Pendennis Castle, Cornwall England

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My main motivation for traveling all the way to Cornwall from East Anglia was that I wanted to try an authentic Cornish pasty. I guess there was enough time to do other stuff as well!

We ended up staying at a damp cabin at a campground called John Fowler's Holiday, which I can't really recommend. That is, unless you are on a serious budget. I will say that the clubhouse was a lot of fun. They employ a group of kids called the Stripeys who do their best to keep you entertained with singing and dancing, as well as some comedy. It all feels a bit cringe worthy, but after a few beers it starts to become a lot of fun.

I really shouldn't be too critical as it is geared more toward the kids; and to be fair, they are having a blast.

We went to several different locations while there, but I will focus on the Pendennis Castle grounds for this post. The castle was initially used as an artillery fort designed to defend against a French invasion as well as the Holy Roman Empire. Now it's a place for people like me to visit and take pictures like the following.

IMG_6254-PANO.jpg

IMG_6208.jpg

It was originally constructed in the early 1540s, but was subsequently upgraded in the 1700s during the Napoleonic wars. It really puts it into perspective how much weapons have advanced in the past century when you look at what was previously used to defend the coast. I suppose to be fair, those cannons could still kick my ass quite swiftly!

IMG_6211.jpg
Map of castle grounds

IMG_6221.jpg

IMG_6222.jpg

IMG_6232.jpg
Wherever you go in this place there is a cannon nearby

IMG_6234.jpg

IMG_6235.jpg

IMG_6238.jpg
Amanda navigating the narrow spiral staircase

IMG_6239.jpg
Gorgeous view of sailboats in the river

IMG_6241.jpg

IMG_6244.jpg

IMG_6250.jpg
I love these old studded doors!

IMG_6251.jpg
Amanda with her parents enjoying the views

One of the things that I enjoy most about visiting Europe is all of the old stone structures. People who live in the UK do enjoy exploring these types of places as well, but it is not really anything new to them. As an American, it feels like walking directly into the world of our ancestors.

Honestly, if I could afford it, I would buy one of the many castles that are for sale in England and fix up the inside with invisible technology. Make it cozy with all of the modern conveniences without affecting the old world aesthetic. It's just a fantasy, but hey, who knows. Maybe if Crypto ever has a massive bull run and I become an instant billionaire. It could happen!

IMG_6253.jpg

IMG_6261.jpg
It's a good thing these things don't work

IMG_6263.jpg

IMG_6268.jpg

Above you can see me pretending to have a good time. Just kidding! I was enjoying myself, but I remember that at this point I was a bit exhausted from all the walking around in flip-flops. I never seem to learn that when I'm going to be doing a lot of walking around that I should probably put some shoes on!

IMG_6270.jpg
Amanda striking an awkward pose

IMG_6282.jpg
Me striking an even more awkward pose

Cornwall, at the southernmost tip of England is a really interesting place to visit when traveling around the UK. It has a unique landscape and coastline compared to the more northern parts of the country.

Oh, and definitely try the Pasties. They are delicious!

Sort:  

I LOVE cornwall and I ADORE pasties. What's interesting is my Michigan relatives also have the tradition of the cornish pasty, as the area of the upper peninsula in Michigan in the US was settled by Cornish. So, whenever I am home there I get a pasty and the same for when I am lucky enough to be in Cornwall. They really are strikingly similar though the American version is a bit more bready I find.

It looks a grand day out!

Cool! My family are originally from Dayton Ohio, but no Pasties there that I know of haha. I wonder if there was mining in Michigan? A lot of Cornish people started to migrate around the world when the mines started to go dry in Cornwall. I was reading yesterday that there are these little pockets all over the world where Pasties are a traditional food now because of these migrations. The most interesting one to me was Hidalgo Mexico, where they call their pasties, 'Pastes'

Yeah, I get the bready part. Unfortunately, it seems that very often in America we are not so good at making good pastry. Which is sad because it is not so hard with a bit of practice.

I have never been in a castle but I hope to someday. i have read and seen so much of it on television.

I love the fact that you guys are travelling and exploring, that's the beauty of life--going new places, exploring other people's culture. well i hope someday I am able to share my awkward pose with you guys

Hehe. All of my poses are awkward! I have been lucky since Amanda and I got together because I am from America and she is from England. We live in the US but visit her family over there as much as possible.

It opened a new world for me. There are so many places that I would still like to see, like India, Africa and east Asia.

that's nice. I also hope to visit certain places. at the top of my list would be Paris, Italy and Egypt. These places have a lot of history and I would love to have a feel of it.

LOL I do the exact same mistake, ending up walking in flipflops all day long killing my feet and legs completetly. The irony is I actually have some super good shoes to walk in.

The castle looks great man, I expect there must be tons of castles in the UK from the old times ? We have one really cool one in Denmark on our island bornholm called "hammershus" (no, it is not related to my name). "

Castles will always be impressive, despite wearing flipflops.

Yeah, haha. I love wearing them because they are easy to get off and on, plus I get really hot wearing shoes all day.

There are so many castles in England! Cool, you are from Denmark. That is another place I want to visit. I wish I could afford to just travel all the time!

I don't know where I have the money to travel this much honestly, they seem just to pop up out of thin air.
Only been to England once and that was London, but I were in Scotland for hiking 8 days and that was SUPER cool. I think England deserves more of my attention.

Hiking around Scotland sounds pretty fun. I've only been to Edinburgh, which really just feels like an English tourist attraction to me.

They do have a lot of cannons there I must say @nuthman but I would also like to explore such castles. They have stood the test of time and now serving and teaching people how it is like in the old world even to just experiencing to see that Castle. from inside and out.

Yes, it is amazing that the old building remain standing, while buildings crumble after just a few short years.

Grandiosas fotos de un gran lugar que hermoso se ve todo ;)

Gracias, @capui, si tienes chance deber ir a Europa. Hay lugares asi en todos lados alla.

I love these pictures. There are so much green surrounding the castle. All the green and the clear sky makes the picture so perfect.

Beautiful photographs friend...
Amazing place to visit.. Awesome article...

Thanks, man!

You are welcome friend..
Please support me for win this contest..
your vote will help me to win this contest...
if you like this photograph then please vote me...
Thank you.
https://steemit.com/qurator/@tussar11/re-qurator-qurator-s-photo-friday-photography-competition-42-20180915t083640306z

Wow beautiful post sir nice all pictures

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful castle! I learned a lot of interesting information!

Congratulations @nuthman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99