment. I was just thinking about making similar comment lol

Seriously? It is my first time knowing that you can roast marshmallows over the lava. Good job in checking off your list. If me the one hiking, I think I will take multiple breaks just like when we went to Batu Caves. I will ride the horseeeee hehe...

hahaha it's totally okay to take breaks!! We had so much fun at Batu Caves even with breaks! Because breaks are a chance to take steemit pictures! haha

Omg! I thought you're joking! Hahaha
What a cool experience​!

Yeah, you should do it sometime! I think you will get better pictures of it! :)

That is pretty cool.
One of the things I want to do is climb up the Santa Ana Volcano in El Salvador where I just moved one month ago but this one does not have lava coming out like the one in Guatemala.
What a cool experience especially cooking marshmallows on it.
Thanks for sharing.

Wow, you really moved to El Salvador? Why did you move there? You can visit Guatemala then! You're pretty close (even though it would be a LOONNNGGG bus ride).

El Salvador is the only country in Central America I need to check off my list! I met a lady who moved from El Salvador to the US because she said it was too dangerous there... she thought I was crazy when I said I wanted to go!

Thanks for reading :)

That looks like a pretty cool experience. Not sure if hiking in sandals on a hot volcano is a great idea but it sounds like something that I would do so I can't judge. Glad you were actually able to roast the marshmallow and didn't get duped! lol

Lol they were really thick chacos?! Does that make it any better? At least you'd do it too! Running away was worth it haha

I guess that makes it better. i was picturing flip flops haha

Nice post @nomadicsoul ,
This seems like an amazing adventure that you had, I hope that you remembered to brush your teeth after all of those marshmallows :P

I think that I need to add this to my bucket list! :D

You definitely need to add it!! Just don't wear melty shoes lol

It's okay, I have Hobbit like feet! :P

I think my brother did this in Guate. I hope the mallows didn't taste too... volcanic.

New: volcanic flavored marshmallows, limited edition!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

I've been up Acatenango but not Pacaya. If i've know you could roast up there, I might have done both of them ;D

You have to go back then!

I would love that. Guatemala is amazing!

same! I want to go back, which is ridiculous because I've already gone 3 times lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65